BUTTONS! (err.. ahem I mean, “status effect markers”)

wh39kStatusButtons (2)I wasn’t planning on posting anything today, but I already knew one of my posts for next week.  You see, back in the day I was flirting with the idea of making effect markers, but the templates I had worked up were a little too ornate.  Well, I finally sat down and worked up some simpler designs, and bit the bullet and placed and order for them.  They were expected to arrive on Thursday, which wouldn’t have been in time for a blog post this week, but in a twist of events, they showed up a couple of days early.

When I saw the USPS tracking say they were here, I snuck down to the mailbox this evening after the kiddos went to bed and dumped them out on my table.  Again, these aren’t perfect pics, but I think they show the quality rather well.

wh39kStatusButtons (1)My initial thoughts:

  1. I think they came out rather well in general.
  2. The designs I made proved to be a little too big for the buttons, in that some of the text barely overlaps the sides–but it’s not enough to make me want to reprint them.  This seems to stand out most on the “Swooping/Flying” markers.
  3. Some of them aren’t properly centered (presumably manufacturing mistakes).  Again, not so much that I’d complain about them.
  4. After texting them to a friend, his first question:  Where are the “Soulblaze” tokens?   DOH!

But yeah, I think they look rather good as a whole.  Naturally, I like the Tyranid buttons the best (I tried to leave most of them rather generic, but figured tokens for codex specific effects could be fancy–hence why the bugs and Space Marine traits look special).

My button making connection proved to be rather affordable–so I know I’ll wind up making more in the future.  I can also make the templates available to others should they be interested in them.  Just lemme know…

 

11 comments on “BUTTONS! (err.. ahem I mean, “status effect markers”)

  1. Impressive. I think they came out damn well. You could always tweak things a bit where things didn’t line up but for a first run they look awesome.

    • Well, the thing is that I went for a large enough order that I don’t really expect there to be much of a second run. As more status effects get released, that will change, I’m sure, but for now I’m content with what I have (except for my glaring omission of soulblaze tokens). Can you think of any others I seem to be missing?

      On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 6:40 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Depends how far you want to go with it. Could add in other effect makers like: blind, concussive, shaken, stunned, weapon destroyed, immobilized, wrecked, etc.

      • All good ideas. I’m not sure why I skipped the vehicle effect markers (likely because I already have a few sets of those from gale force nine), but I might as well make the designs.

        Thanks, sir.

        On Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 7:19 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  2. These look great and what an easy way to aid in playing the infernal game correctly. I don’t know when I will have the time yet to list out and design my buttons but I will most definitely want some of those for myself.

  3. Awesome, you know me I love a good marker, coincidentally I made a Jink and a Tervigon Spawn Out marker yesterday and they’ll be on the blog in a short while.

    they look really good and durable, hope they help in your gaming 🙂

    • The spawn out would probably be a good one to have–though with the frequency of spawn outs, I might actually be better off making at token saying that her baby-maker isn’t yet broken, and then taking it away when she breaks.

      On Fri, Jul 25, 2014 at 4:07 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • Are you talking about those clear green plastic pieces they came out with back in the day? I’ve never seen one of them in real life. Do you find them to be good?

      On Mon, Jul 28, 2014 at 8:40 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Those are the ones. There are a couple for vehicle speed that I don’t use but the rest are very handy. The wound markers (little skulls) and vehicle damage effects are particularly useful. They’re lacking any of the army specific and psychic effect markers but over all they were worth the money.

  4. Hey Rob, I’ll be back in Anchorage in the next couple days, any way I could I could convince you to play some manner of game in the near or far future?

Have something to add?

