Games Workshop Likes My Stained Glass

wh39kStainedGlass (1)Despite the fact that I still write posts for my blog on a semi-regular basis, I’ve really fallen out of touch with blogging–which is to say that I write my own content, but I don’t really follow up on others.  There are really two exceptions to this, as I read any of Thor’s posts over at Creative Twilight as well as Dave Weston’s over at Confessions of a 40k Addict.  Now, I’ll admit that I don’t read either on a daily basis, but about once every week or so, I’ll go back and read through Dave’s posts and I read Thor’s every morning as I scroll through twitter (I never would’ve guessed that I’d use twitter that much–it’s really gotten so bad that I rarely comment on Thor’s blog directly, instead I just reply to his tweets).

GWStainedGlassStolen01Otherwise, I do check other blogs from time to time, but nothing else on a regular basis (hopefully I haven’t just offended someone by stating that).   I’ve just clicked a bit more with those two guys than I have with others.  I really get the vibe that they’re great, like-minded gamers that just happen to be a few thousand miles away from me.  One day, I’ll convince them to fly up to the wilds of Alaska and get a game in.

With Dave, I actually friended him on facebook, and I get to see a little more of what’s going on behind the scenes.  Well, the other day he pointed out to me that a certain GW store in “Arndale Centre, Manchester” had a suspiciously familiar looking piece of terrain in their display.

It would appear that someone from that GW store, had stumbled upon my templates for stained glass and was using them in a Shrine of the Aquila temple.  Apparently this particular GW is “well known for the effort they put in their display” (at least according to Dave), so I was especially flattered that they’d use my templates.

GWStainedGlassStolenWhen I think that some schmuck in Alaska came up with a nifty idea for a terrain piece in a miniature game, and that somehow gets filtered back all of the way to the motherland HQ where the game is made/designed, that’s pretty spectacular.  Then, not only is it copied and displayed prominently, it somehow is recognized and traced back to the originator and I was made aware of it.   It just goes to show that the world is such an amazingly small place now.

Obviously, I’m flattered that they’d use my designs, I just wish they would’ve taken the time to use the other templates for the various windows.  It also helps to illustrate the difference between using a single template (like GW did) and using a double template with reversed images.  The colors on my windows are just more stark, at the expense of losing some transparency.

Wh39kBuildings (26)If you’d care to see more of these pieces, feel free to drop by my house in Alaska (or just visit the blog post on the subject), or swing by the Games Workshop store in Manchester at the below address:

Unit R35, Arndale Centre, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Marsden St, Manchester M4 3AT, United Kingdom
+44 161 834 6871

While you’re there, feel free to point out that there are other templates they could be using for the other windows.

Thanks again to Dave from Confessions of a 40k Addict for pointing this out and for letting me use the pictures on my blog.

Image Credit: Pictures of GW Manchester provided by Dave Weston.

15 comments on “Games Workshop Likes My Stained Glass

  1. That’s pretty damn awesome. I’d be damn proud in your shoes. I think it’s the coolest thing I’ve seen you do and apparently so do others.

    I was wondering about the replies on Twitter. I keep thinking to myself, “Well, he goes and reads the article, so he’s there where the comment box is, yet he exits the site and then replies to the tweet. Huh,” and I shrug.

    You know what would be cool? Getting a ton of small bloggers like us together at a GT or something and having a special event/format just for us.

    • I’m not sure I feel it’s the best thing I’ve done. I’m kind of partial to several of the things: old stuff day, my barnacle mycetic spores, etc, but the stained glass is pretty high up there. It’s nice to be noticed though.

      As for the comment thing, it’s just because commenting on your site is a PITA from within my iPhone browser (At least with private browsing on). I have to go through multiple stages of authentication and such when I try to comment via my phone. It’s just that much easier to go back to twitter and comment there.

      On Mon, Aug 3, 2015 at 8:53 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Well, the project was very distinctive and unique. Maybe not the best thing you’ve done but pretty damn unique.

        Why are you using private browsing on your phone? Are you one of those paranoid types?

      • Yup, that’s me.

        Nah, not paranoid, it’s a work phone though, and I don’t want it to keep a history of the gaming sites I visit on it.

        On Tue, Aug 4, 2015 at 4:08 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  2. This is definitely something to be proud of. Your stained glass windows were one of the eye catching moments of your blog, and I still refer back to them time and time again! Glad to see others taking heed of your work!

  3. Indeed nice to get some recognition. However, did you make those templates available for use in a commercial environment or only hobbyists? If not I would see this as bad form. Additionally acknowledging you as the creator would have been nice, too. I don’t want to a Grinch and i could well have the wrong attitude here, but would be good to know hoe you feel about it.

    • Oh, I don’t think I clarified if it’d be free for personal use or commercial use. Frankly, I don’t think I have the right to limit usage, as the underlying artwork wasn’t mine to begin with. I agree that giving me credit would’ve been nice, but I don’t think it’s required by any stretch of the imagination. I’m just tickled that they like it. 🙂

      On Sun, Aug 9, 2015 at 3:44 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  4. I can tell you that I am routinely impressed with those buildings. There’s always a little detail here and there, blood splatter, poster, but that stained glass takes the cake.

Have something to add?

