Tyranid Bastion Progress – Hatches

Wh39kTBastionHatches (2)I’m not one that generally does a lot of WIP posts on a given topic.  That’s because I often will get caught up in whatever I’m doing and forget to take pictures.

Blogging isn’t a huge priority for me–it’s just something I do to track my progress, so having a multi-stage work in progress set of posts isn’t exactly my forte.  Of course, when dealing with green stuff, you have delays forced upon you, so I wind up with some downtime between stages.  This is why this particular model has wound up being the subject of more than one post.

I also don’t use tags very much in my blog, but now that I’ve had multiple posts on the subject, I decided to implement one called “Tyranid Fortifications,” so you could see the entire build from start to finish (plus I threw in the one post I had about my Aegis Defense Line into that category as well).

Wh39kTBastionHatches (3)But this particular post isn’t about the tag–it’s supposed to be about hatches.  When I first picked up the base model/toy, I thought that I could probably just paint it and dip it “as is,” and it would suffice, but I opted to take it a step further and customize it a bit.

Well, after cleaning it up and covering it in tentacles, the idea of leaving hatches with metal bits and rings on them seemed out of place.  Originally I figured I’d dismiss it as saying it was an old imperial bastion that had been overtaken by the hivemind, and that’s why you saw remnants of metal fragments; however, the more work I do on the rest of the model, the more it looks out of place. So I decided to try to sculpt some armor plates on them.

Wh39kTBastionHatches (4)To start, I wound up snipping off the various high parts on the hatches (mostly rings, but an occasional rivet or weird growth as well).  When that was done, I started on the green stuff.

I searched online for tutorials, and they all seemed pretty self explanatory, so I didn’t really follow any directly.  One layer at a time, I wound apply the putty and shape it (using some tools I also purchased from Green Stuff Industries–I haven’t done a post on them though, so maybe I’ll get to that before too long).

After I got the putty into the general shape I wanted, I used water to wipe away the fingerprints and then cleaned up the edges with the silicone tools.  Lastly, I wound up putting little notches in the edges of the carapace to make it look worn.

Then I just let it dry and repeated the process for the next two layers.  The end result is unmistakenly a Tyranid carapace, so I count that as a success.

Wh39kTBastionHatches (1)The problem I have is that they look a little too round–too out of place on the bastion now.  The side of the volcano/mountain just suddenly has a nearly perfectly round piece of carapace on it?  It just doesn’t look right to me.

I think I’m going to have to do some more putty work around the hatches after they go on so that they blend in a little better with the rest of the piece.

What do you think?

 

 

7 comments on “Tyranid Bastion Progress – Hatches

  1. I think you’re right – the sculpting on the carapace pieces themselves is lovely, but the problem is they don’t blend that well with the areas immediately surrounding them.

    • Part of me was hoping I was wrong, but I don’t think so. I’m going to try to build up the surrounding area to see if it helps make them blend in a bit.

      On Wed, Jun 1, 2016 at 6:53 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. First, this is coming together very well. Second, those carapace pieces look awesome. However, I do agree that it needs to blend into the structure. I’d just blend out some green stuff from “under” the carapace, so that it looks a bit fleshy molding into the tree.

    • Thanks. That’s effectively what I did (photos to come on this). I didn’t want to hide/disable the hinge, so I didn’t cover the outside, but I think it was a noticeable improvement.

      On Wed, Jun 1, 2016 at 7:27 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

