Magnetizing Maleceptors

wh39kMagnetizingMalceptors (2)Sure, I name this after Maleceptors, but I only include pictures of the Toxicrene throughout.  Oh well, the fact that I did magnetize both options (or why bother doing it) when added to the alliteration more than justifies it.

So yeah, I wound up purchasing two maleceptors / toxicrenes for completionist purposes.  I know I’m going to dip my models soon, and I might as well try to dip everything at once.  To stay with the theme, I magnetized both options so that I can field either of the two beasts in the kit.

wh39kMagnetizingMalceptors (3)Magnets for these guys are pretty straight-forward, except for the sheer volume needed.  I didn’t magnetize any of the legs (doing so would’ve been a nightmare), but I did magnetize the front arms, the head, and after consideration, the toxic sacs that go on their backs.  Between those, that was enough to make the model fairly heavy and turn it into a giant electromagnetic sphere, but the real problem was in magnetizing the arms.

This might have worked out fine had I planned my magnet strategy better years ago.  You see, for my monstrous creatures, I decided to magnetize the arms on the left and right sides the same (I believe to keep them congruent with my dreadnoughts).  wh39kMagnetizingMalceptors (4)That way, if there was ever a weapon that could switch sides, I could just flip them around.  It seemed unlikely that it’d happen, but that was the thought.

That wound up biting me here because I had to use fairly large magnets to keep those spindly toxicrene whips in place.  Because of that, I had to place two large magnets inside of the torso at close proximity–which meant that they kept flipping around and snapping together.

In order to make that work, I had to construct a matrix of sprue pieces to get them to stick in place.  wh39kMagnetizingMalceptors (4)As luck would have it, I had exactly enough room to stick four layers of sprue between them to make it work.  I covered all of that in super glue and then, after it dried, I coated it with some air-dry clay and green stuff to ensure they wouldn’t be a problem in the future.

For the arms, I didn’t need to magnetize them,  but they were going to take up so much space in storage, that I felt it prudent to do so.  For the little “brain cover” toxin sacs, I wound up drilling straight through them and then green-stuffing little pustules on top to cover up the magnets.

wh39kMagnetizingMalceptors (6)So, there you have it.  Two more magnetized bugs for the swarm.

By the way, does anyone else think those lash-arms are beyond ridiculous?

6 comments on “Magnetizing Maleceptors

  1. I don’t envy you magnetizing these guys. I find organic stuff is generally more a chore because part A fits this particular way but part B another and both go into slot C.

    Yeah, those tentacles are a bit much.

    • Meh, it’s not so bad–but I’m sure that’s largely because I’m not a perfectionist. I figure if I’m dipping them anyway, a little gap here and there is forgivable.

      On Mon, Jun 22, 2015 at 7:38 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Not being a perfectionist would save me so much time and energy. It’s not to say my stuff is perfect but that pursuit is consuming none-the-less.

      • After years of sub-par stuff, I decided that I was going to finally start playing with armies painted to a high standard: which culminated in my Ultramarines.

        But that took too long, so I opted to dip a Tyranid force so I had something to play with the meantime. So, that particular army is a quick-and-dirty sort of thing (ironically though, it gets far more compliments for painting than my marines do…)

        On Mon, Jun 22, 2015 at 11:40 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  2. I like the massive tentacles!

    Also, long time, no comment… I hope all’s well! I have a lot of your blog posts to catch up on!

    • I won’t hold it against you.

      The tentacles are certainly well sculpted, but they’re just so unwieldy: I can’t see them not get in the way.

      On Mon, Jun 22, 2015 at 3:38 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

