I Do Not Play 40k

I do not play 40k.

Though I suppose it would be more accurate to append the word “anymore” to that sentence.  That seems to have a certain level of finality to it though, that would be unintentional.  The most accurate way to state it would be that it’s been almost a year since I played a game of 40k.

It would be easy to make excuses for this (and boy, are there alot of them:  purchased, remodeled and moved into a new house, had our first child, threw my back out–and the corresponding physical therapy).  The truth is though, that my interest in the hobby has waned.  This isn’t to say the hobby is dead, it’s just not how I chose to spend my free time.  This isn’t the first time this has happened; as I’ve stated before, 40k is cyclical for me.  I go through spurts where I’m completely obsessed with it, and others where it doesn’t hold my interest, but I always seem to come back to it eventually.

As of late, I’ve been considering doing just that.  In fact, last week, I actually planned to play my first game of the year (though that too was cancelled: prempted by the birth of my niece).  I will get in a game though.  I should probably start small–perhaps just a 1v1 game in my garage, but I’m also thinking of holding an Apoc game as well.

Anywho, there’s not too much to this update, other than to just get some thoughts out “on paper.”  I expect to play some games and make some hobby progress in the near future, and undoubtedly, that will lead to more posts.

Talk to you soon…

20 comments on “I Do Not Play 40k

  1. I came to a similar realisation regarding Warmachine the other day. I tend to play games on a four-to-five year cycle of interest and Warmachine has been lagging along for six now…

    • Have you given any thought as to whether your interest is finally waning (And perhaps you’re “done” with warmachine), or maybe it’s just a slightly longer than normal cycle?

      For 40k, I’m a bit disenchanted at how over the top some of the new armies seem to be, likewise, I’m appalled at the prices (and the mass hysteria caused by the move to finecast models). Perhaps I’m too old, but I do seem to wax nostalgically about how great things used to be.

      • I’ve definitely been thinking about it. My thoughts run too long for a comment on someone else’s blog though; I ain’t no spacejacker. Suffice to say that it could be either and it’s hard to tell.

        I have similar experiences with WFB. 40K I don’t care about enough to stay up to the minute with – I’ve just got me box of Necrons in case someone I like wants to play games with me. I have to admit though, I’d never have started a new first-hand WFB army, it’s quite unaffordable for me and has been for a few years now. Good job I got my old one back or I might never have played again.

      • Thanks for the reply. For the record, you’re welcome to post comments of any length on my posts (and I’ll do my darndest to reply in turn–though perhaps not promptly). In fact, I’m not sure why people care if someone “spacejacks” a blog post (though I’ve never heard the term, I get what you’re saying). I’ve been accused of doing that on someone else’s blog and told that I wasn’t welcome. I thought that a terribly odd response–it doesn’t make sense to me to shoo away the people that care enough about your blog to really take the time to speak their mind.

        It does make sense, however, that you post thought provoking content on your blog though.

        By the way, I see that you subscribed to my blog (thanks). I just wanted to redirect you to my feedburner feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/warhammer39999. After switching from a wordpress.org to a wordpress.com, I can’t seem to get the feed to switch as well (not without paying them an extortion fee, that is). This particular theme I have has that embedded “HEY SUBSCRIBE TO MY FEED” link at the top too, which points people in what I’d consider the wrong direction. I really should change the theme…

      • (I hope this appears in the right place. I don’t trust Reply buttons that aren’t right next to the thing I actually want to reply to…)

        The spacejacking thing is one of the many aspects of netiquette that I just don’t understand at all. It’s up there with ‘threadomancy’ – surely it’s better to revive an existing thread on the same topic than to start a new one?

        Thing is, if a comment is taking me half an hour to write and running into hundreds of words, then there’s evidently something bigger there that needs to be turned into a post so it can generate its own thinking-out-loud discourse, I think. I don’t refrain from saying things because they’re running long, it’s just a question of where/how/why they’re said.

        On the matter of feeds: could you possibly explain, to this Luddite, why it matters that Feedburner is used rather than the WordPress subscription, and (I don’t wish to sound rude but I want to make sure the question is clear) to whose benefit this is – the reader or the author of the blog? I did look it up, but all I got was technical FAQs and advertising copy, not especially helpful.

