Windshield Repair & Pimping My Ride

Wh39kFlyerUpdate (1)I’m not the fastest mover when it comes to hobby progress.  Yes, that’s an understatement, but I like to think that I fairly consistently make progress on things–even if it’s at a snail’s pace.

I would like to be done painting my flyers, but something always comes up.  This last time, what came up is that I just happened to read my own blog.

In my recent post about cleaning up my flyers, I spoke about how I put various pieces of brass etch on them and cleaned up some issues with them; however, the cover image for that post shows the canopy covering the windshield is clearly broken.  I have no idea how I missed that so many times while cleaning up the models, taking pictures, etc., but clearly I did.

Wh39kFlyerUpdate (3)So, I wound up going back to clean that up.  It wasn’t a big repair: I just molded up a wad of green stuff in the spot and pushed it into approximately the right size/shape.  After it dried, I went over it again with an X-acto knife and cut it into a uniform shape and scraped it to blend in with the rest of the model.

While I was working on it, I figured I’d replace the front-ramp with some rear rhino doors I had laying around.  You see, I placed an order back in … well, now that I think of it, I can’t rightfully recall when I placed that order.  I know that I was playing with Monty and Moe back then, so it had to be at least fifteen years ago.  Egads, I’m old.  Anywho, back then, we all pooled up and placed a forgeworld order.  I ordered enough rhino upgrades to basically kit out an entire company.  Flash forward a decade or more later and I’ve obviously not used them all (nor do I think I ever will), so I might as well throw a little more bling on these things, right?

Wh39kFlyerUpdate (2)The down side is that I had to glue them shut because I just couldn’t get them installed without breaking it all apart, or doing some terribly weird drilling/green stuff work.  I wasn’t ever planning on painting the insides though, so no harm done.

When I glued them in though, one of them wound up being recessed a little more than I wanted.  This is because there was no pin on the bottom to stop the resin from falling back into the hull.  The end result is that it’s ever so slightly at a different angle than the surrounding chassis.  I suppose I could fix it, but it could prove difficult to get to, given it’s position.  I might be able to poke at it from the rear with a rod and hope that it comes out cleanly, but since it’s relatively minor and I don’t want to break it, I think I’ll just leave it as is.

So, maybe now I can finally get to painting these things, eh?

Have something to add?

