Batrep: Hive Fleet Proteus vs. Chaos Space Marines (1850pts)

In the past, I’ve created some battle reports days after playing the actual game, and the report suffers from holes in my memory.  You’d think that this would help me to write them faster after the battle happened, right?  Well, not in this case.  This particular battle happened almost a month ago, and I frankly don’t remember all that much of it, but at least I have pictures to go on, so there’s that…

Anywho, Mitch showed up again and we opted to play what I think was an 1850pt game.  I’ve played him twice before and won both times, plus he has a history of losing, so I decided to play a slightly more fun list.  I didn’t want to just throw the game completely, so I took a couple of old standbuys, but felt it was a good opportunity to try out some “new” units as well:

Hive Fleet Proteus:

  • HQ:
    • wh39kvMitch2 (2)Flyrant w/ Devourers (Catalyst, ???, & Dominion)
    • Deathleaper
  • Elites:
    • 1x Zoanthrope (Warp Blast, Catalyst, & Dominion)
    • 1x Zoanthrope (Warp Blast, ???, & Dominion)
    • 1x Pyrovore
    • 1x Pyrovore
  • Troops:
    • 5x Genestealers inc. Broodlord w/ Scything Talons
    • 5x Genestealers inc. Broodlord w/ Scything Talons
    • 20x Hormagaunts
    • 20x Hormagaunts
  • Fast Attack:
    • Dimachaeron
  • Heavy Support:
    • Trygon Prime
    • Trygon Prime
    • Trygon Prime

So, the plan was to test out the Trygon tunnels I’d created last year.  They haven’t seen the table because, it’s frankly an “unofficial terrain piece for a horrible rule that applies to a bad unit.”  That’s so sad because Trygons used to be pretty fantastic (not overpowered, mind you, as they generally died the turn they popped out of the ground, but when they hit combat, they did a pretty good job of destroying a 10-man space marine squad).  Anywho, after starting with them, I threw in a couple of Pyrovores (another unit that gets almost no table-time), and then fleshed things out a bit from there.  The Dimachaeron had been recently painted, so I included him, and then decided I didnt’ have enough synapse, so I opted to include some Zoanthropes, which forced me to pick up another CAD (and another HQ, which wound up being Deathleaper because he was freshly painted as well).

Mitch’s Chaos Space Marines:

He didn’t leave a list behind for me to do the write-up with, so between that and my complete ignorance of the codex in general, I’m going to do a completely horrible job at guessing what it was that he had:

  • HQ:
    • wh39kvMitch2 (1)Typhus
    • Great Unclean One (represented with the glottkin)
  • Elites:
    • 10x Noise Marines with big dakka guns
    • 7x Plague Marines w/ 2x Plasma in Rhino
  • Troops:
    • 3x Nurglings
    • 20ish Plague Zombies
  • Fast Attack:
    • 8x Chaos Hounds
    • 3x Bikes w/ 2x Flamers & Combi-flamer
  • Heavy Support:
    • 1x Obliterator
    • 1x Obliterator
    • 5x Havocs w/ 4x Missile Launchers (with Flakk Missiles)

Again, I don’t know what the psychic powers he had were, and I could be off on where some of the units go compositionally, but that’s the general gidst of the army.    I guess there’s not all that much to say.  I do know that he included the flakk missiles so that his list would have some level of anti-air in it, but I didn’t realize that flakk was only S7 AP4–hardly as great as a normal missile.

Mission & Deployment:

Deployment was long table edges, and the mission was the one where we earned objective cards each turn for the number of of objectives we controlled at the beginning of each turn.  I wound up deploying/going first, opting to keep both pyrovores and a squad of genestealers in reserve (someone had to come through the tunnels!), and deployed everything else fairly close to the line.  I wound up infiltrating the other squad of ‘stealers, but they instead dropped on my deployment zone to hold an objective (much like Deathleaper–who, but the way, opted to annoy the Great Unclean one, since he was a psyker and Typhus was fearless).

