Zombicide Progress: Heroes – Volume 10 (Joe, Wanda, & Maddie)

I had posted previously that this lot was of figures that were all black, but that obviously isn’t true.  It seems more evident that these were the outstanding figures that I thought were more interesting or difficult, as I only have six more figures after this, so the end is in sight and I wanted the final portion of the race to be a sprint.  That said, some of these figures don’t even have a drop of black paint on them…

Joe:

wh39kZombiCharsAlmostDone (2)An interesting thing about this model is the figure is completely bald.  The sculpts are all very detailed and virtually all of them are identical to the artwork.  Joe, however, is an exception because they just didn’t sculpt hair on the model.  They did take the time to sculpt the claw marks in the zombie version’s head, but no hair.

When I look at the guy, he appears very Asian, but now that I’m thinking about it more, maybe he’s supposed to be black.  If that were true, maybe he has a buzz-cut and that would explain why they didn’t bother sculpting any hair?  That could be true, but I think it was more of an oversight.

From a painting perspective, I took particular pride at the color matching I did on this figure (Except for his jeans), because I thought I was true to the original palette.  I’ve had a friend comment that he was surprised that I put the effort in to do the plaid shirt, but frankly plaid is very easy on figures: you just paint it whatever color and then stripe it with the alternating colors.  I will say that I messed up the vertical stripes on his shirt because they’re supposed to be purple, but in the lighting conditions I was painting in, I just used the color that matched his jacket.

Wanda:

wh39kZombiCharsAlmostDone (1)Just when I said that virtually all of the sculpts are in the same pose as the artwork, Wanda goes and ruins it for me.  To me, she’s about as iconic a model as Zombicide has.  I’m not sure if it’s because of the absurdity, or the fact that she seems to show up in a disproportionate number of games that I play, or her color scheme, or what.  All I can say is that I really identify her with the game.

Her scheme is pretty bold in that she has so many colors around, and all of them are bright and vibrant.  I think I matched them all fairly well, though I could’ve gone lighter overall (the contrast helps make the figure stand out though).

I also got a little cute with the base and left it black, so she’s the only one with a black base–for the characters that is.  I used that as a little reminder that she’s fast moving, so players will remember that she gets to move extra squares.  I think she’s look better had I stuck with the gray base, but I like the little color play, so I think I’ll leave it this way.

Maddie:

Wh39kZombiCharsDone! (4)To be honest, Maddie wasn’t even in this lot.  Originally, she was supposed to be the 6th model that I painted in this lot–based upon her complex scheme–but I pushed her off until the next batch, and I don’t rightfully recall who took her place here.  I will say that I dreaded painting her and pushed her off at least two times before finally biting the bullet.  I don’t care for the figure or the color scheme, but then again I was never into punk girls much, so maybe that’s just a personal bias.

I’m pleased overall with the tights and the teddy bear (two things that I think were causing me to avoid painting her in the first place), so we’ll count her as a win as well.

As of this point, that puts me six characters short of finishing the lot.  Officially, the light at the end of the tunnel has opened up and become a beacon.  I will finish on time….. I will…

 

 

4 comments on “Zombicide Progress: Heroes – Volume 10 (Joe, Wanda, & Maddie)

      • You guys are too kind. Again, like I said with Simon, I suspect this is partly to do with the angle/photo, but maybe all of those harlequins I painted back in the 90’s paid off a little…

        On Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 3:44 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

    • Mahalo. Next time you’re over, you should check them out in person. I think you’ll find it’s not as good as you think–or at least that it’s quite easy to maintain a straight line for such a short distance.

      On Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 10:04 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