      • I had the same problem with the reply button to your last post. I guess this particular theme doesn’t put in reply buttons after the third tier? I’m not sure, but I don’t like it either. Unlike you though, I have the ability to just reply to your comments via email, so I have the upper hand on this one! (Though this is another reason I should change the theme).

        As to the subject of feedburner, my answer would be that I believe it helps both parties. What it does is gives a neutral location to host feeds. Users subscribe to feeds.feedburner.com/warhammer39999, and I can control what RSS actually feeds into that. So, when I move to another platform, another website name, or an entirely different blog, I can just change my settings in my feedburner account, and my subscribers can make that same transition seemlessly with me.

        – So, I get to keep my subscribers (which really is a benefit to any blog owner, but moreso to anyone who has a very large blog and is really concerned about traffic numbers). – My subscribers get the security to know if/when I change my blog, they’ll still get updates without having to go through one of those very nasty “WH39k has moved. You need to update your subscriptions!” campaigns.

        With blogger or wordpress.org blogs, there are plugins that let you redirect your normal feeds to feedburner. With WordPress.com hosted, there appears to be no such thing. I’m guessing that if you buy one of their premium editing option, and you’re savvy with HTML/CSS, you can make that change manually though. The thing is, I moved to the .com from .org in order to save money. If I’m paying for this, I might as well have stayed where I was…

        In the three years that I’ve had a blog now, I’ve actually made use of this twice. I was originally just an offshoot of my personal website, then I kept the same hosting, but bought the domain name warhammer39999.com, and now I’ve moved to warhammer39999.wordpress.com. While I don’t know that I’m going to move again, I know that this particular site isn’t perfect, so there is a chance I could make a jump to a platform like blogger… that’s why I suggested you subscribe to my feedburner feed.

        I did a bit of a writeup on several of my earlier posts ( https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/?s=feedburner), but ultimately, I signed up when I first started the blog because smarter people than me told me to do so, and I’ve been pleasantly surprised with it. I just wish it worked seemlessly with wordpress.com.

  2. Pingback: Read And Respond: Warhammer 39,999 and Not Playing Games « GAME OVER

  3. I feel the same way about 40k. I am older now, and every time I look at 40k I get this feeling of dissatisfaction…. I guess between the rising prices, and the changes to the setting that GW keeps making that breaks my suspension of disbelief, I just find myself unhappy with this particular game. I have since branched out to non-GW miniature games, and find myself quite happy with them! It is nice to realize you don’t need to spend hundreds of dollars to start playing a good game.

    For example, I was looking for a good space navy game similar to Battlefleet Gothic, and I came across A Call to Arms: Noble Armada by Mongoose publishing. The models are of good quality but don’t cost an arm and a leg like GW’s do. A starter fleet runs you about 25 dollars, and can make a quite sizable list (equivalent to a 1500 point army in 40k). If it had been GW, the same set would probably cost 80 dollars or more.

    I think they will soon find that if they don’t change their business model, they will price us out of the hobby. They cannot continue to raise their prices, while publishing codexes that require us to buy more of the top-dollar kits, when gas prices are skyrocketing and the costs of living increase so drastically. It seems counter-intuitive to raise prices during a recession. They have to realize that they are competing with electronic entertainment (like MMOs and consoles) whether they like it or not… after all, they are all just ways of occupying our free time. They need to price the game accordingly if they want to appeal to a broader market and not just the current niche. After all, from a parent’s perspective, would you rather buy your kid that computer game for 30-60 bucks, or spend several hundred on miniatures, paint, rulebooks, etc that you are not even sure your kid is gonna stick with?

    Anyway, sorry to fill your comment box with my rant. But congrats on your firstborn, take it easy on your back, and I hope you find the time to do the things you want to do in the future!

    -Cannedflame / Foxphoenix135

    • I’m not so sure GW is pricing itself out of the market. While it seems to you and I that paying $41.25 for a biovore is beyond ludicris, somebody out there is paying it. In fact, you know as well as I do that the local market seems to still be snapping up their products left and right. Each new codex that comes out gets it’s standard glut of followers.

      Frankly, I don’t recall having that much disposable income to spend on toys–even when I was young, single, and working. Perhaps us old farts just haven’t come to grips with the fact that everything is more expensive then back in “the good ‘ol days?”