Mitch failed to seize, and I took the first turn:

Turn 1: Hive Fleet Proteus

wh39kvMitch2 (4)My turn didn’t consist of all that much: I surged the line forward and shot my one gun (the flyrant), which managed to kill off a few of the noise marines which had so potently destroyed all too many of my units in earlier games.  It was really an uneventful first turn, but then again, almost half of my force was in reserves, so I guess I can’t complain too much.  I did manage to snag four total objectives, so that put me in good shape for turn two, so at least that’s something…

I also managed to score three objectives on turn one by holding objective #1 (twice) and objective #6 (my warlord trait gave me an extra objective to start off the game), so despite not doing all that much, I had a good turn.

Score: Tyranids 3 – Chaos – 0

Turn 1: Chaos

wh39kvMitch2 (8)Of course, there are always some unlucky dice rolls that screw everything up.  It turns out that my flyrant took a wound in the shooting phase (from what, I don’t remember), and then failed her subsequent grounding test (but at least FNP stopped her from taking a wound).  She was then swamped by Typhus and his cronies–but I thought she’d at least get to eat Tyhpus in a challenge, but apparently plague zombies get champions as well, so she didn’t even get to do that.

On the plus side, Typhus rolled a 1 on his demon weapon, but didn’t actually wound himself.  He wasn’t able to kill the flyrant either, but the sheer weight of plague zombies managed to exactly enough wounds to kill her off, thus earning Mitch points for Slay the Warlord & First Blood, plus he managed to snag an objective as well, and push me off another.

His other shooting did a number on both squads of hormagaunts, but that’s kind of what they’re there for, right?

Score: Tyranids 3 – Chaos – 1+2

Turn 2: Hive Fleet Proteus

wh39kvMitch2 (12)My reserves couldn’t have been more perfect.  Well, that’s an exaggeration, but I did manage to get two Trygons to come in and none of the other little gribblies, so that meant that they were going to have a hole to come out of in later turns.  Score!

I also managed to get off a couple of charges this turn (notice I skipped shooting, but that’s really because I didn’t have much of it to speak of.  I did have two eletrocmagnetic pulses from the arriving primes, but neither managed to do all that much damage).  In assault, the Dimachaeron charged a Rhino, but didn’t manage to hull point it out (despite having an unusually high strength and AP for a Tyranid), and one squad of hormagaunts diverted to my flank where Mitch had been sending dogs out to attack my zoanthrope.  The other gaunts were backing up to my deployment zone (both because they didn’t stand a chance against that many plague zombies and because I had objective that I needed to have multiple units in my deployment zone).

Despite stacking 3 units in my zone though, I only rolled a 1 for that, earning me a fourth point (and the lead).

Score: Tyranids 4 – Chaos – 1+2

Turn 2: Chaos

The plague zombies diverted into the Dimachaeron (the more I type that, the better I’ll be at actually remembering the true name of that beast).  Despite having Typhus on board, they didn’t manage to kill the beast though (though they did mortally wound it).  In response, he wound up smacking around a few cultists and then eating Typhus for good measure.

wh39kvMitch2 (15)I think I played that correctly.  The rule says “…the spine may only be used to attack during initiative step 1 of any close combat in which the Dimachaeron attacks with its grasping talons and results in at least one 6 to hit.  The spine-maw makes a single attack using the profile listed below – this is in addition to any other attacks the Dimachaeron makes and automatically hits.  A spine-maw attack may target any infantry models that do not have the Extremely Bulky special rule, and no more than one spine-maw attack may be made in a single phase by any one model.

I understood that to mean that I could target Typhus out of the group to eat him (though in hind-sight, I’m not sure if we gave him a look-out sir roll or not).  That makes sense, right?

Elsewhere, his shooting cut up a few of my units, but I don’t remember it actually slaughtering anything completely.   Also, the dogs and gaunts fought for a few more turns (before my little bugs finally won a combat!)

On the bright side for Mitch, he held three objective markers for 3 more points (ascendency) and an extra point for securing objective 6, and took the lead.

