When I Dip, You Dip, Pre-Dip

With the last of my Tyranids done painting, I’m ready to cover the house in stain again.  This brings the total of models to dip to:

  • Wh39kPreDip (2)2x Toxicrenes / Maleceptors
  • 6x Carnifexen (wow, why did I do that?)
  • 9x Mucolid Spores (or as they’re purchased from Forgeworld, “Mieotic Spores”
  • 5x Lictors
  • 1x Deathleaper

In total, that’s just a paltry 23 models to dip–hardly worth my time, but when you look into it, there’s a lot more than meets the eye.  Case in point, each Carnifex has:

  • 4 sets of scything talons
  • 1 set of crushing claws
  • 1 set of small guns (I didn’t paint  both up)
  • 2 sets of large guns

Wh39kDip2015 (9)So, each carnie is really 17 different pieces that need to be stained.  When you look at it that way, it starts to be quite an endeavor.

In order to prep the garage, I threw out some visquene, pulled out an old box (actually, the box that my frame for my uncut sheet of magic cards), and making another crude apparatus of wood and nails to hang all of my magnetized arms from.  I wonder if that’ll be enough nails–now that I think about it.  It seemed excessive when I was making it, but thinking of all of those carnifex arms makes me wonder if I have anywhere near enough now…

I guess we’ll find out this weekend…

5 comments on “When I Dip, You Dip, Pre-Dip

    • Yeah, it always gives me a creepy SAW vibe as well. I think if I decide to chop someone up one day, I might get away with it–what, with all of this practice.

      On Wed, Jul 15, 2015 at 7:48 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • I didn’t take any photos during the process really (Well, I did after I completed dipping them and was just mopping up excess stain). It’s so messy that anything I work with basically has to be destroyed. No way I’m getting my camera anywhere near that mess.

      On Thu, Jul 16, 2015 at 8:44 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

