Rusted Containers

W39kRustedContainers (1)I haven’t had a blog post go live for a little while now; which is sort of ironic because it’s not for a lack of content.  Behind the scenes, I’ve had a glut of posts queuing up to be written.  It’s not so much that I haven’t had hobby progress, but rather that I haven’t made the time to blog about them.  I’d say that there are close to a dozen posts left to write about, so I figured I’d better get started.

Much of the queue involves prep work that I’d done in anticipation of an upcoming Apocalypse game, or of the game itself.  That has come and gone though, so it leaves me wondering if I should write about the game while it’s still fresh in my mind, or work on the posts in the order that I actually did the work.  It may be the wrong decision, but I’m leaning towards the latter.

W39kRustedContainers (2)One good reason for that is because I last left the blog off when I was in the middle of working on my Armored Containers.  At the last post I had salted them up and they were awaiting paint.

Of course, that’s practically speaking the next step, but my mind never works that way.  Instead, I generally agonize about what color to paint something and then decide that I probably don’t have the right equipment or paint to buy it, and wind up delaying the project for a few weeks while I procure them.  In this instance, I didn’t go that route.  Sure, I injected some hesitant delay into the equation, but I eventually wound up just using some paint that I had laying around.

W39kRustedContainers (3)The scheme I went with on the containers was essentially the same one from the box: gray containers with blue stripes.  I didn’t want to go as varied as the box cover shows (ie. some green, some red and some gray) because that would involve considerably more effort and more changing out of airbrush paints.  I also wanted to have a scheme that was subdued–going by the theory that terrain should look good, but should blend more into the background than be a focal point during a game.  Lastly, since the models can be purchased as a fortification during a normal game, I wanted to have a color that would look appropriate when matched up with my Ultramarines.

With all that in mind, I went ahead and painted them to match the box cover.  I didn’t want to do them all the same though, so I only painted two with stripes, and I also went ahead and painted one altogether blue.  In the end, that left me with three grays, one blue, and two with stripes.  W39kRustedContainers (4)I like that I have the ability to potentially buy a set of them as fortifications (presumably the blue ones) and then use the other in the same game as general scatter terrain.  Granted, I don’t know how often something like this will actually happen, but it’s nice to have options.

I don’t think I was intentionally trying to duplicate the boxed art for the color scheme, rather I wanted a color that I could spray with the airbrush and also paint by hand.  W39kRustedContainers (5)I’m sure any airbrush paint would work, given enough coats (or presumably there’s some sort of thickener to allow it to be painted on by hand), but I settled on gray in part because I already had a rattle can of primer and a matching paint pot thanks to the bases for my Zombicide models earlier this year.

A friend of mine expressed concern that I was going to use gray.  Specifically he was worried that I was going through a considerable effort to match the color of sprues of bare plastic.  W39kRustedContainers (6)Honestly, it wasn’t something I’d considered when I chose the color, but I wasn’t too worried about it, because I knew that I was going to weather them fairly extensively.

Aside from that, I simply applied the rust effect as I’ve detailed in earlier posts (though it’s worth noting that scraping off the blue paint from the airbrush was super easy, while the gray primer was far more tricky), and then even busted out a few old decals to decorate the side.  I don’t often use decals on my models because I don’t like the look of the faint lines, but I figured this was terrain so it didn’t matter as much, plus it would be heavily weathered, and lastly, it had been a while since I’d used decals, so maybe things had changed over the years?

At this point, even after painting over the edges of the decals, you could tell they were there, but I had hoped that after more weathering, that wouldn’t be the case.  I’ll save that for another post though…

 

3 comments on “Rusted Containers

  1. Nice, I like how they are fairly simple with the grey and blue, but the rust hits them off nicely. I found with the decals it makes a big difference if you gloss coat, apply the decals with Micro Set, and then matte coat they come as close to disappearing as you could wish. I typically don’t mind the extra layers as I usually spray a few coats of clear anyway. Looking forward to the weathering on them.

    • I had heard something like that about decals in the past. I really should’ve looked up some tutorials before trying them again, but frankly didn’t think of it. Thanks for the tips–I’ll give that a try next time.

      On Wed, Jul 27, 2016 at 12:00 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. The rust looks great. You can always do some oil or enamel streaks on the grey ones if you want to break it up some more.

Have something to add?

