Ultramarine Centurions – WIP

wh39kCentWIP (3)Since my humiliating defeat in my first game of 40k Highlander, I decided it’s time to assemble and paint up a little variety for my  models.

Though the centurions looked atrocious to me when they first came out, in my first game of 7th edition, I saw how pretty (and effective) Brandon’s models were, and I broke down and bought some of my own.  Though I disagree (in theory) of his choice to run them with hurricane bolters instead of missile launchers, they systematically destroyed virtually everything I had on the table, so they had to be respected.

They took a while to assembled because I didn’t have any instructions, but they were easy enough to figure out, but I never got around to painting them because I didn’t have magnets.  wh39kCentWIP (1)Then, when I did order magnets earlier this month, I somehow managed to lose all of my drill bits.  I tore my entire house apart looking for them before I finally found them.  They had fallen beside the tool box and my wife had covered them up with a box of diapers and a package of toilet paper from one of her Costco trips.

The longest portion of assembly, by far, was installing the magnets.  I used 1/16th x 1/16th axially charged “rare earth” magnets, and it took two per gun and per arm to get them to stick.  I also magnetized the head of one marine as well (figuring that would allow me to either run them as 2 squads of 3 or 1 squad of 6–assuming those are both legal).  Though I don’t suspect I’ll use the heavy bolter options, I figured why not paint them up as well.  For some reason though, I didn’t even bother assembling the close combat arms–so look forward to that post in 7th edition when I whine about “why didn’t I paint these up before?!?!?”

wh39kCentWIP (2)In total, that’s 6 guys with 2 arms each (12 magnets) and 18 weapon arms (36 magnets) and one head (2 magnets).  So, for just these six guys, I used up 50 magnets.  Is that insane, or what?  I guess when I decide to finally do the close combat arms, that’ll take the total up to 74…

Oh well, maybe I’ll actually paint them up and use them one day and it’ll be all worth it?   Hrmm, I guess for it to be worth it, I have to not only use them, but also switch out their weapons.  So hopefully the Grav gun option isn’t an obvious upgrade over the other guns, or else I fear that they won’t be getting as much love.

8 comments on “Ultramarine Centurions – WIP

  1. One thing I learned when you make super magnet guys like this…

    BE REALLY WARY OF METAL TAPE MEASURES!

    I’ve knocked over a bunch of models when my tape measure snapped to a flyer and knocked it over and a bunch of other things…embarrassing!

    Nice work on all the magnets though, that is a ton of work!

    • Interesting. I use a lot of magnets in my models, and this isn’t something I’ve encountered. I wonder if I’m using a different type of tape measure that just isn’t attractive to magnets?

      More likely, I’m just forgetting the times they’ve stuck to it, I guess. It does make for a humorous anecdote.

      On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 6:00 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • I think in my case, it’s because the flyer magnets are 1/2 an inch by 1/4, and crazy strong. So they tend to exert quite a bit of force on nearby metal!

      • Oh that may definitely have something to do with it. The biggest magnets I use are generally about 1/8″–and in these guys, they’re all half that size. I find that the little ones are strong enough for my purposes–but then again, I’m generally just magnetizing a gun or an arm. What are you putting together that you need such big magnets?

        On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 7:19 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

      • I use resin bases, with acrylic rods for my flyers. The rods are 1/2 in diameter, so I just plopped a magnet on the end, and the other one on the flyer. 🙂

      • Gotcha, so you don’t necessarily need that strong of a magnet, but it was the right size for your purposes? I generally find myself drilling out a smaller hold in situations like that.

        On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 9:19 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  2. I guess you haven’t seen the all but confirmed rumour that Centurion close combat weapons are going to be changed to cost 5 points and grant +6 attacks, fleet, rending, 4+ invulnerable save, stealth and rage then? 🙂

    • As if…

      I’ll get around to painting those options one day. I’m so fickle, it doesn’t matter anyway. I managed to paint these guys blues (their guns are untouched) and then I immediately proceeded to paint something else. The good news is that I’m at least painting something, right?

      On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 10:36 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

