1,000 painted models (almost)

Earlier this Summer, Alex from Budgethammer, nominated me for a Liebster award.  I don’t really choose to participate in this sort of thing normally as it’s sort of the internet equivalent of a chain letter, but since I was nominated by a fellow blogger (and reader of wh39k), I did take the time to respond to him–the questions & responses follow for those of you who aren’t fond of clicking links:

(though before I get to that, I do feel obliged to mention that–in my younger days–I did try on multiple occasions to start chain letters going.  I thought they were absurd and arbitrary, but apparently I’m not very good at them, because they never seemed to take hold).

Anywho, so the Liebster questions and answers were:

  1. How many models you estimate that you own, fully assembled and painted?
    Oh, that’s a doozy. I would’ve hazarded a guess that I’d be up around 800ish, but a quick fact check proves me wrong. This post (https://warhammer39999.wordpress.com/2012/10/17/somewhere-between-10000-14000-points-of-hive-fleet-proteus-with-pictures/) shows my Tyranid army a few years ago, and then I had 930 painted Tyranids alone, which has to be cresting 1000 by now. Plus there are my Ultramarines, IG, Chaos, etc. I’d say probably around 1400?
  2. What about unassembled or unpainted?
    Ugh, I really don’t even know what I have. If you mean models that I intend to keep, that number is probably around 250ish. If you include all models, it’s probably approaching 1000 as well–but most of those are waiting for new codicies so I can ebay them. Anyone need a few hundred orks?
  3. What’s your go-to joke?
    What’s brown and sticky?
  4. How long have you been wargaming for?
    I started in my sophomore year of High school, so somewhere around 23 years.
  5. Would you rather A: Be incredibly wealthy but have severe health problems (that money can’t fix), or B: be poor but be in perfect health?
    I’d go with poor and healthy.
  6. Do you have a favourite mini in your collection?
    Nah, not really. There are a bunch that are great, but no one stands out above all others.
  7. What’s the deal with aeroplane food?
    I kind of like it. Is that wrong?
  8. Do you think 40k should be more random or less random? How would you balance it?
    I think it’s pretty fine as far as randomness goes. Balance is completely out the window since the reset of 3rd edition. I’d love to see another reset, but I don’t foresee that happening anytime soon.
  9. Barbeques or Buffets?
    Either.
  10. Have you ever paid for a mini to be painted for you? How did it go?
    A bunch of them. Most of the time it goes poorly. I actually have a guy painting about 700 goblins for me at the moment. Oh crap, those weren’t included in the totals above… I find that painters are artists, and even if you over pay them, it’s hard to keep them focused.
  11. If you could magically have a book by you written in an instant, what would it be about?
    If I have that power, it might as well contain all of the wisdom of the known universe in it.

Wh39kHiveFleetProteus (11)The one that really stood out to me was the first one.  I hadn’t done a count of my models in quite some time (and honestly, I still haven’t since Alex’s post), but it’s clear to me that I somehow own over 1000 painted models.

Can that be right?  1,000 painted models?

As a self-proclaimed cheapskate and a loather of painting in general (which isn’t really true anymore), I never would’ve guessed I’d have even owned 1,000 models,

  • 2x Hive Tyrant
  • 1x Flyrant
  • 3x Tyrant Guard
  • 3x Tervigon
  • 1x Parasite of Mortrex
  • 2x Hive Guard
  • 2x Venomthrope
  • 8x Zoanthrope
  • 1x Doom
  • 30x Ymgarls
  • 12x Warriors
  • 60x Genestealers
  • 6x BroodLord
  • 9x Mycetic Spore
  • 22x Termagants
  • 19x Termagants
  • 22x Termagants
  • 22x Termagants
  • 13x Termagants
  • 2x Termagants
  • 20x Hormagaunts
  • 20x Hormagaunts
  • 20x Hormagaunts
  • 26x Rippers
  • 12x Raveners
  • 40x Gargoyles
  • 5x Biovore
  • 3x Mawloc
  • 2x Hierophant
  • 77x Spore Mines

That’s 465 painted Tyranids right there.  That’s half of what I counted in my original post (it appears that I just doubled the list), so maybe I don’t have 1000 painted models.  If we go by the numbers that I WAG’d in my reply to Alex though, I’d be getting pretty close to that amount.  I’m not sure how realistic it is though.  Off the top of my head, my imperials are something like:

  • WH39999Apoc2013 (49) (Large)44x Tactical Marines
  • 28x Devastators
  • 10x Assault Marines
  • 5x Terminators
  • 40x Scouts
  • 10x Misc Characters
  • 7x Bikes
  • 3x Speeders
  • 5x Tanks
  • 3x Dreadnoughts

But that’s only 155 models, give or take a few.  That’ll bump me up to 620 painted models, but that’s nowhere near the 1000 barrier.  So, then there are my IG:

Good for another 164 models (making 784 total), but still not enough.  Oh yeah, I did paint up some more bugs this year:

  • 32x Hormagaunts
  • 3x Biovores
  • 1x Red Terror
  • 3x Exocrines
  • 2x Flyers

We’re slowing down now… that’s another 41 models, taking us to 825 total.  Only 175 left, but I don’t see how I’m going to hit that point.  I also have my Chaos Space Marines, which were technically painted by Brian at A Gentleman’s Ones–but I never said they had to be models that I painted!  There are another 42 of those models, so we’re up to 867.

