2015: A Hobby Year in Review

Last year, I didn’t get around to posting my year in review until June, so I’m way ahead of the game at this point (insanely so, if you consider that it took me 18 months to post my 2013 frugal gaming year in review).  I’m trying to stay a little more on top of things though, so here’s to turning over a new leaf.  Like last year, I’m going to break this into several sections: Frugal Gaming (which will most likely be it’s own post), Games Played, & Hobby Progress.  So let’s get to the good stuff:

Frugal Gaming:

Wh39kDerkCrap (9)Taking a page from last year, I’m going to save this information for another post (it’s bound to be too much information to put here and I haven’t completed my analysis yet).  Stay tuned for this info, or check out my Frugal Gaming page for the year and make your own conclusions.

Hint: I spent far too much on Magic: the Gathering.

Games Played:

Wh39kUltraSala1800 (13)My goal has settled into playing 12 games per year or an average of one per month.  It’s sad to think of how much money I have tied up into this hobby and I only manage to play a single game of it per month–and I really have to work in order to accomplish even that much.  I guess them’s the breaks though.

The good news is that I did manage to complete my goal (only barely, finishing up the last game with just a couple of weeks to spare–given a dry spell of no games in either October or November).  If you’re interested in the actual games/battle reports, you can find them at the links below:

  1. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/batrep-hive-fleet-proteus-vs-space-wolves-1750-pts
  2. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/12/23/batrep-black-friday-massacre-1127-points
  3. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/batrep-ultramarines-vs-black-legion-1850pts/
  4. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/09/21/batrep-ultramarines-vs-salamanders-1800pts/
  5. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/09/16/batrep-salamanders-vs-hive-fleet-proteus-1357pts/
  6. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/08/10/batrep-hive-fleet-proteus-vs-chaos-space-marines-1850pts/
  7. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/06/10/batrep-salamanders-vs-ultramarines-1350pts/
  8. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/06/08/batrep-hive-fleet-proteus-vs-imperial-fists-1850pts/
  9. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/05/20/batrep-iron-warriors-vs-ultramarines-1850-pts/
  10. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/04/22/batrep-khorne-decurion-detachment-vs-hive-fleet-proteus-1543-pts/
  11. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/03/30/batrep-orks-vs-ultramarines-1314-pts/
  12. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/batrep-hive-fleet-proteus-vs-chaos-space-marines-1850-pts/

Unlike last year, I did get to play my marines a bit more (Exactly 50% of my games), so that’s an improvement.  Like last year though, I’m not going to do a huge amount of analysis on my annual games–instead I’ll choose to do a larger wrap-up when 8th edition rears it’s head.

Apoc didn’t make any appearances in my gaming plans this past year, but I did manage to finally play with a super-heavy in a “Friendly” game (sorry Sam).  Again, we’re hoping to change the Apoc thing, and we’ve already got a plan to change that in January, so wish me luck on that front.

Hobby Progress:

I’ll admit that things on the hobby front were quite slow.

Painting:

Really that’s not all that much less than I did last year, but the fact that I did all of my buildings last year makes this really pale in comparison.

Modelling:

As light as my painting results were for the year, my modelling results were far less productive:

This isn’t entirely indicative of my modelling progress for the year, as I did assemble quite a few Tyranids that I wound up painting above (in fact, most all of them were assembled this year).  Still, that’s not a very vast selection of modelling progress.

Blog Progress:

I don’t think I’ve been doing a great job of tracking my blog progress in these annual updates, but I figured why not?  It’s hobby related, right?

In total, I’ve done 81 blog posts this year (including this one), so that comes out to 1.5 per week, which is a little less than my goal of posting once every Monday and Wednesday.  Still, as this is my sixth year blogging, so I’m proud that I’ve managed to keep it up this long (for those keeping track, it appears this is my 595th blog post according to my records).

I also managed to a little website adminstration after laying dormant for a few years.  This summer I updated the DNS for the site, changed the background (which I’m still not thrilled with), and even did a little reminiscing about traffic.  If you wanted to read more about any of that, you can do so here.

Otherwise, WordPress does provide some stat reporting that people may find interesting.  You can find that information about 2015 here.  Some high level facts:

  1. According to them I had 53,000 page views
  2. My most popular post was the one on stained glass
  3. Most people find me from natfka.BlogSpot.com
  4. Of my top ten commenters, Thor lead the pack, but Greggles actually tied him when you consider that he was both #2 and #4, so thanks to both of them.  And while you’re thinking of it, go check out there blogs:
    1. http://creativetwilight.com/
    2. http://www.feedyournerd.com/greggles-tabletop/

Thanks to everyone who stopped by, posted a comment, or gave me a $500 tip this year (for the record, the last group is still holding strong at 0 members, in case anyone was dying to be the first….)

Summary:

It was a fairly light year as far as the hobby progress goes, but at least there was progress.  If I didn’t have a blog, I’m certain that this would’ve been one of those years where I did nothing.  40k has been very cyclical over my lifetime though: interest in it ebbs and flows, so with any luck I’ll regain interest and make some more progress next year…

 

4 comments on “2015: A Hobby Year in Review

  1. It’ll be no comfort to learn that my hobby accomplishments this year are even (much) worse than yours. I did go to a tournament though, which meant I got to try out Dropzone Commander, which was good.

    Given my drop off in both reading and posting on your blog – something I’ll try to improve next year – I thought I ought to drop by this time and say hello.

    And of course, Happy New Year!

    • It’s so funny how full our days become with things. I appreciate the years of support you’ve provide, but recognize that we all have other things to fill our time. Thanks for all the contributions you’ve given to date, and here’s to wishing you and yours a safe and wonderful new year.

      On Thu, Dec 31, 2015 at 8:40 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. Congrats on all the things you accomplished this year including getting in those 12 games, it’s does seem odd that it gets harder over the years to actually play with our armies. Looking forward to your 2016 projects.

    • Thanks Joe. You were far more prolific than me, but I’ll get around to painting some more: slow and steady. I might even do up my Knight Titan this year–though I doubt I’ll be able to get it half as clean as yours.

Have something to add?