      This isn’t to say I don’t think their prices are atrocious–I most certainly do. Even with my current salary (significantly higher than the days I used to work at Bosco’s), I can’t justify spending that kind of money. But it sounds like we might just be in the vocal minority….

      As for their rules. I think they’re tight enough, but there are definite balance concerns. For the longest time I was praying that 6th edition would do a complete reset (a la 3rd ed), but I’ve given up hope for that. Still waiting for balance to come forth though…

      Don’t worry about ranting–I appreciate the input. And thanks for the final personalization on your comment. 🙂

  4. “I should probably start small… I’m also thinking of holding an Apoc game as well.” He he he. Love the logic…

    I too have really ‘gone off’ 40K lately. Not that I’ve played much/often for many years now, but for the last few i’ve managed to get a game in every other month or so. Some of my old friends get together most months to catch up and have a fairly relaxed game. But for the last few months, with the exception of a multi-player Christmas ‘special’ (with a specially converted necron-santa) I really haven’t felt like it.

    That’s partly because I’ve been busy with other things, and very tired when games night has come around, but I don’t think that’s really the reason. I’ve partly just got totally fed up with playing with my ork army and not just losing every time, but feeling like I can’t win, no matter what I do. I don’t really have any other armies in a playable state, so it hasn’t been easy to switch and carry on gaming.

    Which itself is another problem. I’m just not inspired to game with grey plastic models on undecorated table tops with improvised terrain. It’s not actually terrible: we have a fair few GW scenery pieces these days, but what I really want is a theme, and a story. A reason to have a battle, and some sort of explanation as to who is fighting and why.

    I was hoping that gaming again would in turn inspire me to get back to painting and modelling. Now I think I’ll have to get modelling to inspire me to take up gaming again. And that seems to be harder to organise myself for than gaming does, unfortunately.

    • Well, I managed to get in not one, but TWO games this past weekend (blog post recaps coming soon), and enjoyed each tremendously. It helped to play the first against a friend who still plays regularly, so he could remind of me of all of the rules I’d forgotten (And boy, were there a ton of them). The second was a 2v2 game (1000 points per player), and was fairly slow, but evenly matched, and just fun all around.

      I’m not sure I’ve rekindled a flame, but I definitely enjoyed myself, and will be playing again before too long, I’m sure. THe second game was also with two other friends who haven’t played much as of late (one of them not having played a game in at least three years–he’s already talking about buying a new army…*facepalm*).

      I hear what you’re saying about the unwinable thing. I can’t imagine going into anything with that sort of expectation would make for a very pleasant experience. Seems like the logical answer is to either: A) Fix your mentality that it’s ‘unwinnable’ or B) change the framework to make your army more likely to win (house rules, composition requirements, and/or change your opponents), or C) try something new, be it a new unit, strategy, or just a new army altogether.

      Of course, if you don’t like playing with unpainted figs, the latter can be problematic as well. I guess there’s always Dawn of War!

  5. Well, I got a game in yesterday! 1000 points against a marine player I’d never met, and who’d never played against orks before. It was quite entertaining, and pretty close. Also surprisingly bloodshed free. Only 4 killpoints’ worth of casualties (out of a possible total of 13, both sides combined) in the entire (5 turn) game.

    I still think I need to switch armies though. At least until the next codex comes out…

    I think it’s gone too far to change my mentality. I’m pretty open minded, but I think I’ve tried everything (within the self-imposed limits I have). There are certain units I’m not interested in building/playing, and I don’t believe I should have to take them to stand a chance. I also try to ensure that as much as possible of my army is based on models I actually own. I do experiment a fair bit within these limits, and I’ve got some more ideas to try out next time, but I think I know the army well enough to be able to predict what is likely to happen.

    So; time to crack open the boxes of un-made miniatures and get to work on a new army…

      • Well… I have started on some ‘nids… In fact, it was looking around the net and blogs for inspiration that I found your blog (via BoLS). Following your pre-codex-release tyranid posts was what drew me in. I’ve got some cool modelling projects and conversions either started or planned out. Two main things putting me off are cleaning up all those boring gaunt models and the fear that the army looks like it suffers from most of the same problems that make orks so frustrating to play. Slow, unweildy, struggling to hurt vehicles, easily given the run-around by fast opponents and a lot of units not actually very good in close combat when they finally get there. That said, I like most of the models – if not in their official versions, then I like the conversions I’ve got made or planned, I think the conversions will be pretty easy, as (should be) the painting. Despite its flaws, I suspect that the codex will still feel more modern and easier to run with. Plus, no one in our group plays or has played Tyranids, so they’ll be a good ‘wow’ army to bring along.