Ermm, I have some buildings and terrain.  Aegis Defense Lines (those are like 10 different models each, right?), bastions, statues, etc.  If I really stretch it, I might be able to claim 30ish models there.

Still though, that’s only 900ish painted models–and that’s a far cry from the 1400 I claimed to have painted before.  Oddly enough, I feel bad that I didn’t hit that limit, when I should probably feel bad that I got so close.

Well, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to go paint 100ish IG so that I can finally claim the 1000 model barrier…

 

15 comments on “1,000 painted models (almost)

    • I dig that idea–but to be accurate, I think I’m going to have to take a better inventory of what I have.

      Then again, it’s not the 1000th model that I’ve painted, but rather the 1000th painted model that I own (At that point in time). Still, I like the idea.

      On Mon, Aug 18, 2014 at 6:56 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  1. Now I am wondering how many figurines I have painted; plus how many are on the back log. Also That tyranid swarm photo is both impressive and awesome every time I see it.

    • Did you spend last night counting? I know you’ve a bunch, but they’re mostly Space Wolves and a lot of forgeworld. You might have me beat on raw dollars, but I suspect not on model count–yet. You’re far too prolific a painter to be kept down for long though…

      On Mon, Aug 18, 2014 at 5:07 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • So a quick tally from my excel sheet (not all painted or assempled) gives me:

        Space Wolves\forge world=370
        Astra Militarum\Stronghold Assault=91
        Eldar=39
        Tyranid=233
        Total=697

        This doesn’t include my necromunda collection of 3 gangs nor orks from 3 different starter sets. I really don’t want to know how much I have spent over the years. Happy to know I value all my little figurines and once painted they are priceless to me.

      • How much of that is painted?

        I guess if we’re talking about unpainted, my list just keeps growing, but I wouldn’t bother including much of it (like the Orks I’m selling).

        On Tue, Aug 19, 2014 at 12:13 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

      • Just from a gut feeling I would say for the Space Wolves and Forge World I have about 60% painted, the guard 50% painted, fortifications just primed, Eldar 90% painted, and tyranid about 25% painted (finished 96 termagants).

        As far as assembly, I paint on sprue for the Space Wolves and Forge World models, the rest I am holding myself to a lower standard, so they are already assembled.

        P.S.
        Looking at my Tyranid ratio I realize my percentage really doesn’t add up to the model count indicated before. I guess the above ratios are more of a feeling for the level of effort remaining to finish painting each army.

  2. I used to do a ton of commissions and I even had a patron. It made me laugh when you said ‘painters are artists… Its hard to keep them focused’… Haha… So true! I was painting so much at one time, I told my ‘patron’, this is it.. no more. He would then raise the price… and pull me right back in.

    • I’ve used a bunch of different painters over the year, and I can honestly say that I’ve never had a single one complete the job on time for the price we agreed upon. Most don’t ever finish the job, and then you’re left with a bad situation: trying to figure out how much it’s worth to have a half finished job. Those are the worst.

      I’m a slow learner though, so I guess I’ll keep trying. Want to paint 700 goblins??

      • I used to only paint locally and for just friends. I did it because I loved doing it, and not really for the money. When I moved to Japan, the guy I call ‘patron’ actually wanted to deal with me still… although shipping to Japan is… wow… expensive. I have seen the painting services job, and with their levels of pay crap… sure its a business… but it usually comes out as over priced shit from what I have seen. No trustworthy locals?

      • I guess that depends on what you mean by “trustworthy.” Given my history of hiring painting services, and the fact that nobody has actually completed a project on time and on budget, I’d question their validity, but I’ve also never had someone steal my models, so I wouldn’t call them untrustworthy.

        In general, I’ve been quite happy with the quality of paintjobs and the prices have been reasonable for the most part as well, just no follow-through.

        I’m not in the market for painting services at this time, and it was meant as a tongue-in-cheek response, but if the price and quality were right, I can always find something to have painted. Of course, shipping to Japan would outright kill any deal, I’m sure.

        On Thu, Aug 21, 2014 at 7:53 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  3. “Do you think 40k should be more random or less random? How would you balance it?
    I think it’s pretty fine as far as randomness goes. Balance is completely out the window since the reset of 3rd edition. I’d love to see another reset, but I don’t foresee that happening anytime soon.”

    Now that’s interesting… I agree that a reset is very unlikely, but I would also like to see one. Which is funny, as I was very unhappy about the 3rd ed reset. With hindsight I think it was actually a much better thing than I gave it credit for at the time, and I think a reset could do a lot of good.

    Would be interesting to have a post from you wishlisting and saying what you’d like a reset to do and why…

      • Ah yes, so you did! What an interesting article (and comments) that was.

        Personally, I’d like them to use a reset to go back to the fundamentals, not just address the balance issued. Get rid of certain stats, replace Igo Ugo with some kind of alternate activation (I love the way Bolt Action does it and am really look forward to the new Antares game), make command and control more interesting (which includes addressing the leadership and pinning issues, but much else besides).

Have something to add?

