Batrep: Khorne Deamonkin vs. Hive Fleet Proteus (1543 pts)

My regular game group is always looking for fresh faces, so when Sam asked if he could bring some new folks, I happily accepted (the goal, however, is not to just have a lot of bodies, but have like-minded gamers present).  Anywho, Sam vouched for some guys, and brought them over.  One of them, is a teenager named Mitch, who is the most polite and well-adjusted kid I’ve met of his age (except for maybe Jeff, but that dude grew up to be Justin Bieber).  Anywho, he’s been to game night a few times, but we’ve been spending most of those playing board games, so when we finally got around to playing 40k, we squared up against each other…

Mitch’s Khorne Daemonkin (Decurion Detachment)

  • Slaughtercult
    • Wh39kvMitch (2)Bezerkers [9x Equip CCW’s, Icon of Wrath]
      Bezerker Champion [Bolt Pistol, Boltgun, Power Armour] Power Weapon [Power Axe]
      9x Bezerkers in Unit [9x Bolt Pistol, 9x Frag Grenades, 9x Krak Grenades, 9x Power Armour]
    • Chaos Cultists [14x Equip Autoguns]
      Cultist Champion [Autogun, Close Combat Weapon, Improvised Armour]
      14x Cultists in Unit [14x Close Combat Weapon, 14x Improvised Armour]
      Equip Heavy Weapon [Flamer]
    • Chaos Cultists [14x Equip Autoguns]
      Cultist Champion [Autogun, Close Combat Weapon, Improvised Armour]
      14x Cultists in Unit [14x Close Combat Weapon, 14x Improvised Armour]
      Equip Heavy Weapon [Flamer]
    • Chaos Space Marines [9x Equip Boltguns]
      Aspiring Champion [Bolt Pistol, Boltgun, Close Combat Weapon, Power Armour]
      9x Chaos Marines in unit [9x Bolt Pistol, 9x Frag Grenades, 9x Krak Grenades, 9x Power Armour]
      Chaos Rhino [Combi-bolter, Searchlight, Smoke Launchers]
    • Herald [Exalted Locus of Wrath, Goredrinker]
      Possessed [Icon of Wrath]
      Possessed Champion [Close Combat Weapon, Power Armour]
      4x Unit size [4x Close Combat Weapon, 4x Power Armour]
  • Gorepack
    • Chaos Bikers [2x Flamer]
      Biker Champion [Chaos Bike, Close Combat Weapon, Power Armour]
      Combi-Weapon [Combi- Flamer]
      2x Bikers [2x Chaos Bike, 2x Frag Grenades, 2x Krak Grenades, 2x Power Armour]
    • Chaos Bikers [2x Flamer]
      Biker Champion [Bolt Pistol, Chaos Bike, Close Combat Weapon, Power Armour]
      2x Bikers [2x Chaos Bike, 2x Frag Grenades, 2x Krak Grenades, 2x Power Armour]
    • Flesh Hounds
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
      Flesh Hounds [Collar of Khorne]
  • War Engine
    • Soul Grinder [Harvester Cannon, Iron Claw]
  • War Engine
    • Maulerfiend [Daemonic Possession, 2x Magma Cutters, 2x Powerfists]

Normally, I’d wind up reformatting the list of my opponent to fit in my sort of general style, but when Mitch sent me his list, I found myself beyond confused.  Apparently the new Daemonkin book doesn’t have anything resembling a normal Force Organization chart, and instead has a myriad of unit groups that can be bolted on to a massive structure.  From an outsider’s perspective, it’s completely new and cool and amazingly confusing.  Because of that, I just pasted the list he emailed me and broke it out into sub-components to the best of my ability.

