Zombicide Progress: Heroes – Volume 2 (Terry, Julian, & Travis)

While working on my Zombicide characters, I’ve taken to priming them in batches of 6 at a time so that I don’t get overwhelmed at the remaining models left to do.  I don’t remember if the actual goal was to trick myself into thinking that there are only six models left, or because it’s easier to pick the models out when they’re still the base plastic figures (That come in a multitude of colors).  Come to think of it, it was the latter: because this way I could paint up some models and still have others available for play.

Whatever the case, the first batch I’d chosen because they had a large amount of black on them and, since I primed them black, they would presumably paint up faster than the others.  After doing Dan, Mr. Phal, & Grindlock, I moved on to the second half of the black batch:

Terry:

WH39kZombiChars1 (1)Terry is really about as non-descript as they come: he’s just a generic old guy with a gun.  I didn’t do anything fancy on him, but I did have high aspirations for his shirt.  I felt like I got the colors relatively close, but the hues just aren’t right.  As a result, it’s hard to tell the difference between the olive green and the beige in his shirt (though if you look closely, you can see that there are stripes).  Ultimately, I don’t think I got the green dark enough or the beige light enough, but the model does essentially look like who it’s intended to be, and that’s close enough for my likes.

Julien:

WH39kZombiChars1 (2)Julien’s defining characteristic should be the hockey mask and, in hind sight, I wanted to go back and see if I couldn’t dot in some of the holes in the mask to make them stand out (something that it’s not too late for, mind you, should I remember to go back and actually do it).  Sadly, I didn’t do a good job of that.  He’s also far more blond in my version, so I think he’s pretty much a bad interpretation of the photo.  There are too many to do for me to go back and redo it, but I’m not happy with him.

The one thing I think I did get right was his striped scarf.  It was a combination of Dark Angels Green, some yellow (probably Sunburst) and then some Ork Flesh Wash, and I think it worked out in the end.

Travis:

WH39kZombiChars1 (3)To get his coat right, I wound up basecoating him in a maroon and then applying layers of purple washes over the top.  In total, I think there are 3-4 washes and I really like the effect.  It doesn’t have the same look as the rest of the figures (basecoat/layered highlights), but I think it achieves the desired coloration.

I also want to take a moment to ponder what the hell kind of weapon he’s using.  Sure, I can make out the gun and the bow, but what is that other thing in his hand?  It’s like a mace made out of a curved stick with a pool ball in it–except the ball is black and has the number “1” on it (and the black pool ball is the “8” ball), so what on earth is that thing?

So that does it for my first batch of six models.  I’ll admit that they’re going faster than I expected, and though they’re not going to win any awards, I’m pleased with the overall look of them (except Julien, of course).  I’m about 1/6th of the way through the characters at this point, so maybe I will finish the entire lot up sometime this year?

2 comments on “Zombicide Progress: Heroes – Volume 2 (Terry, Julian, & Travis)

    • I actually did black wash it, and it went completely awry, then I painted over it and called it a day. I was moving through these quickly though, so I probably just didn’t give it time to dry. You’re right in that I should go back and clean that up… good thing I haven’t finished sealing them yet!

      On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 10:55 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