Score: Tyranids 4+1 – Chaos – 5+2

Turn 3: Hive Fleet Proteus

wh39kvMitch2 (18)In his previous turn, he had snuck some chaos bikers around my flank to harass a squad of genestealers and thinned out that squad pretty well.  To counter-act, I charged in a squad of six remaining gaunts (to draw out the flaming overwatch) and the remaining stealers.  To my surprise, the flamers managed to kill zero gaunts, and the Broodlord single-handedly killed all three in the challenge.  I don’t think that sort of thing is supposed to happen.

For reserves, I got a single pyrovore (who did a number to the squad of Nurglings which was quietly racking up objectives for the enemy) and a squad of genestealers, who managed to do little more than hide behind  the Trygon hole for the turn.

On the other side of the board, my gaunts managed to punk all but the last dog, who would surely fall next turn, right?  I also scored three points for holding an objective, manifesting a psychic power, and issuing a challenge (gotta’ love that Broodlord).

Score: Tyranids 7+1 – Chaos – 5+2

Turn 3: Chaos

wh39kvMitch2 (21)Mitch got his great unclean one in finally, but it deviated drastically from where he wanted to go.  He did manage to land in a location where the broodlord was the closest model though, so he had to weather a pretty rough psychic phase, but managed to escape relatively unscathed.

Elsewhere, the proud Dimachaeron’s reflexes had slowed trying to digest that fetid corpse that was Typhus, and he action time just wasn’t quick enough to dodge another round of attacks from the plague zombies–who then consolidated to steal objective 6 from me.  That was enough to earn Mitch another two victory points to take the lead again (I’m only now just realizing how close this game was–we were taking the lead from each other every turn!)

 

Score: Tyranids 7+1 – Chaos – 7+2

Turn 4: Hive Fleet Proteus

wh39kvMitch2 (24)My other Pyrovore came on, and the two of them managed to flame out the last of the nurglings.  Meanwhile the Trygon in the back-field managed to kill off the havocs and the other trygon seemed to have killed off the plague marines (at least from what I can make out in the photo).  By the end of the turn, he still had two obliterators, three noise marines, a handful of plague zombies (Whoc my hormagaunts failed a 5″ charge on), and the great unclean one that was out of position.  I had, two hurting units of ‘stealers (including one that was down to just the broodlord), two pyrovores, a zoanthrope, two Trygons, and two hurting units of ‘gaunts-oh, and deathleaper, who never moved from his initial perch.

One of those squad daisy-chained up to snag an objective from beneath the obliterators, which allowed me to earn a whopping 5 victory points this turn (holding obj. 5, destroying a unit in my turn, and having three units in his backfield)

 

Score: Tyranids 12+1 – Chaos – 7+2

Turn 4: Chaos

wh39kvMitch2 (27)Mitch Countered by destroying my gaunts that had the gaul to approach his obliterators, and using his plague zombies to assault my zoanthrope (but failed to kill it), and earned a single point for having his great unclean one in my deployment zone.  Sadly, we weren’t able to finish out the game because his ride showed up and we called it early.

Score: Tyranids 12+2 – Chaos – 8+3

 Conclusion?

We didn’t get to finish it out, so the only fair thing to do was to call it a draw.  I was ahead in points and felt that I had a strategic upper hand

due to the number and type of units I had left, along with their positioning.  Of course, who knows what would’ve happened in later turns.  Though I could hold more objectives, I had no real range units to speak of (just the Trygons), so maybe he would’ve picked me apart with the obliterators at range?  I have a feeling that my strategy would’ve been to camp objectives for the rest of the game though.  Still, one never knows, so we’re going to call it a draw.