His list was definitely Khorne themed and was clearly intended to run across the board and smash face.   I wasn’t too afraid of the list as a whole because it didn’t have much in the way of guns and, as a bug army, I tend to want to be in assault…

Hive Fleet Proteus:

  • Wh39kvMitch (1)HQ:
    • Flyrant w/ Twin-linked Devourers (Catalyst, Warp Blast)
    • Tervigon w/ Cluster Spines & Crushing Claws (Warp Blast)
  • Elites:
    • 2x Hive Guard
    • 2x Hive Guard
    • 1x Malanthrope
  • Troops:
    • 15x Hormagaunts
    • 1x Mucolid Spore
    • 1x Mucolid Spore
    • 1x Mucolid Spore
  • Fast Attack:
    • 20x Gargoyles
    • 3x Shrikes w/ Rending Claws
  • Heavy Support
    • 1x Carnifex w/ Twin-linked Devourers
    • 1x Carnifex w/ Twin-linked Devourers
  • Fortifications:
    • 1x Vengeance Weapon Battery w/ Battle Cannon & 3x Barricades

This list is likely too hardcore for me.  I really don’t play the game enough, so making an army list takes me several days for some reason.  Now I put together a theme for a list, and then added half the units, decided that it wouldn’t work, and then proceeded to break down and recreate the list five or six times.  None of them were from scratch, but I’d have Mawlocs and Lictors, and then decided that I needed some ranged weapons, then add Hive Guard, and realize I didn’t have synapse, so I’d take out units to make that happen, only to find I was lacking in another area.

I’m becoming indecisive in my old age.  What I finally wound up trying was to see if I could make a shooty bug list work–which when you look at the list, seems to be about what I accomplished.   Granted, there’s not much in the way of long-range shooting, but there’s some good punch at 18-24″ (which is about all the bugs can muster), plus some counter-assault/screening units as well.

Mission & Deployment:

Wh39kvMitch (3)We opted to play an Eternal War mission (read: 5th edition style) because Mitch didn’t bring his objective cards.  I complained about it because I really prefer the variety of the newer style missions, but it was kind of fun to go back and play the game in a more classic style–not that I’d want to do it every time though.

I never know the names of the missions, but we wound up getting the one where you deploy the objectives face down and at the start of the game determine which ones are worth extra points–maybe that’s the Emperor’s Will?   We played using the board corners for deployment (Vanguard) and I won the right to deploy and take the first turn.  I wanted that first turn so that I could pepper him with damage before he got to my lines, but he wound up seizing the initiative and rolling out for the first turn.

Turn 1: Khornate Followers

Wh39kvMitch (5)Being an army with no psychics and very little shooting, Mitch’s first turn wasn’t very eventful.  He wound up moving units forward, running where possible, and firing of the couple of long range guns that he did have (including his Soul Grinder, and maybe a cultist or two).  He also ran units out to either flank of mine–I’m not really sure what the strategy there was, as neither was a very tough unit, so maybe it was to sit there and capture the objective?  But since we weren’t playing with the strategy cards, all he really managed to do was to alert the bugs to his presence and close the gap a bit…

Turn 1: Hive Fleet Proteus

I found myself in an unfamiliar circumstance: running a bug army but not wanting to really close the gap between me and my opponent.  So, on one flank, my Carnifii advanced behind a screen of gargoyles (though slowly, so as to allow them to shoot at nearby targets–though in hindsight, maybe they should’ve run instead), and on my other, I found myself actually retreating from his warlord (Some daemon on a jugger-bike, surrounded by khorne-dogs).  Wh39kvMitch (8)The only other unit that actually advanced, was my Flyrant who took to the skies and wound up unloading into the Maulerfield (figuring it might pose a threat in later assault phases, and I had no real option to hurt the soul-grinder from her current position.

I also managed to kill a couple of bikers, and put a few wounds here and there on other units.  Part of this was due to my inability to simply roll enough wounds, but it also had to do with me being afraid of giving him too many “blood points,” or whatever you call them.  You see, his army is built upon the idea that any unit that dies (Friend or foe) gives him more points that he can spend over the following turns to grant him abilities like furious charge and feel no pain (my personal favorite) or to summon basically any sort of demon he wants.  And, I’d be damned if I wanted him to have feel no pain next turn…

Turn 2: Khornate Followers

Wh39kvMitch (11)Chaos’ second turn was, in many ways, a continuation of the first turn.  He moved forward with most of his units, running where possible, and then tried to make a fair number of charges.  To his chagrin, the only charge he was able to make was the lone biker made it into assault with fifteen termagants, who proved to be more than a match for him, then consolidated out of their cover, hoping to get a piece of Khorne dogs on their turn.