        Daemons in a way would be easier because the lists have a lot less flexibility. I can basically make all the models as I want without worrying at all what weapon or equipment configurations they have. Again; I’ve got a bunch of conversion ideas, but I think I’m more tempted right now by the tyranid models.

        Dark Eldar are the other option. Again, no one in our group plays or has played them. They have some great models and a very different play style to orks. Much harder in terms of deciding how to equip models though. Also, despite having some ideas, I’m not sure how I want to paint them. Finally, the one model I’ve got – a (pretty cool, if I say so myself) converted Cronos Parasite Engine – doesn’t fit into any army list I am likely to play…

        I want to start playing around with the nex Tervigon model. I want to convert it quite a bit – I know what look I’m aiming for, so if I can get that model made, then I might keep going until I’ve got around 1000 points. Then I can decide whether to carry on with them or switch to one of my other options. If the Tervigon (or Queen Termagant, as it’ll be in my army) doesn’t work out, then it and the whole project will probably go back to ‘Project distant future/what if’ land… And I’ll try something else.

      • I suspect you’re probably right on your opinion with the Nidz. When I run them, I definitely have problems with tanks (more so than the local Ork players seem to have, in fact). Ironically, demons seem to have much of the same issue (unless you’re running Tzeentch demons for ‘bolts’).

        I’d wager that the three armies you’ve chosen as your first three choices are going to have the hardest time handling mechanized forces. Do people run alot of mech in your area?

  6. Hmm… There’s no ‘reply’ button by your latest post, so I hope you see this…

    Funnily enough, no, there’s not a lot of mech here. A lot of us are using armies that date back at least partially to 2nd ed or even rogue trader, when there weren’t that many vehicles to be found. I think everyone has added some, but we’re not a particularly competitive bunch, at least half of us never look at 40K stuff online (so are unaware of competitive builds, trends and rules loopholes), and no one is building competition-ready super armylists from the ground up.

    And despite that I still struggle! My ork army has almost nothing. I’ve got a fair smattering of rokkits, and they’re good for making my opponent think that I’m putting his vehicles in danger (and they do sometimes damage or destroy things), but I certainly can’t plan to take out vehicles this way. My hope with Tyranids is that with Zoanthropes and Trygons I’ve got units that can at least threaten armour.

    If I go with daemons, I’d hope that greater daemons would be able to threaten armour, and even if they can’t, at least lots of my units will appear close to the enemy, rather than rather depresingly (and ineffectively) spending several turns slogging across the board under heavy fire. I admit I really haven’t thought about what I’d take though, or how to win. Daemons really are a modelling project that I’ll look for a way to use in a game, rather than an army or gaming project. Unless you count GM-driven narrative/story/scenario type games, which I’d like to do more of.

    • There are only a couple of “competitive” players around here (and by that, I mean those with things approximating ‘net-lists.’ By and large, people seem more laid back, and it’s not super common to see alot of mechanized options. In that regard, you’re generally not completely screwed if you’re light on tank busting, because there’s always something else to eat.

      My impression in the few times I played Daemons though was that they were really bad at cracking open vehicles. You’re basically relying on chasing those vehicles down and beating them in h2h (well, assuming you don’t have any tzeentch forces). So, if you don’t have flying princes, or fleety Slaanesh troops, the vehicles you’re chasing will almost undoubtedly be faster than you.

      Take my thoughts with a grain of salt though, because I’ve only ever Demoned vs. Mech (sorta) once. You can read about that here: https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/battle-report-chaos-demons-vs-chaos-1492pts/

  7. Hmm… That pretty much describes my experience with orks… I guess I should think carefully about this… Or at least – if I go with daemons, do so only for scenario games if I want to have a chance!

    Mind you, it’s been a long time since I’ve played anything over 1000 points, and that too helps cut down on the number of vehicles you face.

Have something to add?