What I Learned:

  1. Trygon Tunnels aren’t good.  Granted, they worked out about as idealy as they could’ve (excepting the fact that I’m sure it would’ve been nicer to have something besides pyrovores in them–but you can’t blame the tunnels for that).  The fact that you can’t charge out of them and they don’t normally give you cover or anything makes them bad.  The fact that mine are taller than you would expect and give some semblance of cover helps (we counted them as craters, so they gave a 6+ cover save).
  2. Dimachaeron isn’t bad.  Eating Typhus was quite fun (whether or not it was legal).  I don’t think he’s exceptionally good, but he’s not bad either.
  3. Sometimes it just comes down to the luck of the dice rolls.  Losing my Flyrant to a grounding test/charge was unfortunate.  I guess I can’t simply blame the dice, as I could’ve potentially positioned her in such a way that she wasn’t succeptable to the charge.  I’m not sure that’s the right play though, as she would likely have been out of range, and she had the protection of flying, jink, and 66% of not failing the grounding test.  Still, it’s something consider as I move her around in future games.
  4. Deathleaper is underwhelming.  Granted, he did absolutely nothing this game, but he’s so fragile, I didn’t want to take a chance with him.  My plan was to keep him on an objective for the game, and then I could use him to nab other objectives if needed.  The thing is, that he was more valuable earning me a card a turn than he was potentially grabbing an objective.  He wouldn’t have held up in combat against anything, and his -LD used to do something to psykers in 6th edition, but is
9 comments on “Batrep: Hive Fleet Proteus vs. Chaos Space Marines (1850pts)

  1. Sounds like a great game. Games that are a constant back and forth are the most fun. Seems like you rarely get to finish games though. Maybe it’s just me, but seems most of your games end early on account of time.

    Small note on that mission. You begin with 1 card on turn #1 and then you get a card for each objective you hold going forward. It’s in the part titled Tactical Objectives on the mission.

    • The games don’t end prematurely most of the time, but I think I’ve done it three times now. Once with Danny, and once or twice with Mitch. Mitch is 16 and can’t stay out late, and I’m a rather slow sort of player, so it doesn’t always work out. Plus, he’s obviously not that rehearsed in the game, so he’s pretty sluggish as well.

      As for the mission, that’s what we did. I don’t see the point you’re trying to make. Are you saying that we don’t draw objectives for the first turn? That’s not how it seems to read to me. It says you start with one, and then you draw cards at the beginning of each turn for each one you hold. I saw nothing in there that excludes you from drawing them on the first turn. If I’m wrong (and it wouldn’t be the first time), I’d love to be enlightened.

      On Mon, Aug 10, 2015 at 11:32 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • It’s definitely not clear about the cards on turn #1. We, where I play, have always seen it as draw one card on turn #1 and then proceed to collect cards for objectives after turn #1. However, I see it the way you play it as well just as clearly. Not like it matter really so long as both players do it the same way then it’s moot.

        How did you happen to to come across a 16 year old 40K player? A kid from a shop you’ve been to or something?

      • A friend of a friend from high-school went to church with him. He’s actually friends with my friend’s friend’s son.

        Relatively convoluted, but he’s a good apple.

        On Mon, Aug 10, 2015 at 12:40 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  2. Seemed like a fun game to me. Death leaper doesn’t seem to generally make his points back, but the normal lictors do!

    • I haven’t played with normal lictors in a while. I’d be interested in seeing how they make their points back. Sure, they’re cheap, but they have almost no damage output. They really seem like the sort of models that won’t ever make their points back (ie. kill an equivalent points worth of models), but they might wind up sneaking objectives or something that could make them a viable unit.

      On Tue, Aug 11, 2015 at 6:42 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Their main ability comes from the fact they are “placed” on the table, instead of being deep struck. Being able to position them anywhere you want (generally into cover so they have excellent saves), allows you to score objectives/maelstroms very easily, and their str 6 rending attacks allow them to threaten everything in the game. (plus mawlocs don’t scatter next to them)

      • Yeah, that makes sense. I’m not sure how much of a threat 2x BS3 s6 Rending attacks is (in my experience, they aren’t capable of much), but holding objectives can be handy).

        On Tue, Aug 11, 2015 at 8:27 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

      • With 40k, sometimes it’s not the effectiveness of something, so much as the “plausible” effectiveness of something.

        Just having lictors which can be placed anywhere on the table (firing into rear arcs), with Str 6 rending shots is enough to make your opponent think slightly differently.

        Mind games 🙂

Have something to add?