Otherwise, he made a total of zero charges (including a rather sad roll by the Maulerfiend, who wound up stranded in the open in the middle of the board), but did manage to bolter down a few gargoyles and, perhaps most importantly, managed to set himself up for a few charges next turn.

Turn 2: Hive Fleet Proteus

Wh39kvMitch (15)The thing is, I didn’t really want to be charged.  Apparently he didn’t get the memo that I’d constructed a shooty army, and didn’t care to be in assault for the game.  So, I wound up trying to play as a highly mobile Eldar force, backing away and peppering things with living ammunition until they were soft enough to charge.

In that regard, my Flyrant hopped over and shot up his warlord and dogs (I was actually figuring I’d get slay the warlord, but forgot about his 2+ “look out sir!” rolls), and did a reasonable amount of damage.  Not so much though that I thought my ‘gaunts would have any chance of surviving, so I held them back for a turn.

The Maulerfield wound up dying at the hands of my… well, I think it was the Hive Guard, but it might’ve ultimately been my Vengeance Weapon Battery.  Whatever killed it, did a great job, but I think it wound up taking most of my shooting to do so.  By the end of the second turn, we’d had first blood, earned from the only model brave (or foolish) enough to assault something (the biker from his turn).

Turn 3: Khornate Followers

Wh39kvMitch (16)Though I was able to kill off many of the dogs, I just wasn’t able to keep out of charge range of his Warlord and dogs, and they wound up putting the smack down on my Hive guard–but not before I was able to get off two lucky snapshots, killing two dogs dead on the charge.  Still, even at toughness 6, they couldn’t hold up to the warlord and is sword of increasing nuttiness.

The good news is that he was down to just one wound left and a paper-thin armor save, but I didn’t have all that much shooting in line of sight of him.

 

 

Turn 3: Hive Fleet Proteus

Luckily, line of sight isn’t something that the Hive Guard need, and I was able to punk him without fretting–but not before my Vengeance battery went horribly awry.  Wh39kvMitch (22)I was trying to save the hive guard so I could shoot at something else (champions, I guess?) and got a little too greedy, which caused my battle cannon to deviate onto a nearby group of hormagaunts, killing them almost to a man, and clipping the battery itself (though it was unharmed).  Maybe I should’ve just used the hive guard to begin with?  Or maybe I did–and used this as a last resort?

The latter doesn’t seem likely, seeing as he died that turn, and nothing else really had line of sight.  Whatever the case, good things happened (he died) and bad things happened as well (almost all of my gaunts died).

With most of his assault related threats down, I also landed my Flyrant and hopped her behind the Soul Grinder, promptly exploding him in the process (does he really have a 10 rear armor?)

Turn 4: Khornate Followers

Wh39kvMitch (25)He wound up advancing and killing off most (if not all) of my gargoyles, leaving with me with basically no chaff left on the board (though I did have a Tervigon who had not yet spawned anything), but he had summoned some dogs and still had a fair number of his troops–which he pressed into combat situations.  I was honestly avoiding entering combat with my Carnifexen against his marines based upon some previous experiences with Brandon, so luckily he wasn’t into charging me either.

 

Turn 4: Hive Fleet Proteus

Wh39kvMitch (26)It’s honestly been a couple of weeks since this battle, so I don’t rightfully recall the order of events.  Either in this turn, or that previous, I wound up targeting all of his characters for fear that he’d have enough points to summon a “free” bloodthirster.  I didn’t have ways to snipe them out of units, but the way they were positioned allowed me to sneak in some shots from various units that singled them out for the most part.

