GWDeathwatchOVerkill

Deathwatch Overkill: Unboxing Nostalgia

GWDeathwatchOVerkillsSince DeathWatch: Overkill was released in March, I’m a little behind the times on my review.  This is largely due to the fact that I just “finished” my posts on painting up my copy of Zombicide (hint: I’m not actually done, but I’m really close–there are just a few odds and ends plus a few helpers that never got painted), but it’s also due in part by the fact that I haven’t been getting much 40k related hobby-time in.  I bought models for Deathwatch (along with a board game) back in March, and even wound up assembling most of one of the figures myself (the rest of my base game was assembled by Brandon, thanks again, kind sir).

I even got to play two games (which amounts to playing the first mission twice), so I have an inkling of information that I can do a review with at some point (of course, I’d like to get an additional game or two under my belt before I attempt that).  So, this post, I just wanted to talk a little about the models.

This won’t be ground-breaking, as they came out several months ago and if you had any sincere interest in the product, I’m sure you’ve seen them elsewhere.

DeathWatchOverkillDieHardIn a word, I think they’re “spectacular.”

The quality of the sculpts is on par with any plastic models GW has ever released.  Unlike the days of classic 2nd edition, the models are dynamicly posed and have a surperb level of detail.  My real excitement, like many others, was in the possibility of the genestealer cult moving back into the realm of 40k.  Back in my days of 2nd edition, I wound up playing virtually all of the armies available (aside from Sisters and Necrons), and the ones that I enjoyed more than any other were the Genestealer cult and the Harlequins.

In hindsight, I wonder if that’s because I was striving to be different, so that drove me to play niche armies?  While that’s a valid possibility, I don’t think that’s the case.  Harlequins were a chance to push my painting skill level with all of their stripes and checkers, but cult was a calling for an entirely different reason.  No, I never got to play with limousines or anything nutty, but I did have the thrill of playing with an army that had some of the best assault units (genestealers), cheapest psykers (hybrids), best tanks (IG) and best fodder (IG) making them all around a crushingly strong force to play.  I suspect my nostalgia is heavily invested in how much I used to win with that army because, let’s face it: winning is fun.

GWDeathwatchOVerkillSo, when GW released the board game (and soon after it, rules for playing them in 40k), I was instantly on board.  I wound up not only picking up the game, but also two additional sets of the cult models.  I was a little dismayed when I learned that the rules that were released aren’t really designed in such a way to allow you to play multiple sets (due to the fact that all of the characters are unique), but it’s still possible, and there’s always hope that they made enough profit that they put out an official cult release again in the future.

Until then, I’ll have to make time to clean up and assemble two more sets of cult figures (I couldn’t con Brandon into assembling more for me–but maybe if I pay him?… hrmmmm), and then it’s off to paint them!

Image Credit: Images Copyright by Games workshop and Die Hard Game Fan

9 comments on “Deathwatch Overkill: Unboxing Nostalgia

  1. “I suspect my nostalgia is heavily invested in how much I used to win with that army”

    Ha, ha, ha… I suspect you’re not alone, even if others are less prepared to admit it! It’s also funny though because I’ve never heard anyone else say that this list was powerful. Not that I know many who played it, but whenever I read comments online it’s always ‘how characterful’ it was, etc.

    I haven’t seen the 40K rules (and am not that fussed any more – I think I’d rather play other games even if I’m using 40K figures, although I’ve actually been playing Dropzone Commander lately)… But I really hope GW bring them back as a proper army. Even just as a faction army like the Harlequins.

    They’re so characterful!

    • I apparently wasn’t playing in a hyper competitive location though, as we saw quite a few things differently than some of the more “power gamers” that I know who used to play in such metas back in 2nd edition. I do recall thinking they were ridiculously powerful back in the day though.

      If you’re interested in the rules for them, you can download them for free from the Black Library site (at least for now) at http://www.blacklibrary.com/Home/free-to-download.html.

      On Wed, May 4, 2016 at 3:37 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Thanks! Not sure I’m likely to try them out, but will be interested to see how GW seem them fitting into the game these days.

      • Hasn’t it been years since you’ve played 40k? I didn’t figure you’d try them out, but thought you might be interested to see how they stack up rules-wise. They really do seem powerful to me, but the army structure was poorly designed so you can’t really play with multiple sets. Seemed like an oversight to me.

        On Thu, May 5, 2016 at 12:35 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

      • No, I haven’t played 40K in years and it’s pretty unlikely I will try these rules out. I just meant that it’ll be interesting to read them and try to get an understanding of how GW seem them fitting into the game.

  2. I’ve just assembled and primed my Cult models. I have just recently decided on the colours I want to paint the robes. I’m excited to paint these models. The sculpts are gorgeous.

    • They are quite pretty. I’m a little uneasy about painting them myself as I dip all of my tyranids but paint all of my IG, and these are really in between. So, should I paint them or dip them?

      On Wed, May 4, 2016 at 10:13 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • It might be worth doing a couple of experiments on some irrelevant models from your collection to see what looks best. My guess is you will have to do both. It’s likely will have to paint all of their skin and chitin, dip and then paint the clothes and weapons as you would your guard. They are, afterall, a hybrid. The gloss and flat might look odd together, or the contrast might play nicely on that model. I’m interested in seeing your results. Whats taking so long?

      • I don’t know that dipping first will work. That house stain is really thick and will likely cover up much (if not all) of the detail, so the quality of the rest of the paint job would suffer. I could potentially paint the whole thing and then just brown-wash the areas of skin (and then potentially brush on some semi-gloss varnish there as well). That really seems like the best option I have, but I wonder how well they’ll blend in.

        Of course, they’re hybrids, so I s’pose it’s ok if they’re not a perfect match.

        On Thu, May 5, 2016 at 11:10 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

Have something to add?

