Lictor? Damn Near Killed Her!

wh39kLictorAssembly (3)With another impending dipfest coming, I figured I might as well buy some of the last bugs that I don’t already own to get them painted up.  Kind of surprising that I don’t own any lictors, seeing as they came into being back when I started playing the game, and I’ve had a Tyranid army since around that time.

The thing is, I’ve never really cared for the look of the models.  I even tried to hire out sculptors to make me some alternative lictors, but no one could seem to break free of the mold.  Everyone liked the upright, bipedal tentacle faces, when I really preferred something more out of the box (a quadruped or even a centipede might be cool–and tentacles are something I could completely do without).

wh39kLictorAssembly (2)I also searched around to see if I could find someone online to make me some clear resin lictors.  I’m sure you’ve seen them.  Frankly, I’ve always thought of them as tacky, but if I had to have them, maybe I could partially paint them to make them appear as if they’re phasing in/out?  By the by, apparently, those were made by a company/guy called “Not Failcast,” but he didn’t answer my emails.  Sure I could’ve bought a model, made a mold, and gone to town, but I’m far too lazy for that.

Eventually I caved and turned to other less reputable dealers.  I know I should’ve bought from GW–and I would’ve gladly done so if they had metal (I’m such a hater of resin in general), but they don’t, and GW wants $25 per model!  wh39kLictorAssembly (1)The overseas connection wanted $7-8 a piece.

So, again, I’ve stooped to fake products–but it looks like that might be the last time, as GW has really cracked down on that sort of thing.  Oh well, not that I need any more anyway–I’m almost done painting nids forever! (hahahah).

I wound up magnetizing the arms for ease of storage (and on the off-chance that they get options in future editions).  I also had to green stuff parts of them where they had holes in them or were otherwise missing pieces completely (two were missing fingers on their hands).  I didn’t spend long on the process though, figuring they won’t see the table all that much.  Not only do I not care for the models, but they’ve had abysmal rules for years…

Anywho, that’s my latest (possibly last) purchase.  Hopefully you can excuse the bad photos: they were taken with my iPhone.  I can’t justify setting up the light box for pictures of basic unpainted models.

5 comments on “Lictor? Damn Near Killed Her!

    • Oh yeah, super campy. I thought of it, and went with it, but then later thought I should remove it because it was both ultra-corny and possibly misogynistic. The corny part of me won over though.

      On Wed, Jul 8, 2015 at 6:49 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • To be perfectly honest, they’re all painted up and even dipped at this point. I was just about a month ahead in blog posts, but they’ll be coming up very quickly. I haven’t based them yet–they’ve been sitting on my workbench for almost that full month waiting for me to get off my duff and do something.

      On Thu, Jul 9, 2015 at 5:05 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

