What is the Plural of Carnifex?

There was a thread on the internet somewhere (warseer, perhaps) where there was a big debate on this–it was ages ago and I don’t know exactly where it is.  I think the conclusion was the plural of Carnifex is actually Carnifices.

Wh39kCarnies (1)And there’s actually evidence to back that up.  Carnifex is actually a Latin term for Executioner and not some made up word, so there is an official correct answer.  Carnifices is correct.

But it just looks weird.  I mean, it’s borderline Carnifeces (which is the thicky ropey goo that is excreted from the back of the beast after a successful feeding frenzy).  So, even though I know the proper term (and use it on an occasional basis), I do find myself experimenting with other options.

  • Carnifexes: An obvious choice, but it certainly doesn’t roll off the tongue.
  • Carnifexen: Cool because it sounds German, and everything in German is violent and angry, right?  Also has some legitimacy lended by the word “fox.”
  • Carnies: Obviously an abbreviation, and whimsical as it evokes pictures of clowns and cotton candy.
  • Carnifex: Like our wiley friend, the Moose, perhaps the plural is the same as the singular form?

None of them are perfect though, so I suspect I’ll keep mixing it up.  Yeah, I should use the right word, but nobody knows what that is, so I feel like that gives me liberty to play around with it.

Wh39kCarnies (2)Whatever the name is, I bought five recently.  When added to the one I had laying around that I didn’t sell for who-knows-what-reason, and the three painted ones I have, gives me nine of them.  Yes, that’s way too many and I have no business owning them all.  I wanted six, but then immediately after buying two more on Black Friday, GW released the Shield of Baal box and people started parting them out and selling carnies cheap online–so rather than just realize that I should’ve waited, I double-dipped and now there are nine.

So, I’ve been doing some effort in magnetizing and cleaning them up to prepare for another paint-a-thon (followed immediately after by a dip-a-thon), both of which will also include the lovely Dimachaeron.

I could’ve sworn that I cleaned up the arms of moldlines, but I guess maybe I’m confusing that with the night goblins?.  I did clean up the carnies though, so at least that’s done.  In addition, the weapons have all now been magnetized, and I’ve gone ahead and worked in some green stuff into the more obvious mold lines.  So, they’re almost ready for priming.

ETA?  Oh hell, I don’t know.  They’ll get done when they get done.  Hopefully sooner, rather than later, but you never know.  At least this is progress…

 

 

10 comments on “What is the Plural of Carnifex?

    • Oh wow, that brings me back. I remember listening to that bit back in high school. Oh wow, he’s old (ignore what that says about me).

      On Wed, Feb 18, 2015 at 7:08 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • All carnifex are beautiful? You’ve been listening to too much Meghan Trainor: “Every chitin on you is perfect from the bottom to the top!”

      On Wed, Feb 18, 2015 at 2:36 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  1. The real question is what do you call a group of carnifices? A Carnage? A Shriek (throwback to screamer-killer days)? A Lope?

    At any rate at least you’re making progress. I’ve been stuck staring at sprues waiting for them to magically assemble. It seems my incantations are off or perhaps my material components are no longer fresh… eye of newt is so hard to come by in the winter.

  2. I love the way you’ve got them in that herd although it resembles something of a Carnifex-centipede. I’m on my second right now, with a third about to be glued together. That’s enough for me.

    Incidentally do you never point the Adrenal glands down, with the ‘proboscis’ bit going into the little hole at the top of the carapace?

    • I don’t generally put the additional glands on them. The two in this batch have glands because one of them I bought was assembled and had the gland on it, and I made another to match him. Otherwise, I don’t put all of those gubbinz on because they’re prone to falling off, and I don’t use them to represent WYSIWYG (I love magnets, but magnetizing those little glands is beyond even me…)

      On Thu, Feb 19, 2015 at 3:14 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

