Old Stuff Day 2.0

Since I’ve been relatively dormant for the past few months, I thought the best way to celebrate Old Stuff Day would be to dig up some of my favorite posts from other bloggers over the years.  The following posts are mostly items that have caught my eye over the years and things I’ve bookmarked as things I’d like to attempt sometime.  These links are in no particular order (so I don’t necessarily like #1 any more than #5), they’re just in the order I found them in my favorites folder:

Santa Cruz presents: “Make your own smoke markers”

http://santacruzwarhammer.blogspot.com/2009/09/great-way-to-watch-your-models-burn.html

Two halloween’s ago, I found myself stumbling through Jo-Ann Fabrics (a crafting store) and found a nine-pack of these flickering candles for $2.  I’d remembered seeing a post from Santa Cruz on the subject, so I promptly purchased them.  Since then, they’ve made handy lights for my various pumpkins, but I’ve yet to actually get around to making these destruction markers.  They seem so quick and easy though… and they look great.

A Gentleman’s Verdigris

http://agentlemansones.blogspot.com/2010/11/my-way-weathered-statues.html

Speaking of eloquent, simple effects that have inspired me to purchase (though not yet do anything with) materials, Brian over at A Gentleman’s Ones had an eye-popping solution for “verdigris.”  If you’re scratching your head at just what that means, you’re not alone.  It’s a fancy word for rust–but a specialized greenish rust that happens to bronze statues.  I saw this post and immediately bookmarked it as something I had to reproduce.  I even asked for the statues for my birthday last year (which I got), but I haven’t ever gotten around to assembling them–much less painting them.  Rest assured, when I do, I’ll be using Brian’s guide.

Nurglizing models with hot pins:

http://www.rollwithit.org.uk/?p=2516

As I’m starting to get back into 40k, Chaos is part of my greatest focus.  And when I think Chaos I almost always think of Nurgle.  While other gods have their benefits (and indeed, are just superior in game play terms), the festering ones have always held a special place in my heart.  I need to convert up some plague marines, and this seems like a great little tutorial to make unique marines.

A tutorial on Rivets

http://lascannonslances.blogspot.com/2010/05/riveting-mini-tutorial.html

This tutorial isn’t one that I bookmarked originally.  In fact, it wasn’t until recently that I found myself trying to dig up just where it was that I saw it.   It shouldn’t be too surprising that it came from Lascannons & Lances.  Veghist did some amazing scratch building work on a few tanks, and had some great tutorials on casting things.   Recently though, I found a need to make some rivets on my models, and this seems like a pretty good tutorial for doing so.  I’m not 100% sure this is the final solution for me, so if anyone else has any recommendations, please let me know.

Night Goblin Unit Fillers

http://trollhoer.blogspot.com/2010/11/night-goblin-unit-filler.html

Ok, I don’t play WHFB.  In fact, I trash talk square-basers at every chance I get.  That doesn’t change the fact that I’m swayed by those around me.  As of late, the local gaming scene seems to have turned away from the light that is 40k and into the dark depths of fantasy…  I’ve managed to keep away from it, but I do find myself glancing at a rather large pile of Goblins & Skaven I’ve accumulated over the years.  The Skaven I purchased largely to stand-in as a Nurgle-based chaos force (rat swarms for nurglings, plague priests/skaven for plague bearers, rat ogres for demon princes, etc.  (though originally Skaven & Rat Ogres were to serve as Mutants & Big Mutants–if you can let your mind slip back to the Eye of Terror codex).  There’s something about night goblins that always turns my head, and Troll Tales exemplifies everything I loved about those little buggers…

So, there you have it: my submissions for Old Stuff Day.  Thanks for dropping by.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to scour posts for more projects that I can purchase and probably never finish….

All pictures appear to be copyrighted by their original sites.  I make no claim to them and will remove them upon request.

5 comments on “Old Stuff Day 2.0

    • I’ll see what I can do about sticking around. I think I just lack the heart of a true blogger (or at least the conviction). I’ll do fine as long as I remember why it is I’m blogging–and not try to be something I’m not.

  1. Thanks for the kind words. I hope the technique works out for you. More importantly, it’s good to see you back in action. I’ve taken the liberty of switching the url in the blogroll, and I hope you’ve seen some traffic inbound.

Have something to add?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.