Genestealer Daemonettes?

When working on stretching out dollars spent on genestealer cult figures, I managed to take twenty purchased Metamorphs and stretch them into fifty total models through the use of some creative green stuff and bits purchases.   This lead to resource scarcity issues with bits like autopistols (sure, each box of purchased metamorphs had a full ten pistol arms, but half of those had flamers attached to them–and I honestly don’t see myself purchasing that upgrade very often), but the real problem is with the metamorph claws, as each box only has one inside it.

claws2Normally that equates to 20% of your models having claws, but when you stretch each box from 5 models to 12.5 models, that makes it more like 8% of the models come with claws.  Sure, green-stuffing had proved relatively efficient to date, but I don’t want to keep up the assembly line–nor do I think it would look right to have every model in the army have the same right hand.

I learned that mistake from the days of 2nd edition where every Blood Angels Death Company Marine or Eldar Harlequin had the same powerfist/chainsword combination (though I seem to recall that Death Company couldn’t parry, so I believe they were powerfist + bolt pistol).  It doesn’t leave a very pretty looking force.

So, I needed to come up with a way to count them as having claws.  One possibility was to just say that they have claws.  My friends are easy going enough, that I don’t think I’ve have much issue going that route.  I could just say “hey, all of these guys count as having claws,” and I don’t think anyone would mind–especially if I did so consistently.  The problem is that I was raised in a WYSIWYG household and firmly believe that you should model your figures correctly.  I know that I’ve faced off opponents who were proxying weapons and played poorly because I judged them to have a multi-melta when it was really a lascannon (or things of that nature).

So, I had to come up with a way to include claws on the figures, but I didn’t want to spend a ton of money or leave them all with the defacto claw.

That’s when I stumbled upon another local gamer using Daemonette claws on his cultists.  He purchased some bits, chopped them off and glued them to the arms of the Metamorphs.  Frankly, they didn’t look half bad.  So I found some arms (plastic, of course), at bitzbox.com and ordered two sets.

cultclawsWhen they came in, they were smaller than I had expected them to be.  I was originally hoping to be able to use just the claws, but it turned out that I had to use the entire arm in most instances.  Daemonettes, it seems, are considerably smaller than metamorphs, so their entire arm is roughly equivalent to the forearm of a cultist.  The claws are almost universally smaller than the proper GW provided bit (the exception being for those that come on the Daemon champions), and when they get installed, they basically have to be glued in on weird angles (due to the inclusion of the forearm), but the end result isn’t too bad.

In most cases, the bands on the daemon biceps lined up with the bandages on the wrists of the cultists, so I don’t think they look too out of place.  They’re not as massive as the other claws, so it’s not as obvious, but what is obvious is that I went out of my way to convert them–with GW parts no less.  So, that should allay any of the issues my opponents may have with facing my figures on the table.

The sad part is, now that these guys are all assembled, I have no more procrastinating left to do–the only thing left now is to paint them.

Anyone want to paint my figures for me? ….. Anyone?

Please?

5 comments on “Genestealer Daemonettes?

  1. Pity, I’m in the middle of someone’s skaven army… Hee hee, don’t worry, you’ll live, I’m sure.

    The daemonette claws are reminiscent of the really old Iron Maiden-esque Tyranid art, the overabundance of spikes and facets should look great!

    • I never really thought about it, but you bring up a good point. All of the extra spikes and bits make it look vaguely reminiscent of some of John Blanche’s washed out water-color art. Nice catch!

      On Wed, Feb 22, 2017 at 7:12 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • It’s just a matter of sitting down and hammering them out. Though you wouldn’t know it from my blog, I’ve actually done fairly well in hobby progress so far this year. In the first two months, I finished all of my acolytes and my metamorphs–for a total of about 80 models. I really just have the characters, heavy weapons, and the abherants left.

      On Thu, Feb 23, 2017 at 1:04 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

