Painting Termagants (again)

Though I’ve only played one game of 40k in close to six months, I’m starting to get an itch.  Well, maybe not so much an itch, but at least I feel apprehension towards the idea of playing the game.  While that isn’t exactly high praise, it’s at least a start!

So, I started working myself up to speed by painting a couple of Zombicide models, which I’ve since finished.  So now, I’m moving on to Tyranids.  The irony isn’t lost on me that I started with something that actually took more skill and time per model to complete.  The thing is, that painting Tyranids en masse takes more than just talent–it takes staying power.  I wanted to see if I had it in me to knock out at least a couple of models before I started painting 30 at once.

Yup, that’s what I went ahead and did.  I’m not exactly certain why I have 30 ‘gaunts laying around, but sure enough I do.  I originally had paid a friend, Mitch, to paint these, and he eventually gave up and brought them back to me hat in hand, so they were partially started.  Mitch moved out of state in July of last year, so they’ve been sitting around at least that long.  If I sleuth around more, I recall he gave them back on the night of a MTG draft (which, after a bit of searching turns out to be Ixalan–which although I posted it on June 4th, it turns out the draft night was actually May 18th).

That’s a long winded way of saying that it’s been nearly a year since I got these back from a failed outsource painting experience.  I don’t even recall when I’d purchased these…

The good news is that they’re all armed with devourers, so they should shred up whatever opponent I throw them on the table for.  Well, that’s if and when they get painted.

For now, let’s call these decided a “work in progress.”  More to come on them eventually…

 

Have something to add?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.