Completed Ultramarines Centurions

wh39kCents (3) (Medium)Last week, I posted a sham piece on my “WIP” Centurions.  It was a sham because I had taken some work in progress shots, but the models had been painted before I wrote that blog post (in fact, they were finished painting–but not basing–in time to play a game in the middle of last month).

This post picks up where that one left off.

wh39kCents (4) (Medium)Now that I think about it, these guys aren’t truly finished.  It seems that the sergeants of Centurion squads are automatically upgraded to be veterans, so I do need to go back and paint a white stripe on their heads.  Drat…  I’m sure that will happen eventually, but certainly not by the time I finish this post.  I also tend to paint every weapon arm imaginable for a model before I consider it truly finished and, for some reason, I never bothered to paint the close combat arms for these guys (I’m guessing because it just seems so impractical as an option, and there are so many fiddly bits?).

wh39kCents (5) (Medium)So, for a couple of reasons they’re not truly finished, but I’m going to call them done, just the same.

Since the last post, they got a bunch of extra detail work, and shoulderpads–oh, and weapons.  Speaking of which, I’ve somehow managed to lose a weapon army already.  Don’t ask me how, but one of the lascannons has since gone missing.  I’d had them painted up for a week or so and played a single game with them, and boom, one lascannon down.  The good news is that, even at that rate of loss, I’d probably be able to field them for quite a long time.  Seeing as I don’t play with the same units every game, and I don’t even seem to play a game per month anymore, I could probably stand to lose a gun per game I played with them and stretch it out to nearly 10 years before I’d lost them all…

wh39kCents (1) (Medium)I looked everywhere around where I took the pictures, and where I painted them, but they never turned up.  My hope is that I somehow lumped those guns into the storage box where I put away the rest of my army after that game.  The good news is that I don’t think I’d practically want to play with six lascannon armed centurions in a single game, so it wouldn’t be a huge loss if it never turned up, but I hate to lose models regardless of how much I expect to play with them.

wh39kCents (2) (Medium)Anywho, I’m not sure I have all that much else to say about these guys.  You’ll note that they’re lacking in giant omega (Ultramarine) symbols on their shoulders.  This is because I wasn’t exactly happy with how the ones came out on their butt-flaps, and I was really pushing to get these done quickly, so I figured it was better to wait on these until I was prepared to take a little extra time to make them clean.

So that’s my centurions for you.  Just a bunch of blue guys covered in yellow markings with red weapons.  By and large, they look about like the rest of the army, except they’re slightly bigger and have more magnets per capita than your average tactical squad.  Next up?  I don’t know… maybe more fortifications!

12 comments on “Completed Ultramarines Centurions

  1. That’s a nice clean look. I’m pretty sure I would lose half of the weapons each game! (Why mine are all glued) Gives some great flexibility in the mean time.

  2. ‘Sham’ piece, sounds like pretty much most of my own blog content. I’m always posting up WiP shots when the model is done, varnished and already gathering dust! 😉

    • But your blog has a different focus than mine. My stated goal is to keep track of my own progress, not to produce content.

      In other news, have you seen the deathleaper conversion over at the Vanus temple? He used the new broodlord as a base and it looks amazing!

      On Tue, Jan 13, 2015 at 3:25 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  3. Looking great! These are really great for the tabletop. You’ve got bright contrasting colors, with vibrant highlights, and a base that makes the models pop. You couldn’t ask for a better setup!

    And it’s not cheating to post WIP when you already finished them. How do you think bloggers keep up with blogging? 🙂

  4. Agreed about the WIP stuff. Content is content and those of us in the real world have no idea that the model is done if you don’t tell us. So, it isn’t cheating. It’s giving yourself more to post and being this is a blog, that’s rather the point 😉

    Anyway, nice job. I’m impressed you painted all the weapon options. I magnetize too but I paint the weapons as I need them since there’s some options I just never use.

    • Well, almost all of the weapon options. I still couldn’t bring myself to paint the close combat arms.

      I also paint them all up front because the arms really don’t take all that long, and if I don’t do them now, I’ll wind up losing them (or just never painting them). Since I have that rule that I only play with painted models, it also gives me a little extra variety in my lists.

      On Tue, Jan 13, 2015 at 4:10 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • Really? That’s pretty harsh. I definitely agree that I didn’t care for this look to begin with, but it has grown on me. I don’t think I ever put it in the “least favorite” category, as GW has released some real doozies in the past. The old Nagash, DE Warp Beasts, any of Mike McVey’s earlier sculpts (as much as it pains me to use his name in vain), and any of the old slaan. If you’re trying to keep it current, the minotaurs from WHFB are rough, as is the greater demon of Nurgle (the other greaters are showing their age, but I never liked this version of Nurgle–even when it was first released).

      I’d say all of those models are worse looking than Centurions. Granted, the “Armor in armor” concept doesn’t help the cents, but aesthetically, I’d say they’re not the bottom of the barrel.

      On Wed, Jan 14, 2015 at 1:48 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  5. You have done a great job in painting them and your blog is always excellent. They are a let down for GW because they have far too many trinkets on them and lack in movement. So they are not my cup of tea, but not everybody drinks tea.

    • Yeah, they are rather static.

      Don’t worry about complimenting me (though I do appreciate it). I wasn’t at all offended. After all, I found myself mocking them when they first came out as well (all of the way up until I’d seen them in person). Thanks for clarifying. I think I’m ok with the static poses because I played forever long ago when dynamic wasn’t a thing (I think the first truly 3-D dynamic models I remember were Mike McVey’s death company models and they looked absurd to me (we referred to them as “prancing marines.”)

      On Wed, Jan 14, 2015 at 8:14 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

