Cleaning Overkill

I don’t exactly move quickly when it comes to hobby progress, as I’m sure any frequenter of the blog can surmise.  There are a variety of factors that contribute to this:

  1. wh39kCleaningOverkill (1)I don’t spend all that much time working on hobby progress
  2. I’m not particularly fast at anything hobby related
  3. I don’t like to focus on one particular task, so I tend to job around from project to project

All of those factors are at least partly to blame, but I think the last part is particularly poignant at the moment.  I feel like I’m spending a reasonable amount of time on my hobby as of late, but instead of working on one thing to completion, I find myself juggling multiple projects.  Sometimes I’m doing that for efficiency reasons (for instance, when I’m priming something or when the battery dies in the drill, I might focus on another task to use my time effectively), but other times, I just look at a task and avoid it altogether (reference: the Imperial Knight that sits on my shelf and never gets any love).

At this particular time, I find myself working on at least the following projects:

  1. wh39kCleaningOverkill (2)Working on my Tyranid Bastion
  2. Preparing my Imperial flyers for paint
  3. Preparing the rest of my Imperial tanks for paint (I haven’t even done up a blog post on this)
  4. Painting up my unit of deathwatch marines that have been halfway finished for ages (again, no blog post on these, but I did actually dust them off and put them on the workbench just last night)
  5. Thinking about painting all of my fortifications…
  6. Assembling the models from Deathwatch Overkill

The latter just so happens to be the subject of this particular blog post.  Well, not actually.  Technically, I didn’t have to assemble the models because my friend Brandon did that portion for me.  The guy is fairly machinistic (sic) when it comes to assembling models.

wh39kCleaningOverkill (4)Yes, I know that “Machnistic” isn’t a word, but it seemed like a great blend of “like a machine” and “Masochistic,” so I’m leaving it there.  Maybe the editors of the O.E.D. will stop by this blog one day and learn a thing or two.

So yeah, he wound up assembling all of the figures in the box.  He was over one evening and we had nothing to do, so I jokingly suggested that we assemble models and he agreed.  We managed to crank out exactly one complete model (the Patriarch) before his wife cried no joy and they went home, but he wound up taking them with him and doing it at home.  Apparently he get some sort of perverted pleasure from assembling figures.

Where was he when I was putting together my Tyranid army all of those years ago…

Later, I’d asked him if I could pay him to assemble the two other boxes of bugs I’d picked up from the game, and after several passing conversations he agreed to do so, but we never worked up any sort of official payment.  I believe he ultimately suggested that he’d do it as long as I’d paint them one day (though he’s actively encouraged me to work on the flyers instead–for now), and that if I insisted on paying him, that I surely have a landspeeder or attack bike laying around he could have.

wh39kCleaningOverkill (3)He’s probably right.  I’m pretty sure I have an attack bike–not so sure on the speeder, but I definitely wouldn’t put it past me…

So he wound up cleaning basically between 2-3 sets of the boxed game for me (depending upon how you weight the tyranids vs. the marines).  When he returned them, there were still a good deal of mold lines on them, so I wound up spending an evening or two cleaning those off.  I should say that he did a lot of work cleaning that sort of flash off them, and most of it was relegated to their underarms and the like, but I’ve learned that mold lines aren’t something that can be removed later, so you might as well do it right the first time.

After being “finished” painting my tyranids on more than one occasion, it’s kind of intimdating to see this many models in one place that need painting.  If I’m going to be completely honest, I thought about breaking my rule about playing with unpainted models because I just don’t know how long it will take to finish these guys.

But instead, I should just buckle down and work on them.  Ho hum… woe is me… and all that jazz…

 

7 comments on “Cleaning Overkill

  1. I’m a terrible procrastinator. I have a BlackHawk helicopter/Imperial Valkyrie project I started working on 4 years ago that I have about 80% done. I was making it for my brother, who has since sold off his 40k stuff.

    And I’ve had my Marines for over 25 years. And have never finished painting them. Everytime I get close, I realize I know new things that would make then look better. So I strip them and start over.

    I’m with you.

    • Your level of procrastination seems about on par with me, but one thing I’ve learned is that I don’t repaint anything. If it has paint on it–it stays that way–until I finish painting everything else. At that point, I can go back and be picky, but there’s no sense in redoing effort when there are completely unpainted models laying around. I mean, poorly painted is better than no paint, right (not that either of us have much in the way of poorly painted models, mind you)?

      On Mon, Jun 6, 2016 at 8:30 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • Anything worth purchasing is worth overpurchasing! At least that seems to be my motto when it comes to 40k…

      On Tue, Jun 7, 2016 at 12:55 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

