Genestealer Cult Acolytes – Work in Progress

wh39kacolytewip-1I’ve been razzed in the recent past about not having enough Work in Progress posts, so I figured I’d start out the new year with one of those.  That way, even if I don’t do another for the rest of the year, I can at least point at this post when the nay-sayers say I haven’t posted any WIP content so far this year.

I kid, of course.  The comments about WIP posts come from the discussion in my year in review from last year.  In those comments, Thor (of Creativetwilight fame) and Daggerandbrush both suggested that I should include more WIP posts in general, so why not?

This year’s hobby progress starts off with some more of my Genestealer Cult.  In the past I had painted some neophytes, whereas this post is on the acolytes.  I haven’t gotten around to assembling the boxes I had purchased last year of these guys, and am still only painting the contents of the Deathwatch: Overkill boxed sets I picked up.

wh39kacolytewip-2The paint scheme is much the same as I had done before, but this time I opted to vary the coloring of the garments so that I could easily identify squads on the table top.  In the end, I’m not overly happy with the scheme as it’s certainly not as a tight as it was in the past, but it should make it quite easy to differentiate between these guys on the tabletop.  In the end, that’s a bit of a wash.  Part of me wants to go back and paint them similar so they look more cohesive, but the more realistic part of me knows that I have far too many units to paint to justify repainting freshly painted models.

These guys aren’t done though, so repainting might not be the right word.  It wouldn’t be a total repaint, but we’re still talking about painting several layers over on 30-35 models and that just doesn’t sound like fun.

With any luck, I’ll have these guys done shortly and can move onto the heavy weapons and characters.  Then, one day I may actually be able to field these guys…

7 comments on “Genestealer Cult Acolytes – Work in Progress

      • Yeah? I always figured you had a bunch of painted armies. Crons and harlequins at least, right? I recall you selling painted armies (skaven at least), which is blasphemous from my point of view.

        On Fri, Jan 6, 2017 at 10:57 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

Have something to add?

