2016: A Hobby Year in Review

I’ve started a bit of a tradition with doing recap posts, so I figured why buck a good thing.  I’ll use the format created in my 2015 year in review and just update it with the new information.

Frugal Gaming

I’m going to break this into it’s own post because it’s a lot of information.  More to come on this soon.  Suffice it to say that this will be ugly for this year.  I’ve honestly made very little attempt to keep spending in check this year… and I even went out of my way to spend an absurd amount of money on things I know I shouldn’t.

I’m a slow learner.

Games Played

As always, my goal is to get in 12 games per year.  Yeah, it’s a fairly pitiful goal, but it’s something I’ve managed to keep on track with year over year for quite a while now.  It’s a low bar, but any less and I seriously have to question why I spend so much money in this infernal hobby (not that 12 is a good justification for the amount of cash I dump into it, but at least it keeps me off the streets, right?).

  1. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/02/15/batrep-apocalypse-winter-2016-edition/
  2. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/batrep-word-bearers-vs-black-legion-1650pts/
  3. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/04/04/batrep-black-legion-vs-ultramarines-600-pts/
  4. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/05/11/batrep-orks-vs-tyranids-1584-pts/
  5. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/batrep-imperial-fists-vs-hive-fleet-proteus-1349-pts/
  6. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/06/15/playing-warmachine/
  7. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/08/31/batrep-ultramarines-vs-death-guard-1850-pts/
  8. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/09/12/batrep-salamanders-vs-hive-fleet-proteus-1845-pts/
  9. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/apoc-2016-the-battle/
  10. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/09/26/batrep-imperial-knights-vs-ultramarines-1799-pts/
  11. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/12/07/batrep-genestealers-cult-vs-space-wolves-1850-pts/
  12. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/12/12/batrep-ultramarines-vs-black-legion-1500-points/
  13. https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2016/12/21/batrep-hive-fleet-proteus-vs-salamanders-2159-pts

Hobby Progress

Like last year, I’ll break hobby progress into the painting and modelling subsections.

Painting

In hindsight, I’d have to say this is easily my most prolific year to date.  The models I finishing painting this year include:

On it’s own, that list isn’t overly impressive, though I would argue that it’s respectable in it’s own right; however, where my painting really stood out was in the vast number of Zombicide models that I whipped out this year.  I managed to crank out every figure that I own (well, except those damn helpers, which I think are still unpainted).  That includes: 

The links are often to WIP posts because I didn’t do individual sections for completed zombies (especially after dipping and blood effects), and the numbers are somewhat approximate as I tried to count how many were in each photo (why can’t I find a good resource online that specifies exactly how many of each type are in each box?).  And the level of quality on a drybrushed zombie isn’t up to par with a standard model for 40k (though the characters certainly are).

In total though, that’s about three-hundred and eighty (380) painted models for Zombicide alone!  If the first lot of 40k stuff wasn’t respectable enough, this surely puts me over the top.

Modeling

If painting was above normal, I’d say my modeling progress this year was relatively slow.  I didn’t do all that many posts on the subject, and many of them were parts of minor series.  The stuff I worked on included:

There was more to modelling than I posted on.  For instance, all of my genestealer cult got cleaned up (thanks in no small part to Brandon), and I also wound up assembling some other models–but I don’t always post my modelling progress online.  Especially if it’s something boring like “put together a stock model without any frills.”

Not a huge success, but I’m not displeased with the progress either.

Blog Progress

wh39kCakeTo date for 2016, I’ve written a total of 88 blog posts this year (including this one).  Granted, that’s a bit short of the “two per week” that I try to do, but there are always reasons why I can’t live up to that goal.  Of course, the point of goals is to try to make them, but rather than look down upon myself for not hitting it, I’m going to focus on the positive.  Last year, I was only able to do 81 posts, so that’s about a 10% improvement year over year, which ain’t bad if I do say so myself.

I only managed a single post in the category of “website administration,” which was for Old Stuff Day (which I’m not sure is technically website administration, but it doesn’t seem to fit into other categories either.  All in all, this was a quiet category this year.

Summary

With the exception of my frugal gaming progress (which has been basically excluded from this post entirely), I’m going to mark this year down as a rousing success.  I did better than last year in most of the categories, and set a new bar to meet in 2018.  Let’s hope I can get in that 13th game!!

 

 

6 comments on “2016: A Hobby Year in Review

  1. You got WAY more stuff painted than I did. Seriously, 380 models is impressive regardless of the standard they were painted to.

    Having 88 articles for a single author blog isn’t bad at all. As you noted, you don’t always show your WIP/modeling stuff; I would. Who cares if it’s not converted? Most people in the hobby aren’t converting their stuff either. Sometimes it’s just fun to look at great models. I post that stuff just to keep myself motivated.

    • Sorry for the radio silence–Holidays took my focus away, but I’m back now.

      I dare say 380 is far more than I’ve ever painted in a year before, so I am proud–despite the quality standard. Sadly, they don’t see the table all that much, and I suspect my time would’ve been better spent working on 40k models. Of course, they probably wouldn’t have held my interest nearly as well. Having something new to paint really helped keep me motivated.

      As for WIP posts–I tend to avoid it for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the point of the blog is for my historical progress and I measure that in painted figures. I guess showing progress towards them doesn’t hurt though. Secondly, I have limited time that I put towards the hobby, and time spent blogging is time that I’m not painting, playing, or modelling. Maybe I’ll start including more WIP posts when progress gets slow though.

      Thanks for the words of encouragement.

      On Mon, Dec 26, 2016 at 5:45 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. That is a crap ton of zombies! That looks like a very successful year of hobby, and blogging too. 380 models, 13 games, and 88 posts, congrats!
    I too am looking forward to seeing your bastion painted!

    • Yeah, I better get to work on that Bastion again. My plan for now is to finish up the cult and then go back and work on that.

      On Sat, Dec 31, 2016 at 5:17 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

