goals

These are NOT New Years Resolutions for 2017

I don’t really make New Year’s Resolutions.  In fact, if you search the blog, you’ll find that the last time I did so was back in 2011.

wh39k-WallofMartyrs (1)The problem is that such resolutions don’t really pan out.  In fact, of the 11 goals I set back in 2011, I’ve actually accomplished very few of them–and that’s been in six years!  I’ve created army specific pages (though never bothered to flesh them out or take pictures of everything), created some crappy banners, and painted a good number of models (including all of my buildings).  You could argue that I’ve had more than 104 posts since then, but never in one year.

All-in-all, if I give myself some fudge-factor and six years, I can say I’ve completed five out of the eleven goals.

So that’s why I don’t make resolutions like this anymore.   I tend to also have personal goals to do with exercise, knowledge, parenting, etc.  and professional goals of education, certification, etc.–none of which I capture on my personal blog.  Some examples of things that I want to achieve in those realms this year are to walk 5,000,000 steps on my fitbit, learn Spanish, and get my Microsoft 2012 certification.

On a hobby front?  Well, that’s another story.  I will stop short of calling these “resolutions,” as that seems to drastically decrease the likelihood of me accomplishing them, but I would like to knock out the following this year:

  1. Keep on track for $0 net spending this year.  Last year I went a little haywire, but hopefully I can right the ship.
  2. Paint all of my Genestealer cult.  This seems totally doable, since I don’t have all that many more models left to paint… maybe 50ish?
  3. Paint my Tyranid Bastion.  People have clamoured to see it finished, and I want to, so why not?
  4. Paint all of my fortifications.  This is the lofty one–and the one most likely to fail.  I have a significant Wall of Martyrs, a Skyshield, an Aquilla Stronpoint, a couple of Firestorm Redoubts, Plasma Obliterator, and another Bastion.  And that’s just what I can think of off the top of my head.  It would be nice to knock it all out though..

I won’t set goals for how many blog posts I’ll knock out, or other hobby goals–aside from my typical 12 games per year (dare I try to get in that illustrious 13th game?).  All should be achievable…

But keep in mind, they’re NOT resolutions–merely goals.

 

4 comments on “These are NOT New Years Resolutions for 2017

  1. Your know I make things awkward by setting my goals on my arbitrary Hobby Season starting date of 28th August specifically because I don’t do resolutions.

    Even back in the day the only ‘new year’ thing I did was set out jobs I would do in the house – painting a room, fixing this or that. For the past few years I’ve not set out any of these plans but this year I’ve a whole lot of painting (domestic) that needs doing so let’s hope the weather holds.

    Good luck with your own ‘not resolutions’.

    • I always wondered why you do that. I figured you must use some sort of weird Celtic calendar based upon stone henge or something. I didn’t want to point out your druidic religion though and opted to keep it to myself.

Have something to add?

