Looking for Easy Wins

So it’s come to my attention that my hobby progress has slowed as of late (which is a nice way to say that a friend of mine noticed it had come to a complete halt).  I talked about it in my last post about Centurius, so I decided to keep my motivation going and line up some easy wins.

Of course, it’s not exactly true to say that all hobby progress has ground to a halt.  I tend to refer only to 40k when I’m talking about hobby progress, and while it’s true that I haven’t played a game since September or painted a model since August, I have been holding regular game nights on a fairly consistent basis.  The thing is that not everyone plays 40k (or even RSVPs).  Couple that with last minute cancellations, and we seem to always have an odd number of players or someone that isn’t a 40k player (or just didn’t bring an army) with us–so it falls by the wayside.  I try to include everyone when we game, so it means that I play less 40k.

And that probably has quite a bit to do with the fact that I’m not interested in painting/modeling as of late, but I have been gaming–just not the sort of thing I talk about all that often on the blog.  Some of the games I’ve been playing include:

  • Warhammer 40k: Conquest
  • Zombicide
  • Evil Baby Orphanage
  • We Didn’t Playtest this at All (if you can consider that a game)
  • Magic: the Gathering
  • Chaos in the Old World

easy buttonA couple of those involve GW IP, so that could loosely count, right?  On top of that, I’ve been working diligently on keeping my Frugal Gaming goals on track (and I’m happy to report, that I’m squarely in the black for the year–with just over a month to go).  I’ve also done a smidge of painting–though it wasn’t miniature related:  I wound up picking up beds for my kids and they insisted on having them a different color than they came, so I wound up spray painting them.  They lasted about a month before the paint started to scratch through–oh well.  Maybe we can turn that into a recurring fun project where we paint the beds different colors over the years?

The point of all this is to recognize that I have certainly hit a lull, and I’m going to try to work in some easy wins to get back in the habit.  That means that you’ll probably see new hobby related content through the rest of the year.  Some of it will be entirely new to you, but most of them will likely be long ago WIP stuff that I just never quite finished.  Things like squads that have been painted up, but never got based or models that I started and never finished (like this vindicator from 2009).

First up will be the rest of my legion of the damned squad–and that post will hopefully come out next week.

 

4 comments on “Looking for Easy Wins

  1. It’s not like you’re lacking for painted models from what I’ve seen. That’s the thing, once you have a large collection and have done a ton of painting already then finding the motivation to do more can be hard to come by.

    • It’s not a lack of painted models, it’s the glut of unpainted models that’s piling up. Since I don’t play with anything that’s unpainted, it does kind of wear down on me when I see how much I have left to do.

      On Fri, Nov 20, 2015 at 8:53 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Hey, I can see parts of the workbench in my garage again–so these ebay sales have been doing a good job of culling the herd. You let me know if you need a boatload of 2nd edition marine metals or some IG, will ya?

        On Mon, Nov 23, 2015 at 11:28 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

Have something to add?

