Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button?

So, this post is meant to be a follow-up to the Outstanding Status Effect Marker post I did earlier this year.  In that post, I talked about the buttons that I’d forgotten to make when I had the original batch done.  To recap, in my brainstorming, the ones that I had left to make were:

  1. Vehicle Damage Markers
  2. Blind
  3. Concussive
  4. Soul Blaze

wh39kButtonsRevisited

And that pretty much summed up the ones that I wound up printing when I got around to it.  I didn’t wind up making a concussed token (figuring that it doesn’t happen much and it generally goes away immediately, so what’s the use of having a status marker), but I did come up with a couple more tokens to use:

  1. Tervigon “Spawned Out” marker (a brilliant suggestion from Dwez over at 40k Addict)
  2. Ultramarine Chapter Tactics markers (three tokens that I can keep on my side of the board to remind me to actually use these abilities)
  3. Objectives for our Apocalypse game: The Fall of Morrsleb

I had originally planned on using green glass beads for the objective markers, but then thought that if I was doing an order already, it would be nice to make sets of objective markers for the participants.  So, using my template from the previous objective markers, I did up a set of green-tinted objectives with a picture of cultists surrounding a large block of warpstone (as that was sort of the theme of the battle.  Hint: the moon in the WHFB universe is called “Morrsleb.”)  So, yeah, I printed up sets of objectives for all of the participants and I also gave a set of objectives to Brandon for all of the help he put in to get the terrain ready for the battle.

Of the other buttons, I’m particularly happy with the vehicle damage markers, and the soul blaze icon is a pretty unique take on the buttons as well (As most of them I’ve created to date have some sort of border around it).  I figured this would need some sort of flame in the picture and, since it was supposed to be magical flame, why not make them pink.  A quick Google search lead me to that photo, and voila!

Blind is a little hard to read and I’m not thrilled with the spawned out icon, but hopefully I don’t have to use either of them too much. 😉

With that said, I think this will probably conclude my posts on buttons for a while (at least until the next bug book is released).  Like I said earlier, I do have the templates and the contact information for the gal that presses these for me, and they only cost about a quarter each, so if anyone wants either, please let me know.

6 comments on “Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button?

  1. The nice thing about buttons, is their metal back would let you place a small magnet on your bases, and then just snap the button to them for the various effects.

    • Except for the largest of models, these buttons would be far too big to use in that way. I contemplated doing something like you’re suggesting for wound markers, but figured they would be too big and finicky, so I’ll probably just keep using red dice to mark wounds/hull points.

      On Mon, Oct 6, 2014 at 7:22 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • I didn’t steal that from you? I know I took the concept, but that does seem like something I’d lift from your design.

      I must’ve just used the concept from the Tyranid psychic powers buttons I’d made. I really liked that the warriors on those buttons were just transparent enough that you could see the stars twinkle behind them. I liked the concept enough that I found silhouettes of various other strains, but never found a real use for them.

      On Mon, Oct 6, 2014 at 1:05 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • No, I meant I honestly wish I’d thought about using that silhouette. I really like them. I’m also a big fan of the post title, I’ve said that so many time it took me ages to reassociate where that phrase actually came from, do you remember, or do i need to give you a Clue?

      • And I thought that I’d honestly stolen the idea from you. I must’ve taken it from the guy on ebay who sells buttons then.

        As for the “Button, button” quote, I got it from Disney’s adaptation of Alice in Wonderland–though I can’t say whether that’s true to the original work. Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum say that during one of their random chats. Did they steal it from somewhere else?

        On Mon, Oct 6, 2014 at 11:17 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

Have something to add?

