Why Did I Do This To Myself (or WIP: Wall of Martyrs)

wh39k-WallofMartyrs (1)As of late, I’ve managed to complete a few projects that have been lingering on my desk for years.  Some notable examples include my Legion of the Damned and my terrain.  So, when I went searching for a next project, I found myself turning to fortifications.  I think this was an ill-fated snap decision as the result of a planetstrike game I played in.  Whatever the case, I had a bright idea to work on my Wall of Martyrs.

Let me say that I think the trench system idea is super cool (obviously, or why would I buy so much of it?).  I’d love it if it was actually trenches,  but you completely lose any modularity if that were the case.  Anywho, on one (or two) of my buying sprees, I wound up picking up a fair bit of this terrain.  The thought being that it was rather cool looking and you need a fair bit of it to make it at all effective (or cool looking–doesn’t it have to cover a board?).

wh39kWoM (Medium)While that may be the case, having to paint enough terrain to cover a whole board is a bit of a daunting task.  After I laid it out and primed it, I realized just what I was getting into.  To further complicate things, this isn’t just a simple dirt trench–it’s covered in all sorts of ammo boxes, skeletons, rocks, etc.  This won’t be a quick paint job–even if it is “just terrain.”

Without putting a single paintbrush to it, I wonder if I just shouldn’t put it quietly back into the box and hide it for a few more years…

 

13 comments on “Why Did I Do This To Myself (or WIP: Wall of Martyrs)

  1. Don’t give up yet! I only painted a single trench kit so far, but the details don’t need a lot of work, base coat, big jug of wash and quick and dirty highlights. Good luck!

  2. Damn. There’s a lot of stuff there…

    In your shoes, since you do seem to like it, I would just work on it here and there. Don’t overwhelm yourself trying to tackle this all at once. Got five minutes? Do some drybrushing, or pick out a few details, etc. It will take you forever to finish it but at least you won’t hate yourself for buying it.

  3. If I was going to attack something like that I would get it all set out on a large bit of paper or an excel spreadsheet. Then write down what I need to do every day in order to get it done. Otherwise you will spend days just wondering which bits to do next😁 It needs to be a mass conveyor belt type project or you will get pi##ed off and go onto something else. Good luck😃

    • That certainly seems to be the popular consensus. Of course, I’m the sort of fool that might try to do them all at once in a giant assembly line…

      On Wed, Feb 11, 2015 at 8:24 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  4. Paint it modular-style. By that I mean one or two pieces at a go. Start with that zigzag section at the bottom left, and two end caps. When you’ve finished those, not only can you pick another pieces or two, but you’ll also have functional terrain to slap down while you’re playing in amongst the project.

    • Truth be told, I’ve been thinking about painting these since November, and this is the farthest I’ve gotten. Modular seems to be a good idea, but far be it from me to do things the smart way…

      On Thu, Feb 12, 2015 at 4:29 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • Again, probably a good tip, but I don’t generally get things “playable.” I tend not to play with them until they’re completely done (though there have been some exceptions). This will take some time to work up enough gumption to get started on it though.

      On Thu, Feb 12, 2015 at 6:21 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

