Dreadtober – Blocking in the Colors

wh39kcontemptorwip-1Well, it’s Dreadtober, so I figured I really should be working on a dreadnought (despite the fact that I really want to be working on my Genestealer cult).  My plan was to actually do a little bit of work on my dread and a little bit on my cult and that way I could alternate posts between them; however, because of the way Joe is releasing updates on the weekend, I figured it would be prudent to get ahead of the game.

What I mean by that is that his posts go live on the weekend, and I was planning on posting my updates on Mondays.  What that means is that when his post goes live, my post hasn’t, so any link I give him just doesn’t work until Monday.  While the point of this blog isn’t exactly to drive traffic (more so to inspire me to make progress and give me a yard stick that I can measure by over the years), it doesn’t hurt to have other people interested.  After all, when people come by and post feedback, it does help to keep me inspired (by the way, thanks to everyone who does read this blog and comment from time to time).

wh39kcontemptorwip-4Anywho, if he posts on the weekend and people click the link, they won’t actually come to my blog page–so I might as well do two posts this week and get ahead of the game.

I’m not exactly following the weekly breakdown, but I’m coming relatively close.  The first week was supposed to be about assembly; the second is about blocking in colors.  Luckily, that’s as far as I got when I started snapping pictures, so I guess I’m on par for the course.  The following week is supposed to be about working on the base (which I don’t plan to do at all–at least until I work up the gumption to base the rest of the backlog that has been piling up).  And the final week?  I’m supposed to finish painting.

I figure after blocking in the color this week, I’ll probably be finished with the model so I can show the “completed” figure (sans base) next week, and possibly end the month on some extra magnetized weapons.

wh39kcontemptorwip-5As for the color blocking, it’s not perfect, but you’ll get the idea of where things are supposed to go.  Anything that is deep red will be red, and anything that is orange will be yellow (this might seem weird, but I build up my yellows starting from Blood Angels Red, then Bad Moon Yellow, then an Orange Wash, More Bad Moon, and then topped with Sunburst).

Yes, I know those are older colors that aren’t made any more, and honestly I don’t have half of those pots these days, but I’m using the equivalents from Vallejo.  On occasion, I take it one final highlight mixed with yellow, but I’ve pretty much stopped doing that.  If you want to see what the output looks like, you can check out my Imperial Bastion or Aegis Defense Line.  I tend to get a lot of flak for going that bright, so I’m toning it down a bit.

Well, that’ll do it for this week.  Like I said, next week I expect to have this guy completed, and then it’s on to my cult!

 

7 comments on “Dreadtober – Blocking in the Colors

  1. He’s starting to look very tasty indeed, the twin cannons can threaten most conventional things and to see the ‘old school’ ultras colour scheme takes me back to nostalgic days of eldar with lasguns and cardboard scenery pieces!

    • Thanks. I’ve never fielded one of these guys before, and I’m not sure I’ve ever even played against one (the only one I can recall is Bray’arth), so I’m not sure how they fair. When I bought him, I opted to get a powerfist/melta option and this one because it seemed like “the thing to do” according to the internet.

      I don’t even know what the stats of the guns are. >.<

      On Wed, Oct 12, 2016 at 6:53 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. You’ve definitely picked the winning loadout, my Night Lords Mortis has been MVP numerous times of late. Are you going non-metallic metals for the paint job? He’s looking good bud.

    • Thanks. As for NMM, that’s not my goal. I’ve never thought that I could pull it off, but given the way that I paint my yellows, I guess that it’s not fundamentally that much different. Really, I’m just trying to give the yellow some depth, but in hindsight, I guess it does look a little like NMM.

      On Wed, Oct 12, 2016 at 12:34 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  3. He’s looking really cool. As much as I’d like to take part, and a lot of my recent efforts have been based on schedules the very thought of painting a Dread to those specific criteria literally fills me with dread. Maybe next year I could do a Carnifex, I fancy a Stonecrusher one?

    • To me, painting something other than a dreadnought seems like cheating; however there are a number of people participating this year that are doing “equivalent” models. Sure, most people are working on dreadnoughts (and most of those seem to be Contemptors), but there are a few doing Imperial Knights, and there’s even one or two that are doing Tyranid Monstrous Creatures (there’s a Dimarechon for sure–I’m not 100% certain that I’ve seen a second Tyranid painter).

      In retrospect, Dreadtober should be about inspiring people to get off their duff and paint. Many armies (including Tyranids) do not have “dreadnoughts” to paint, so why shouldn’t they participate by painting similar models? After all, they’re still getting out and painting…

      On Thu, Oct 13, 2016 at 12:44 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  4. I like the colors, those yellows are really nice. Starting from orange might seem a bit extreme, but the end result looks fantastic. Also, sorry for throwing a kink in your posting schedule 🙂

Have something to add?

