return-to-ravnica-spoiler

Return to Ravnica – Draft Night

We’ve started making MTG draft nights a semi-regular thing in the gaming group.  Though we all enjoy it and frankly want to play it more often, we limit ourselves to about 3-4 times per year so that we don’t wear out our welcome.  Our most recent event happened this past weekened, where we played Return to Ravnica draft.  This marks our third draft since April of last year, but I didn’t bother writing up a blog post about the second one for some reason (likely because it was Conspiracy, so we had no real brackets or winners/losers due to it being multiplayer).

Attendees:

We’ve set a precident that we’re going to keep inviting those people that show up.  Sadly, Aaron wasn’t able to attend last time and we filled his spot with “Sambro,” so when we were looking for our eigth this time, we gave Sambro first dibs.  It was a little sensitive, because Aaron had a valid reason for not attending, but it made sense to invite those that do come.  I’m sure we’ll work Aaron back into the lineup again.  Otherwise, it was the same people in the first draft: Rob, Brandon, Sean, Derek, Joe, Albert, Icky, & Sam.

Food:

For food, we wound up having an extended meat and cheese tray.  I picked up six kinds of cheeses and two kinds of meats, plus crackers and pretzel crisps, plus chicken salad and a veggie tray.  Brandon was goodly enough to furnish some beverages.  It was a deviation from the normal “dinner” style with lighter fair, but I think it was a nice change.

Games:

Like last time, we wound up deciding the pertinent information (who, what, when, where, etc.) via Survey Monkey.  The group is super laid back though, so it fell into place quite easily.  We played a copy of Return to Ravnica because I had a box on hand, and it got the most votes from the group (winning handily with a whopping 2 votes).

My Deck:

rtr_boosterboxSadly, I mashed all of the cards together before I could get a list for this blog post.

Like last time, I did a bunch of pre-drafting and I’m not sure how much it helped.  Initially, I was convinced that U/W was going to be the strongest color because of how many flyers it had.  Then, I wound up yielding to G/W because green seemed to have so much good hate against flyers.  But my green decks all seemed slow, so I figured that R/B was going to be the winner.

Throughout the drafts, I really liked drafting propogate decks, but knew that I had to get the right centaurs to make it work.  So, when the cards came around, I committed to drafting Centaur’s Herald and Call of the Conclave whenever they showed.  In total, I got one of the Herald and saw two Conclaves, but only drafted one.  I also snuck a couple of Stab Wounds out because I had heard they were format defining, and was passed two Underworld Connections, so felt obliged to pick them (I think I picked the foil one over the second Call of the Conclave).

My packs weren’t amazing, in my opinion.  Prior to the draft, I had decided that I was going to draft for a winning deck, and not for value, but my first and third packs had shocklands, and I wound up taking them over the other stuff.  It helped that I didn’t see anything in either pack that was overly compelling.

I didn’t see a single mythic, which only means I should’ve sat next to Brandon–who managed to pass two mythics: Sphinx’s Revelation, & Isperia, Supreme Judge because he didn’t want to play W/U.  That shocked me (especially considering the revelation was in his first pack), but he beat me, and nearly won the night–so I’m not sure how bad of a play that really turned out to be.

In the end, I wound up making a three color deck who walled up at the start and would grind it’s opponents down with stab wounds or under the weight of populating creatures.

The Aftermath:

I did alright over the course of the night, with my only losses coming to Brandon’s B/R deck–he fell to the losers bracket after being beaten by Icky’s U/W control, where he beat me a second time, then clawed his way back up to win against Icky and force a final match, which he lost 1-2.  It seems that the two decks that I initially thought would be best were ultimately the ones that won.

Final standings looked something like this:

  1. return-to-ravnica-spoilerIcky
  2. Brandon
  3. Rob
  4. Joe
  5. Sean
  6. Sam
  7. Derek
  8. Albert

We’re going to try to keep track of this info, so we can use it for seeding information in the future.

Links:

I just thought I’d end it with the links I found helpful in preparing for the draft.

Image Credit: RTR Box art copyright Wizards of the Coast

2 comments on “Return to Ravnica – Draft Night

  1. Good stuff! I also enjoy MTG and it’s nice to sprinkle it in whenever possible. Can’t believe Brandon passed that Revelation. 😎

    • Yeah, that’s about the best card available in the draft. And to follow it up with another white/blue mythic? Clearly some cosmic power was trying to direct him into that color…

      On Wed, Jan 18, 2017 at 5:44 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

