The Arctic Warlord

I know that I said my next post would be a continuation of my Space Hulk Terminators post, but after I wrote that post, I had to bump it to next week because another local gamer had started a blog and I wanted to give him a little shout out.

Now, I’m under no delusions that I have a massive following or that the mere mention of his blog in one of my posts will skyrocket him to fame and fortune–but I figure that even if one or two people swing by, that can help him get a leg up in the blogosphere.  Hell, anything I can do to encourage the hobby locally, it’s worth it.  Lord knows I haven’t really found another gaming blogger here since Cole’s short stint in blogging back in 2010.  Whatever the case, you can see this blog here:

The Arctic Warlord

Wh39kApoc2014 (2)The guy goes by the name of Vilicate, and is pretty well renowned in these parts as a tournament player.  In fact, he goes into that during his first post, going so far to say that “playing in tournaments is pretty much [his] favorite thing to do, period.”  I know he does put together some pretty tight lists and does well in most of the tournaments he plays in (I believe he even took second place in the only tournament I’ve ever played in with him.  Who was it that took first in that tourney, Danny?…)

But seriously, since I don’t play in tourneys, I don’t get to see him that much.  And, to date, I’ve still never played a complete game against him.  The one game we did start, he had to leave early during, but I am looking forward to playing against him one of these days.  Oh wait, that’s a bit of a lie: he was at the Fall of Morrsleb Apocalypse battle I ran last year, but that’s not exactly the same as a “normal” game of 40k.

Wh39kApoc2014 (19)Without playing him much, I can only go on my social interactions with him and what I’ve heard from others.  What I can say is that he really seems to know the rules.  I guess as a competitive player he really needs to learn them (not that I don’t), but he plays fast and doesn’t need to look much up.  While he’s competitive, I wouldn’t put him into the Win At All Costs (WAAC) label that some people throw about, and he seems genuinely amiable to play with.  He also paints well, and very quickly, and clearly has entirely too much disposable income to put into this game (I don’t believe he has any army as extensive as my bugs, but it seems like he owns about every army in both WHFB and 40k.

Since we haven’t played all that much, I don’t have many pictures of his armies, so I’m just going to throw in a few pictures from the last Apoc game we played in.

Anywho, his blog is brand new so there really isn’t much in the way of content just yet, but if you’d like to go take a gander at it, you can see it at the address below:

http://thearcticwarlord.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

9 comments on “The Arctic Warlord

Have something to add?

