Zombicide Progress: Toxic Zombies

Wh39kZombicidePainting (3)Continued progress on my board game painting has lead me to another post.  When last we spoke, I had just painted up the base zombies for Zombicide (all 114 or so of them, give or take a few), so why not work through the remaining zombies?

For those of you haven’t already played Zombicide, it’s great fun, and you already know the premise: Consider any zombie movie you’ve already seen.  That’s it.  That’s the entire summary of the game.

You’re stranded in a small section of town/a mall/a prison/a morgue (the last one is presumed based upon the title of the expansion–I’ve actually not played that version yet).  Anywho, you’re stuck and surrounded by zombies and have to accomplish a variety of goals while there (depending upon the mission you have):

  • Wh39kZombicidePainting (8)Escape
  • Collect some sort of objectives
  • Discover something
  • Kill XYZ Zombies
  • Survive

The last bullet point seems to be a recurring theme.

The expansions release additional characters (each with their own twists on abilities) and generally speaking, a new style of zombies.  In the first game, all of the different styles of zombies (walkers, runners, fatties, & abominations) all are “normal” zombies and they just shamble towards you.  Wh39kZombicidePainting (7)With the Toxic City Mall expansion, they released Toxic Zombies, which explode into damage when you assault them.  The models themselves are colored a neon green when they ship to differentiate them from the standard zombies.

So, the obvious choice is to paint them in a neon scheme similar to the same style as the previous lot.  I didn’t have any green primer, so I wound up priming them black (no sense in buying green if I don’t need to), and then using my airbrush paints to spray them green as a basecoat (Minitaire “D6-151 Fresh Grass” to be exact).  From there, I dry brushed increasing layers of GW Snot Green and Vallejo Model Color Light Yellow until I got the final effect I was looking for.

Now I just have to do their bases and seal these guys to consider them finished.  Part of me wonders if I should dip them like I did my Tyranids–that would provide a great sealant to protect them from damage as they get used–but it’s oh so messy…

 

 

 

8 comments on “Zombicide Progress: Toxic Zombies

    • I’ll let you in on a secret: I’ve already dipped them. I wound up painting up the various colored zombies and dipped them all at once. The down side was that I did it after the blood effects, so they lost that luster. I did ultimately choose to go with a clear stain though, so the general coloration stayed the same.

      On Mon, Jan 18, 2016 at 10:28 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Yeah, I hear that. I agree with the other guy, the skin tone is really nice, I wouldn’t bother dipping

      • Shhh. I’ve actually already dipped them, but only because I wanted to ensure that they didn’t chip when I threw them in the box. I ultimately decided to go with a clear stain, so they don’t look much different than they do in this picture (the biggest difference is I painted the bases and added some blood effects). More on that in a future post…

        On Tue, Jan 19, 2016 at 12:09 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

    • Lol. I can’t say that I have, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t consider using these guys as plague zombies in 40k…

      On Wed, Jan 27, 2016 at 11:17 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

