WIP: Legion of the Damned (Re-Revisited)

Wh39kLotD (5)This is one of those projects that just never seems to end.    I don’t generally care to do “work in progress” (WIP) posts, but I made an exception for these guys at one point, and it’s the sort of thing that just drones on forever.

Wh39kLotD (6)I started working on these guys in October of 2013, and they seem to sit for long periods of time above our kitchen table, waiting for progress updates.  Most of my models are sequestered to the gaming room or the garage (where the games are actually played–don’t ask about the fictional “gaming room” moniker), but these are things that I know I should be working on.  Over time I’ve convinced myself that these are almost complete since the last update (though the updates clearly stated they were “nowhere near done.”

Wh39kLotD (3)So, since they were only going to take a few minutes to complete, I dusted them off (literally) and got to work.

Sadly, I should’ve read the post that said they were far from finished, because there was a lot more work than I’d expected.  Wh39kLotD (4)I spent several evenings working on them, and I can happily report that I’ve finished painting most of them, and they’re ready for basing.  The problem?  For some reason I didn’t paint up either of the sarges, so I still can’t field them, even if I do base them.

One sarge is the old Centurius model, and I know why I didn’t do him: I was a little heavy-handed with the primer, so he really needs to be stripped before I paint him.  The other sarge was partially painted, so perhaps I was thinking of stripping him as well?  That much I’m not clear on.  Still, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel in that I only have to paint two more figures (and base them all) to consider this squad finished.  Wh39kLotD (1)I don’t think it’ll get done this year, but there’s always a chance, right?

Wh39kLotD (2)Well, that, and I have to base them all, but that doesn’t really seem like a big deal–especially since the last time I really got around to making bases (via this tutorial), I did like 100+ extra, so there should be more than enough to handle 14ish marines…

6 comments on “WIP: Legion of the Damned (Re-Revisited)

    • Oh, this one will end one day… I even stripped the two sarges this weekend, magnetized and pinned them up and even primed them, but that’s as far as I got. They won’t be done this year, but they will be done next!

      On Mon, Dec 29, 2014 at 6:37 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  1. They’re such nice models – and so far you’ve done such a nice job with them – that they really do deserve finishing!

    • I really do like them–but who doesn’t love the skulls and flames? These are a far cry better than the older 2nd edition models.

      On Mon, Dec 29, 2014 at 11:07 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. I wouldn’t feel bad. I think part of being a mini painter…is that nothing is ever “really finished”. It’s more like “I’m stopping here”. 🙂 Happy new year!

Have something to add?

