Old Stuff Day 2015

For those of you who might have forgotten, today is Old Stuff Day (if you forgot, that’s ok, I did too–but the thing about being the originator of the movement is that I get pinged when people link to my posts on the subject.  Luckily, someone overseas reminded me last night).

Anywho, if you aren’t familiar with the concept of Old Stuff Day, it’s simple: blogs are such a temporary medium, that if someone doesn’t see your post within the first day or two (or sometimes even within the first couple of hours), it’s often lost in the recesses of your blog.  Today is a day to dust off such content, and shine it up again for the world to see.  Likewise, it doesn’t have to be all about you–feel free to highlight posts by other bloggers of bygones past.  If you’d like to read a little more on the subject, check out the original post about Old Stuff Day.

So, some of the stuff I’d like to draw a little attention to are:

Painted Buildings

Wh39kBuildings (44)This year I wound up accomplishing quite a bit, including finally getting off my arse and painting up a ton of GW buildings.  With the help of Brandon (and a few others), I managed to finish them all off, so now I have some pretty nice looking terrain.

Beyond just having nice terrain, I’m proud of these buildings because they’re my first real attempts at a bunch of different painting techniques: Using an Airbrush, Rust effects, Lighting effects, and posters.  Plus I used some of the previous effects that I’ve had a modicum of success with: bronze patina, marble, & blood stains.

So, if any of that tickles your fancy, feel free to check out my series of posts about buildings here.

Stained Glass Windows

wh39kStainedGlass (1)Ok, so these were really a subcomponent of the painted buildings displayed above, but as they only had a part in one building, they’re easily glossed over.   I know others have done stained glass effects with success in the past, but I couldn’t find any good start-to-finish tutorials, so I dug around and pieced together my own.

Of all of the buildings I have, my shrine of the Acquila definitely gets the most compliments, and it’s because of the stained glass.  Again, there’s a step by step tutorial on how I accomplished the stained glass windows in this post.

14,000 points of Bugs

proWh39kHiveFleetProteus (13)Nobody said that the old posts have to be from this past year.  So, I’m just going to highlight an old army shot I took of my Tyranids back in 2012.  I’m only bringing this post up again because I’ve been doing some additional painting on my bugs (and even yet even more to do).  I haven’t tallied up my total recently, but I’m sure there’s no doubt another several thousand points of bugs to add to the army.

Hopefully this year, I’ll have completed the next batch and I can get off my duff and take updated pictures of the entire army.  Until then, there’s a 2-3 year old picture in this post.

From the Warp

FtW_promo_logoIt’s hard to believe that it’s been over two years since Ron over at From the Warp hung up his blog.  I bring this up because I think it’s important to pay homage to those that came before you and if you wanted to know where this whole 40k blogging thing started, look no further than his blog.

It’s hard to think that some new faces out there have no idea who Ron is or what he’s done.  He was, to my knowledge, the original aggregator of blogs out there.  For a long time, he simply was the 40k blogging community.  Plus, he had fantastic tutorials, tons of insight, and lots of great ideas.  If you’ve never checked out his site before, I’d implore you to just thumb through his old articles.  There’s so much great stuff in there–that you just can’t go wrong.

 

 

 

2 comments on “Old Stuff Day 2015

  1. I miss Ron, still wonder when he’ll be back. I included your stained glass windows in my ‘post from other blogs’ truly epic idea. Will have to get onto doing some when I get chance.

Have something to add?

