Zombicide Progress: Skinners (and Crawlers)

WH39kZombicideProgress (1)I have to admit that I’ve never played with Skinners/Crawlers in Zombicide before.  I’ve only played about half a dozen games.  About half of those were with the base game and the other half were missions from the base game with zombies added from both the Toxic Mall & the Prison Outbreak sets thrown in.  Until now, nobody I know has owned the Rue Morgue boxed set (or the Angry Neighbors one either), so they just haven’t come up.

WH39kZombicideProgress (4)From what I can tell, these are essentially normal zombies that also have an added rule that says for every “1” you roll when trying to kill them, you also spawn a crawler zombie who has the “low profile” skill (essentially meaning that they die last).  Doesn’t seem like a huge difference, but I guess it’s worthy enough of a separate paint scheme.

Since the base models are yellow, I painted mine up starting with the rustoleum “Rusty Primer” paint, and then layering up oranges/yellows in the following scheme:

  • WH39kZombicideProgress (6)P3’s “Ember Orange”
  • Vallejo Model Color 70.953 Flat Yellow
  • Vallejo Model Color 70.949 Light Yellow

Which is quite similar to the scheme I used for the flesh on the Berserkers from earlier, but I’m happy to say that they turned out distinct enough to stand out in a crowd.

You’ll notice that some of them have their bases painted black–that’s something I’m toying around with to help differentiate runners from walkers in the game.  I find that they easily get lost in the shuffle, so I’m playing with color schemes on the bases to see if that will help them stand out at all.

I guess time will tell…

 

 

2 comments on “Zombicide Progress: Skinners (and Crawlers)

  1. These guys look the part. Nice work.

    I know you’re not spending an insane amount of time working on any of these models, but I still have to commend you on painting so many lately.

    • Thanks. Technically I knocked out all of the zombies from start to finish (except the dipping) over the span of a single weekend and there was just so much progress, I figured I’d break it into a small series of posts.

      I just got back from vacation, so I’m going to start back up on the character models soon. There are about 36 of them in total, and my goal is to try to color match them to the pictures on the cards–and paint them to a table top quality. I’ve knocked out a few so far, and seem to be able to do about six total figures in a day of painting.

      On Mon, Jan 25, 2016 at 8:03 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

