WIP Centurion Progress

wh39kCentWIP (Medium)So, this post is a little like cheating.  You see, I have quite a back log of posts to work on, and this was going to be a WIP, but I’ve actually wound up finishing these guys.  So, I could just as easily skip the WIP post, but I figured that I might as well put this up anyway, since I’d bothered to take the photos for them already.

The sad part is that the photos that I did take weren’t all along the process, but only a single WIP shot of them when they were practically finished (see photo to right).  Well, I guess that was just the base models.  Though they’re pretty far along, they don’t have their shoulderpads painted, and aren’t even completely assembled (they’re missing the pistons in the back of their legs–I didn’t assemble or paint those until the very end.  Truth be told, this was due in large part because I didn’t know what they were or where they were supposed to go.  Doh!)

I also didn’t have the guns done at this stage, which were really the last things I did.  Generally speaking, since I magnetize a lot of my stuff, I consider each magnetized piece a separate model for painting purposes.  So, there’s no point in painting the guns until I have the guys done.  Having the guys done gives me good inspiration to finish the guns so I can sit down and play with them.  wh39kCentWIP (Medium)I did, however, wind up painting the extra head.  One model has his head magnetized so that I can interchange him between a sergeant of a second squad or just a team member of the first.  That way I can field a bigger squad if I so desired without having to buy more models.

Lastly, the outstanding piece is that they don’t have their bases done (which you wouldn’t expect until I finish painting them).  These actually took a couple of weeks to do because I had set aside some wood chips out of the garden to use as basing material for these, but I couldn’t for the life of me find them.  I finally broke down and just used some pieces of cork and, wouldn’t you know it, I found the wood chips the same evening as I finished painting the bases.  Well, they’re done now… so I guess the wood chips will have to be used on the knight?

So, if I get giddy, I should probably paint up the close combat arms as well–but I don’t foresee that happening anytime soon.  I’ve already moved on to another project…

13 comments on “WIP Centurion Progress

    • When the pictures were leaked of the centurions I also hated them with a passion. However, the models are actually quite nice when painted in a reasonable scheme and it was my salamander centurions that convinced rob to get some of his own. Granted some of that decision was made based on their performance on the table, but also because like me he realized they aren’t really that bad of a model.

      • Yeah, they aren’t the worst model out there. Certainly not my favorite but a good paint job, and their destructiveness, helps.

    • You know, I really didn’t care for them at all–like the rest of the internet–at first. Then, my friend brought some painted ones over to my house and I warmed up to them quickly. They really don’t look bad at all in person, and the fact that they completely destroyed my army certainly helped my opinion of them.

      On Mon, Jan 5, 2015 at 6:19 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Performance can certainly help how one views a model. I do agree though, they look good when painted well and they’ve grown on me since they first came out.

    • My first impression was that they looked like some sort of more cuddly version of a standard Astartes and that it suddenly seemed as if Terminator armour was somehow too small. That aside they were a damn sight better than the current CSM Failcast Obliterators so I purchased a set myself. Still haven’t built them yet…I’ve been a little sidetracked.

      • Kids will do that to you. You think you’re frazzled now, wait until she learns to crawl.

        Things will be a little hectic at first, but after you get her on a semi-normal sleep schedule, you’ll find newborns surprisingly easy to deal with. Once they learn to crawl (or really, roll) around, it’s an entirely different story…

        On Mon, Jan 5, 2015 at 9:20 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

    • I really don’t do WIP much. The point of the blog is really for my benefit, not for others, so there’s not much point in WIP updates (other than to keep me inspired to keep painting–but they don’t have much effect in that area). So, basically, this post flies in the face of my stated blogging goals, although some small part of me wants to create semi-regular content so as not to bore people to death.

      On Mon, Jan 5, 2015 at 6:56 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