He also wound up summoning a squad of bloodletters, but they misshaped and I put them at the far end of the table.  All in all, this wound up being the eventual end of the game.  By this point, he was still technically tied as far as holding objectives, but I would have another turn to shoot him off his and snag the high point objectives which were by all of my monstrous creatures.  We could’ve continued, but I offered to call the game there if he’d like.  He started to suggest that it’d be a tie, but we both knew better.

What I Learned:

Wh39kvMitch (28)Every battle report includes a “What I Learned” section and they often seem to include something along the lines of: “I should play more games,” or “I should read the rules,” and this is no exception:

  • Lists with little to no shooting aren’t terribly effective.  This isn’t surprising given that 7th is mostly about shooting…
  • I’m not afraid of soul grinders.  That’s a blatant lie–but those that don’t have large blasts are an annoyance.  It wasn’t anything to be afraid of without that big gun.
  • Dakkafexes are good.  I thought they’d be kind of ‘meh,’ but they really turned out to be quite good.  Despite their bad ballistic skill, re-rolling misses made them almost as accurate as my Flyrant, and those guns are pretty deadly.
  • Mitch has potential.  He’s still relatively new to the game, and to hear Sean talk, he’s not very successful.  I’m pretty convinced that if I got to play with him on a regular basis, I could mold him into a pretty solid strategist.

 

5 comments on “Batrep: Khorne Deamonkin vs. Hive Fleet Proteus (1543 pts)

  1. The Blood Host Detachment for Khorne is a composition of formations. So, it’s not a force org structure but has some requirements on formations taken. It’s the same way they did Necrons, if you’re familiar with that.

    I’ve been running Khorne and having really good luck with them. It takes some practice but once you, or he, gets the hang of it then you’d be surprised what you can manage with virtually no shooting. Between fast moving units and deep strike you can be where you want to on turn #2. He’ll figure it out. I faced Bugs the other week, similar list to yours, and Khorne feasted on Tyranids that day.

    Soulgrinders are AV11 on the backside.

    Anyway, sounded like a fun game!

    • As a bug player, I generally don’t have all that much shooting so I know that assault based lists can work–especially if you have mobility. It does feel like you really need to have at least a little though–at least that’s my experience. I’ve found myself far too many times chasing around things like Falcons and being completely victimized by them because I couldn’t even stop them for a turn.

      I didn’t know the new Necron codex had that same formation structure mentality. I groked the idea of it, but I haven’t taken long enough to go through and figure out how it all pieces together. At first glance, it is vastly different than the normal FOC, but I’m guessing I could figure it out if given a few years to study it…

      On Wed, Apr 22, 2015 at 8:30 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • You definitely need some shooting, agreed.

        The new style of detachment has become the norm in 7th. I think it’s great. The setups are fluffy and flavorful and simply allow you to play your army in a manner you couldn’t otherwise without going Unbound. As cool as the new style is, it’s also not mandatory and you aren’t losing out by not using them. You get bonuses for sure but it can come at the cost of taking units you may not otherwise take, a tax. All list methods have their merits.

      • I’m sure you’re right in this is the new standard for FoC, and really it’s a good thing. It’s just the evolution of “using a bike captain allows you to use bikes as troops,” and makes for great variety, and allows people to field the units they want. Although, you can always just go unbound and do whatever you feel like.

        Speaking of which–have you (or anyone you game with) ever used that option? I’ve never seen anyone play an unbound list.

        On Thu, Apr 23, 2015 at 5:38 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  2. Shawn and I played Mitch (and his team-mate Mitch) at the Team Tournament – and I came to exactly the same conclusion that you did. That kid, with some practice, is going to be a very solid player.

    These new “Decurion” formations (name based on the first one, from the Necron Book) are awesome. Instead of giving people the stick for giving trying to theme their army list, it’s all carrot; take these formations of relatively fluffy units, and you get some nice benefits. They’re almost never optimal choices, and give you some benefits for giving some theme to your army. I’m a huge fan (as you can tell), as it makes these themed lists more fun to take, as you don’t feel like you’re at such a disadvantage.

Have something to add?

