WIP: Fortress of Redemption (Part 2)

Last month I had posted a status update for my Fortress of Redemption (which had really been done sometime this past Summer).  It’s been sitting on my table for a while now, just taunting me, but I’ve been largely able to ignore it because I really haven’t played much 40k.  Well, one recent game with Brandon and I’ve a bit of renewed vigor.

Wh39kFortressPainted (2)Ironically, the spark that kindled my interest in painting again was the fact that we had played a “Highlander” game and I didn’t have enough diversity in my units.  So, I really should be painting something I don’t already have painted (not that I have several fortresses painted, mind you, but I do have a significant number of fortifications in general).  But, instead of painting my almost finished Legion of the Damned (which have also been staring at me for a long time–even longer, in fact), or my Centurions (which have a blue basecoat!), I found myself painting up buildings again.

What is my fascination with fortifications?  I think it has to do with the fact that I like cool looking terrain (especially if it’s painted up in bright, primary colors), and may also have to do with the fact that nobody seems to use them.  I’m not sure why, but I haven’t ever faced another fortification in an actual game (even in Apocalypse games), aside from the occasional Aegis Defense Line.

Whatever the case, I wound up painting this up because it was big and in the way (and because I had originally wanted to have all of my fortifications painted up for an Apoc game that had since come and gone–plus Brandon was talking about playing some games of Planetstrike, in which I can apparently use as many buildings as I want for FREE!).

So, I got to work and finished the tower up, including all sorts of primary colors for the cables.  This is something I’ve done in the past with smaller models (not that I can think of any off the top of my head that have pictures–mental note: I should go back and take pictures of my marines).  It gives a little more blinding color to the model, for those of you who thought the paint scheme was a little too subtle.

Wh39kFortressPainted (1)From there, I went ahead and painted up the two “missile silos.”  Technically one of them is a missile silo and the other is… well… something else, but they’re virtually identical, so I’m going to call them the same thing.  Again, nothing too fancy here, just duplicating the scheme from earlier.  I went ahead and painted up the various eagles in the same white marble scheme as the angel’s wings from the tower, but I did use a heavier white-wash (unintentionally), so the whole thing is a little lighter than the angel.  I like the effect, but I just don’t know if it’s worth going back and redoing the tower.  Granted, the white-wash should go relatively quickly, but then I’d have to go back and paint on another 5-8 layers of gloss, and I don’t know that I have the patience for that.

I also took the time to file off the little dark angel symbols from the various shields around the edges of the silos.  In total, I think there were five instances.  That left me to wonder how to paint those up.  I’d like it to stand out a bit, but not to be too garish (spare me the jokes about the color scheme).  With so much yellow, white, and blue nearby, my basic scheme colors were practically eliminated, leaving only red.  Brandon suggested that I use some sort of half/half scheme and mix them up, and it was a good idea, but by the time I’d finished painting these up, I just didn’t care to do anything terribly fancy with them.

So, I settled on painting them all red with a white omega symbol on them.  I wound up putting free-hand laurels beneath each one to add to the color, but mostly because my freehand wasn’t centered well in at least one instance, so that helped to balance them vertically on the shields.

This leaves me two steps closer (or perhaps three, depending upon how you look at it) to finishing this model.  Now I have to do the little catwalk, the guns and the “manhole covers” that obscure the missiles.  After that, I’ll probably use this in a game or two, but it’s so big, I expect it’ll sit in the foam and wait for the next apocalypse game…

 

 

10 comments on “WIP: Fortress of Redemption (Part 2)

  1. That is a very clean and bright fortification. It will definitely stand out on the table top. I especially like the marbeling work you’ve done!

  2. The swords and the skulls are very well done 🙂 Please check out my last post on my blog as your mentioned towards the end lol

    • Can I be nominated for a liebster award twice in one year? I do appreciate the kind words you’ve written, and I’ll make a post to pass it along. Now I’m wondering if I nominate you (or are there no tag-backs)?

      On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 1:21 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • I would do what I did when somebody nominated me. Give it a couple of weeks or a month and give it some thought. If your going to nominate somebody take your time and pick a blog that you think is special. I`m no expert on nominating and I believe you can nominate who you like as long as they have less than 200 followers I think ? To be honest everybody I mentioned has an excellent blog and it seemed kind of mean to select just one blog 😦

      • Yeah, I’ll take some time to think about it. The last time I was nominated, I didn’t pass it along, so it seems appropriate to do so now (and give both of you credit for nominating me). Thanks again for the kind words.

        On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 7:38 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

Have something to add?

