Hordes of Tyranids

Raek

Way back in January, I had done up a post on using models as substitutes for Tyranid models, called Counts as Tyranids.  In particular, I had been toying with the idea of using some of the models from HORDES (by Privateer Press) as Tyranids in my new army.

Well, I went ahead and purchased those models, and finally got around to putting some of them together.  The two I’m talking about today are the Raek & the Teraph (both from the Legion of Everblight).   My original intent was to use the Raek as a Lictor, and I hadnt’ decided what to make the Teraph.  After seeing them assembled and in size comparison to existing GW models, I’m not sure they’ll really fit the theme.

Teraph

I had expected them to be a bit taller, but ultimately, they do fit in the right ballpark for Tyranid sizes.  Though now that I see them assembled, I’m really getting the feeling that the Teraph would make a suitable stand-in for a Tyrant Guard (with lash whip–represented by the tail).  Granted it isn’t as well armored, but it does have the same sort of submissive demeanor as the official model, and is roughly the same size.  It also lacks eyes, like the GW version.  And the most pronounced feature is undoubtedly the tail.  In a pinch, I suspect they’d make reasonable venomthropes as well.

The Raek could also be used as a squat-ish lictor (as in a short one, not one that is of dwarven heritage doomed to be extinct in 40,000 years).  Or it too could pass for a venomthrope, given that wicked looking maw…

So, if you’re wondering how big these beasties are, see below for a size comparison with an existing Tyrant Guard model.  You’ll note that the Teraph is practically identical in size, and the Raek is a tad shorter (and more dog-like).  Originally, I was expecting these models to be a scant bit taller, but I think they’ll work at this size.  As models, they’re roughly akin to GW for assembly purpose, although Privateer Press seems to do a better job of giving you nobs and holes to connect joints with (though I still advise pinning them, just to be safe).  My only complaint between these two models is that the Teraph’s left front leg is hard to put into place–well, that and he looks like he’s doing the Thriller dance…

In hindsight, I’m pleased with my purchase, though I ultimately didn’t save any money (one of my original justifications for buying them over GW equivalents).  I do like their look better than the GW models though, so I’m still happy.  I did go ahead and buy the other two models (The Angelius & the Carnivean) as well, so expect another post on those shortly–once I get them properly assembled…

3 comments on “Hordes of Tyranids

  1. each model comes with a card, that card has a “PC” probably near the bottom as well as all of the rules for the unit. That’s the point cost, an average game is 35 points (think 1500 40k), plus you need a Warlock which is free and provides a few bonus points to spend on beasts depending on which warlock you choose.

    There is no Force chart, though many units are limited in the number you can bring. Long story short, you just need a warlock and you can play. Hordes/Warmachine are compatible with each other, they just have a few major differences in the way the armies operate.

Have something to add?

