Old Stuff Day: 2018 Edition

Old Stuff Day is a chance to look back at some classic blog posts (either your own, or others’) and presenting them to a new audience of blog readers.

It really started as a self-serving notion of getting some of my older content a second chance to be seen by a fresh set of eyes, and now that the blog is going on 9 years old, it’s never been more true. This year’s post, I thought I’d go back and revisit a few of the long standing projects that I’ve never completed, and one that I have.

I recognize that some of it will be new to others and might serve as a little inspiration, but the goal of this post is to really motivate myself this year. I can start with:

Too Many Unpainted Tyranids

I have “finished” painting my Tyranids multiple times. I recognize that it’s an ongoing hobby and, as long as they release new kits, I’ll likely never be finished with the process. Still, I’ve been remiss in painting this past year, and have been slowly collecting more and more unpainted bugs (along with genestealer cult models).

My most recent acquisitions include a number of Tyrannocytes (aka. Drop Pods for Tyranids). They, along with some flyers, an Old One Eye conversion (which I’m realizing that I’ve never really blogged about), and a host of other figures are aching to be painted. In fact, they’re all at various stages of completion on my work bench, but they will all be done this year.

With any luck, they’ll all be done before the next Apoc game at the end of this month (though that seems a tad overly optimistic at this point).

My Tyranid Bastion

Without a doubt, it’s been too long on this bad boy. Honestly, it’s only been about 2 years, and I have outstanding projects that have wasted away on my work bench far longer than that. Still, since I’m already committing to painting up my tyranids, it only makes sense that I add this to the bunch.

I wound up stealing the idea from Dwez over at 40k Addict, and I’m really pleased with the progress so far. Of course, I also seem to have lost (err.. misplaced) the window coverings for this model. I’m sure they’ll turn up though, right?

This too, should be done sometime this year. Click here to see more pics of my Tyranid Bastion.

My Imperial Knights

With a few outstanding projects weighing me down, I figured I’d also include a success story. Back in 2015, I wound up picking up a couple of Imperial Knights. In 2016, without painting the first two I purchased, I wound up getting a good deal on a third. It wasn’t until last Summer that I finally worked up the nerve to paint them up.

I wound up writing quite a few blog posts on the matter, detailing it all as a step by step process. Typically I would’ve only done one or two on a painting project, but considering the amount of effort and time, it seemed reasonable that I’d have a few extra posts on the matter.

The final inspiration to help me paint them was an impending Apocalypse game. They have always been a good driver for me to get off my arse and make hobby progress. Maybe next year I can convince myself to paint up all of my outstanding fortifications

That might be a little too unbelievable at this point.

Finally, seeing as there’s been quite a number of years, I figured that Old Stuff Day deserved it’s own tag on my blog. So, for anyone looking to see what I’ve drudged up for previous years’ events, look no further than the new tag: OldStuffDay

So here’s to wishing you a Happy Old Stuff Day.  I’m looking forward to reading into some of your old gems out there.

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Old Stuff Day: 2018 Edition

  1. I love those Knights, I’ve been thinking about getting a third and this reminds me how cool they look. And indeed that Bastion needs completing y’know for reasons.

    Now, I must go and create new draft posts ready to store links for next year’s Old Stuff Day 🙂

Have something to add?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.