Painting Progress – Tyranid Exocrines & Hauraspex (Finished!)

wh39kExoSpexPainted (6)After finishing painting my entire Tyranid army (and subsequently dipping them) these are the last models I have to photograph before having posted them all.  Granted, I will likely pull everything out eventually and take some massive army shots, but for the individual/squad photos, these are probably it.

All in all, these are just more of the same.  The colors seem to have come out rather well, and their very plain bases don’t seem to look so (see this post for more details on why the bases are so plain).  I dare say they look halfway finished.

In total, the scheme looks good, and I’m happy with these particular models with two exceptions.  The first is with the head on the “blue” model (yes, I know they’re all predominately blue, but I’m referring to the one with blue spots on his shoulders/tail).  wh39kExoSpexPainted (14)When I hung him to dry, the stain pooled right on the front of his head and left a weird dark blob there.  I could probably rub it off, but I think it might look worse for doing so, so I’ve opted to leave it as is.  Maybe one day I’ll get adventurous and try something, but for now, I’ll just pretend like it isn’t there.

The other issue was with one of the models–though I can’t seem to figure out which one based upon the photographs.     When I was brushing the stain on him, I apparently missed part of his toe, so the “finished’ product had a glaring bone spot on him.  To resolve this, I just watered down some brown paint that I had laying around and washed it over the area.  It wasn’t a perfect match at all, but it’s clearly good enough that I’m not spotting it from the photos, so I think that’ll work.

wh39kExoSpexPainted (8)Oh, there’s also a mark on one of the hauraspex’es head that came from uneven drying, but I’m not noticing that particularly in the photos either.  Besides, I don’t know how often I’m going to use that model anyway–though it does look kind of cool with all of those gribbly tentacles coming out of it’s mouth.

So now I’m really looking forward to actually being able to field some of these new units and seeing how good they are (or how much money I wasted on them–whatever the case may be).  Wish me luck!

wh39kExoSpexPainted (13)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (12)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (11)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (10)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (9)    wh39kExoSpexPainted (7)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (5)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (4)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (3)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (2)  wh39kExoSpexPainted (1)

 

 

4 comments on “Painting Progress – Tyranid Exocrines & Hauraspex (Finished!)

  1. These look great. I know as an artist, the little errors can be bothersome (i can’t even spot them without you pointing them out) but….

    Think of them as birthmarks which help separate the three beasts. 🙂

    • Thanks. They really don’t get on my nerves (at least with my Tyranids) because the overall appearance vs. effort expended on these is off the charts (at least in my opinion). Now, when it comes to something I spend a lot of time on, the little details matter to me.

      I did get a chuckle out of the birthmarks comment though. 🙂

      On Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 8:46 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

