Frugal Gaming 2014 – A Belated Year in Review

Yeah, I know I’m six months late in doing this review–but, did you happen to notice that I only just recently did my 2013 year in review?  Based upon that, I’d say that only being six months behind is a huge leap forward. >.<

This post will be an attempt to review my 2014 Frugal gaming investments.  I’m not sure that “investments” is the right term at all–to some degree, I certainly purchase things with the intent to resell them in the future for profit, but calling them “investments” makes it sound like it’s a savvy business decision and not just me hoarding plastic crack in my garage (or, as evidenced by the spending over the years, cardboard…)

As stated in my 2013 year in review, I reverted back to my original Frugal goals in that I started at $0 as a baseline and didn’t care if I dipped into the red during the year, just so long as I came back above $0 by the end of the year.

FrugalPurchases2014

Some of the highlights (lowlights) for the year include:

  • I spent WAY too much on WHFB–a game that I haven’t played for 15+ years, and that I don’t realistically have any intention to play.  This was really as a response to a Night Goblin trade I had with a local friend.  Lots of poor decisions based upon other poor decisions…  $900?  Really?!?!
  • I bought ZERO armies this year.  Can that be remotely accurate?  In the past, I’ve purchased 5+ armies per year, but I didn’t buy any of them in 2014?  I don’t think it’s because I was lowballing people, but probably because people are selling via different mediums than I typically purchase through.
  • I bought a MTG collection.  I’m definitely not normally in the market for that sort of thing, but I found myself at the right place in the wrong time.

So, let’s get to the numbers…

FrugalSales2014

Here are the numbers that I found interesting for 2014:

  • I spent a total of $5,431 (down almost 13% from last year) and sold $5,635.99 (down a little over 15% from last year).  So my efficiency went down, as did my volume.
  • Of the total spending, 40k Accounted for $2067.57 (38%), MTG accounted for $2392.33 (44%), & WHFB counted for $942.03 (17%) while Board Games and “Other” each accounted for a paltry $58.35 and $51.35 respectively ( each < 1%), so my spending on Magic had gone up significantly since the previous year.
  • For sales, the numbers were: 40k – $3,387.97 (60%), and MTG – $2208.02 (39%).  I didn’t bother to sell anything in the other categories.
  • With $204.76 in total profit, that’s only 3.6% return on investment–so my money would’ve been better in virtually any financial vehicle (discounting whatever “profits” I kept in goods).
  • If you look at my return on investment in buying/selling by category, 40k looks much better (maybe I could make a business on selling 40k–then again, I didn’t buy any armies this year either, so I’m really just selling overstock from previous years…):
    • 40k = 38% ROI
    • WHFB = -22.5% ROI
    • MTG = -8% ROI
  • I wound up “selling” $1200.72 of MTG cards to a couple of online vendors that aren’t reflected in my sales numbers.  I could’ve taken it in cash, but they offered me about 25% less than they would if they gave me trade, so I went that route.  I actually still have over $800 of that because I can’t decide what to buy with it…  Had that been included, MTG would’ve proven profitable for me this year as well–comes to about a 35% ROI.

FrugalResults2014

For some reason, the numbers don’t quite add up to what’s listed on the 2014 Frugal page, and I’m not certain if that’s because I had an error in my formulas or because I just didn’t add it up correctly on the page (probably the latter).  In either case, they’re relatively close, so I’m just going to call this good enough.

And while we’re on the subject of errors, don’t ask me why my charts all show the beginning of January so drastically skewed and then come back down to realistic numbers immediately after.  I’ve checked the spreadsheet, and I just can’t find out how it’s different than the 2013 numbers, but it does show up skewed.  So, just ignore that first blip.

In the end, I came out on top (if only barely) and met my goal for the year, so that’s good news.  Again, I’m happy with the result, but I do have way too much crap sitting around in my garage to sell.  Maybe my goal for next year shouldn’t be so much as being in the black, as it should be getting rid of that crap…  Oh well, we’ll see how I do in 2015.

 

4 comments on “Frugal Gaming 2014 – A Belated Year in Review

  1. I don’t know if you’ve covered this in previous posts, but it’s possible your sales strategy is more efficient than your figures suggest.

    If you bought a 40K army consisting of 100 men and 10 tanks for $200, and then sold the 100 men and 5 tanks for $200, keeping the 5 tanks that were all you really wanted, then it’s not really accurate to look at this a a zero-return investment.

    I understand your ‘Frugal Gaming’ goals are to ensure that your hobby pays for itself, and perhaps even makes a profit, by which standard you didn’t have a very good year considering the size of your turnover. But as I say, that possibly hides a positive story.

    • Yeah, I don’t know how to really account for that. I do consider it when I purchase new armies (though I rarely keep anything for myself anymore), but I don’t factor it in during my frugal gaming updates because that merely measures cashflow. I guess it would be interesting to tally up the total value in my armies though–but that number would probably scare me into selling everything I own.

      Know anyone that wants to buy a hive fleet? 🙂

      On Wed, Jul 22, 2015 at 11:35 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

