Zombicide Progress: Heroes – Volume 4 (Raoul, Laurie, & Bear)

Finishing up my batch of “green” figures, I had Raoul, Laurie, & Bear to do.  Ironically, two of these figures really don’t have much green on them, but I was scraping the bottom of the barrel to find something similar about the figures to include them in groups of six.

Raoul:

WH39kZombiChars4 (2)His palette is actually quite plain.  Besides his flesh, there’s really just a couple of colors on this guy: the beige for the vest, the green jeans and a smidge of green sleeves and black gun. There really isn’t much to say about this guy either, except that he’s done.

I know, compelling blog post, eh?

Laurie:

WH39kZombiChars4 (3)This is certainly one of those characters where I actually have something to say, and that is that I’m bad at zombie skin.  What I had been doing was to try to mix in an old pot of rotting flesh into the skin tone, but this is a great example of why that doesn’t work.

I should mention that I’ve nothing against rotting flesh, and think it makes a great iconic zombie skin tone, but it doesn’t work for this particular application, and I think you can see why on Laurie.  Her zombie skin tone is just too stark: it almost look like she’s waterlogged, which isn’t as subtle as the effect I should be going for.  This is a lesson to me in what not to do, but I’m sure to get it right eventually…

Bear:

WH39kZombiChars4 (1)That’s where Bear comes in.  I did the same sort of effect, but I thinned the rotting flesh down a bit and used it more like a wash on top of the skin.  The end result is far more subtle and more natural–if I do say so myself.

I think it did a good job of making him look sickly without being too blatant.  What do you think?

Otherwise, he’s a very simple model to paint, but I like the way he came out overall.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I still have about 18 more of these guys to paint…

Have something to add?

