All Aboard the Good Ship Ultramar!

So I’ve been out of town for the past couple of weeks–you might not have known it based upon the volume of posts, but had you commented, you’d have seen that my responses were curiously absent.  For the first time in years, I took a vacation and wound up not checking email or doing any work while away.

It was glorious.

Of course, the blog kept going because I had queued up a bunch of posts–which concluded with the post on last Wednesday about my Fortress of Redemption.  Now that I’m back, I’ve taken the time to reply to all of the comments that have been left, and will get the ball rolling on some new content (though I’ve been back for a couple of days now, and I’m having a hard time getting motivated to work on any modelling/painting–but that will come in time, no?).

UltramarBoatFor those that are interested, we spent a few days in New Orleans during Mardi Gras, and then took a cruise around the Western Carribean (Mexico, Belize, & Honduras).  The title of this particular post gets it’s name from a ferry we took while in Cozumel.  The company that ran the ferry is called Ultramar, and the color scheme was a very primary yellow and blue–as if they knew I played the second company.

I knew that Ultramar exists prior to the cruise, as I had searched Ebay for the term (hoping for some stray Ultramarines auctions) and stumbled upon various patches and pins.  I had forgotten about them though, and was surprised to see the ferry as I got off the ship.

The cruise was good, but I didn’t get a lot of gaming in–well, at least not any 40k–though I did purchase quite a few travel board/card games for the trip, and I can expect to review those in the near future.  Hopefully I can get some gaming in, and get inspired to work on my models.  We’ll see…

 

2 comments on “All Aboard the Good Ship Ultramar!

  1. Glad you got some time for some R&R and loving that ship. Don`t tell GW or they will sue them for having a ship that nearly sounds like something Space Marine-ish lol

    • I looked it up, and that company existed well before GW (or at least well before 40k was a thing). I was curious to find out whether GW stole the name/color scheme from them, or if they both perhaps stole it from mythology somewhere (which seems more likely). I couldn’t find a definitive answer though.

      On Wed, Mar 4, 2015 at 7:49 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

