Building a Knight Titan

So I recently came into the possession of an Imperial Knight, but it unfortunately didn’t come with any instructions or decals.  I had gotten some centurions in a similar predicament, but they weren’t as complex of models and I was able to fuddle through their assembly.

wh39kKnightWIPAfter trimming the bits and cleaning up the flash, I was left with a pile of indistinguishable parts (before you suggest it, I didn’t receive them on the sprue–just a bag of parts that were allegedly enough to complete a knight titan.

I did try to figure it out on my own, since I’d had success with assembling the Centurions without directions, and might have possibly had the gray matter to make a reasonable go at it, but I figured it was better to ask for directions before I got myself into trouble.  Surprisingly, I didn’t find them immediately, but I did eventually stumble onto a post from the Plastic & Paint blog that had almost all of the pictures–leaving me to figure out only the “melta” weapon (or whatever you call that thing).

I was pleasantly surprised that the model was designed so that the arms were interchangeable without needing the use of magnets, but found out quickly that the resin was frail enough that it broke while I was fiddling around with it.  Yes, I said resin.  Now you know why I needed assembly instructions, eh?

So, a couple of quick magnets later and I had the arms removable.  I did originally assembly it so he was fully adjustable, but remembered that generally only leads to models breaking or falling limp in battle, so I found a position that didn’t look too horrible and glued him in it.  The arms and head still swivel side to side at this point, but that may change in time.  I also opted not to glue all of the little hoses in place, as that’s just more stuff to break as well.

The armor plates will eventually go on, but I figured they were better to paint them while they were detached.  Likewise, I’m not gluing the top on–in case I need to get into the body again in the future (presumably to salvage magnets?).

Now I just have to figure out how to paint this guy up.  I’ve done some research which indicates that knights have no affiliation with Titan legions and there aren’t any preset required colors for them.  As such, I’m free to paint him in whatever scheme I want.  Of course, BLOO is an obvious choice, but despite the lack of affiliation, I still think I’m going to paint him up in the scheme of a titan legion.  Now I just have to find one that has an appealing scheme and some history of fighting along side the Ultramarines.  Any suggestions?

 

19 comments on “Building a Knight Titan

  1. I couldn’t imagine trying to assemble that without some sort of guide.

    I say get creative and paint it however you want. There has to be some cool color combos you’ve always wanted to try out; something that isn’t already established? Make up your own Knight House, colors, iconography, etc. There’s a certain pride you get when you create your own stuff and it comes out awesome.

    • For some reason, I’m reluctant to let my freak flag fly on these. I think it’s because I’ve worked so hard to keep the marine markings codex, and these will be played with that specific army. It just doesn’t seem right to have an option…

      On Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 6:03 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • Well, no instructions on me–I agree that I would’ve pulled my hair out if I’d had absolutely no instructions. Luckily that blog post had pretty good pictures.

      On Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 6:25 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. I don’t know that they’re specifically Ultra friendly but they’re Imperial, need a new home because of ‘nids and a have a similar color scheme to your Imperial Scum. I’m still reading up on 40K history.

  3. I haven’t had the pleasure of building one of those. It’s the first 40k model in a couple of years that I’ve really wanted to paint. Especially now that I have an airbrush setup.

    I have to hold off getting one until I finish painting what I have. 40k, warmahordes, and now my Robotech stuff.

    It’ll be a while.

    • I’m waiting for an official Chaos Knight before I bite. I’ve got tons to work on, and now some excellent nid models landed as well.

      I haven’t heard of this Robotech stuff. I’d love to check it out but I think I’d be hard pressed to find other fans up here. I think sticking to 40K at the moment is prudent.

    • C’mon, John! What kind of self-respecting gamer puts off buying more plastic crack until they’re done with what they already have.

      I’m worried about you, bro.

      On Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 10:19 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • I’m on the fence about it, but it’ll probably go all-bristles. The fact is, everything else in my army is bristled, and airbrushed jobs just look fundamentally different. Perhaps I’ll do some basecoating with the airbrush?

      On Tue, Nov 11, 2014 at 1:52 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  4. Glad to see some of the photos being put to good use, you’re far braver than I would be attempting a kit like this. I hope the pictures of the manual were readable, they were originally put in just for illustration purposes so it’s good to see them being used beyond that. Looking forward to seeing how the painting goes.

    • Oh, they certainly helped. I’ve also forwarded your blog onto some others that have asked me for instructions, and they were quite happy to find your post as well. I’m also happy that you found this post–I wasn’t sure that you would stumble across it. So thanks again for posting and for taking the time to come by and say hi.

Have something to add?

