How My Models Came to be Warhammer 40K Munitorum Battlefield Objectives

It’s should come as no surprise that the 6th edition of Warhammer 40k is on the horizon.  GW broke the news last week along with pictures of all of the new goodies that they’ll be releasing, including things like a $132 rulebook, and an amazingly expensive $16 tape measure!

These bits are all far too rich for my blood, but one thing that did catch my eye some little minies that were pictured next to the dice available.  For those that haven’t seen those, see the picture below.

Well, time has since produced larger images of these, and it turns out they’re little servo-skulls that serve as objectives, and hold dice to indicate what number (or what kind) of objective they are.  But when the picture was first spoiled, I wasn’t able to make out those details.  My first thought was that they looked a bit like the new pink horrors (where the various cords of the servo skulls made for arms/legs/tentacles of the demonic beasts), but I wanted to know more.

Nothing in any write-up seemed to indicate exactly what they were, so I went through my magical powers of deduction to determine that they had to be “Warhammer 40K Munitorum Battlefield Objectives” (since nothing else seemed to foot that bill in any of the photographs).  Armed with this new knowledge, I took to a Google image search.

The information was still too new though, and I didn’t find what I was looking for.  I did find something interesting though: a picture of my Tyranid Swarmlord.  What on earth was a picture of my Swarmlord doing on a search for Munitorum Battlefield Objectives?  To make things even more interesting, the model wasn’t on my website at all, but rather linked to on Dakka Dakka (and I never go to that site).

With some creative digging, I found out that the Google image search was actually pointing to this page: http://www.dakkadakka.com/gallery/334444-swarmlord%20converted.html

Someone had found a picture of my Swarmlord, and uploaded it to Dakka.  He apparently was collecting images of Swarmlords (presumably to do a conversion himself), liked what he saw and uploaded it.  He didn’t credit me as the source, but he didn’t plagerize it either (the creator is listed as “unknown”).  What I found most interesting is that people were voting on Dakka for the quality of the paintjob and coolness.  My ratings were 9.38 for paintjob and 9.88 for coolness (both out of ten).  Granted, there are a limited number of voters, but I must admit that it felt good that people thought so highly of my work.

I think I’m going to reach out to the poster to say hi–not to chastize him or anything, but maybe to take a little credit.  If he liked what he saw, maybe I can point him out to some of my other figures?

Anyway, that’s all I had to say about that.  I just thought it was an interesting little quirk.  I’m not sure how it even came to be (perhaps Google’s genius somehow knew that picture was a duplicate of mine, and wanted to drop a hint to me?).  Either way, it was a pleasant experience and I just wanted to share…

For the record, the search results for Google seem to have been reindexed and my little swarmy isn’t anywhere to be seen on the first few pages (he might’ve been bumped down, or removed entirely); you can see the search results here.  Oh well, I guess that’s my 15 minutes of fame, eh?

10 comments on “How My Models Came to be Warhammer 40K Munitorum Battlefield Objectives

  1. You should ping him. “Hey! I did that Xth Swarmlord there; I’m glad you liked him! I’ve got pictures of the rest of my Hive Fleet, if you’re interested. They’re here: [link].”

    • Yeah, that’s what I did. He hasn’t responded yet. I think this is good advice.

      By the way, I checked out your post on the Mantic kickstarter project this past weekend. I’m interested in those Trolls–have you seen any more pics of them?

      • No, all they have so far are the two concept sketches. I suppose that’s something we should be thankful for: that’s one more than any other new model, and two more than some of the new models. 🙂

        It’s clear they were wildly more successful than they expected to be.

      • That’s good news though. I’m slowly building an O&G army (despite refusing to play that infernal game), but I can’t justify GW’s price for trolls. Despite searching, I can’t find a suitable replacement, so I have high hopes for these guys.

        Did you wind up joining the kickstarter campaign at one of those crazy levels? Are we to see a rushputin model in the future?!?

      • God, no. I overcommitted to it, but only to the tune of $350 (so an Orc army, a Goblin army, and a couple of Buy One Get One Frees choices).

        I’d love to have a mini in my likeness sculpted, but it’d probably be more cost-effective to just sculpt a beer gut onto a Greatsword.

        You should definitely consider checking out WHFB: it’s basically all I’ve been playing for the past year or so. It’s more fun than it’s ever been, IMO.

    • I played WHFB back in 4th edition and these were my beefs:

      1) Then it was far more herocentric, they destroyed almost everything they came in contact with (especially true if they were on a monster). I know this has changed, but I’m sure some part of me still holds this against it.

      2) It requires large blocks of models that essentially act as a single large model. Effectively, an average force has only 10 large models (units) in it, but to play, I have to field 100s of guys (more so than I would in the average 40k game).

      3) The investment isn’t compatible with what I already have. Aside from templates, dice, and a few models, I’d have to essentially repurchase everything. It also requires more time (or at least competes for the limited resource) for both gaming and painting. And, I believe there are fewer players in my local area. Btw, these reasons extend to all other tabletop games in my life.

      I figure I might cave one day, and so I’ve ammassed a slew of goblins when they were cheap (bfsp). Though that time may come, it’s not today…

      P.s. I laughed at the greats word with a gut. For me, I’d just use a halfling…

  2. That’s really cool!

    You should also log in to Dakka (becoming a member if necessary – I don’t know how it works) so that you can comment on the picture, thanking the appreciative voters… And linking to your blog.

    • Oh, don’t get me wrong, painting is the devil. By and large, it’s something I did in a previous life.

      Not that purchasing hoardes of models is particularly time consuming, mind you…

Have something to add?

