Painting Progress – Tyranid ‘Vores (Finished!)

wh39kVoresPainted (5)So happy to be finally finished painting/basing my Tyranids again, I’m doing a small series with photos of the finished models.  The topic this week?  ‘Vores.   Don’t know what that means?  Well, ‘Vore is a widespread colloquialism that includes various Tyranid organisms with cannon-like protuberances.

Well, either that, or I just noticed that the words “biovore” and “pyrovore” have similar suffixes.

That really makes me wonder how much thought goes into naming new models.  I’ll admit that I don’t read 40k fluff anymore.  There was a time, twenty years ago, when that sort of thing compelled me, but for some reason I don’t get into it anymore.  I don’t think I’ve ever bothered to make an excuse: I just no longer read it.  Another game I follow rumors/updates on is Magic: The Gathering, and–while I find myself similarly glossing over the creative writing and fluff they put out–wh39kVoresPainted (2)I do read articles and listen to podcasts about all of the efforts they put into “world building” wherein they create all of the backstory behind the names for things.  I wonder if GW has a similar department that really gets into things, or if they just happen spontaneously.  Since GW’s rules always seem to have holes and they really struggle to find any semblance of balance between codices/editions, I’m prone to believe they’re just happenstance.  Two guys were just sitting in room, chatting”

wh39kVoresPainted (6)Guy1: “So, the sculptor came up with this new model for Tyraids.  It’s pretty cool looking, but we gotta’ come up with a name and rules.”

Guy2: “Um, isn’t that just like a slightly bigger biovore?”

Guy1: “Yeah, I guess it is.  What if we made it like spit out acid or something.  We could like make it shoot, or attack, or hell, I don’t know…”

Guy2: “Thinking is hard.  Let’s go get lunch.”

Then, several weeks later, when the codex was due to be published and they hadn’t come up with anything, they threw up a crappy statline, horrible rules, and–since one of them liked fire–they said, “we could, like, call it firevore–since it’s like a biovore–or something.”

wh39kVoresPainted (3)Wow, that was a bit of a side-track, eh?  I guess that’s convenient, because I didn’t have a lot to say about these particular models.  I think the different color tubing on the pyrovores came out rather well, lending a splash of color to an army that’s rather simple in scheme.  Their carapace looks as I would expect, even though I dipped them twice (unlike what happened with my flyers) so I’m quite happy with the effect.  While I only painted/dipped 2x Biovores this time, I already had completed a third earlier, so I included him in the photos to show the squad was complete.  The original wound up with a little darker stain to him, but I don’t think you’d notice it unless someone pointed it out–especially when they’re on the table.

It looks like there’re just a couple of more posts on this subject before I finally have to do some more hobby progress again.  Oh bother.  Whatever will I do?

 

 

6 comments on “Painting Progress – Tyranid ‘Vores (Finished!)

  1. Nice work. They look great. It’s almost like this has become a hobby blog with all the painting updates lately!

    I do believe GW names intentionally. I know I have spent a lot of time trying to find cool names for my characters or squad names and such and constantly stumbling upon the meaning of names that GW uses and finding those meanings to be fitting to the character, unit, etc. From what I have seen, they certainly do their research in this area.

    • It’s almost like I’ve become a hobbyist with the progress I’ve actually been making.

      I attribute it to the lack of TV. A month or two ago, we became ‘cord cutters’ and did away with our cable TV subscription entirely. That experiment went horribly awry (leading to me hating the cable company), and I eventually had to repurchase cable TV, but I just never went back to watching it. As a result, I find that I have some more free time–granted, not any huge amount, but more. Hence, more hobby time.

      To give you an idea of how much more time I have for painting, I’ve been working on the tall spire of my Fortress of Redemption for a week and a half now. I’ve managed to mostly complete the angels so far–no progress on anything else. But, when I have half an hour here and there, I can at least make some progress…

      On Mon, Jun 9, 2014 at 7:33 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • We ditched cable almost a year ago and haven’t looked back. We just watch our shows online. It is amazing the free time you suddenly find when you aren’t browsing through useless TV programming for hours on end.

        Half an hour here and there is typically what I manage as well, rare exceptions I get a few hours in a sitting. It’s just a matter of using that time, which you obviously are. Hell, I did an article on just that years ago about if you find 5-10 minutes free then use them. It seems so little but it all adds up eventually.

      • So what do you use for internet? My problem is that we have two providers here (if you exclude satellite): surprise, surprise, it’s the phone company and the cable company. The cable company charges about $150 per month for internet/phone/cable TV, or you can buy internet only for $112 (plus a monthly $10 fee because you don’t have TV), so they really force you into a bundle. Sadly, I’m grandfathered in on an unlimited data plan, but it’s only valid if I also have a phone and TV plan as well. The phone company offers slower rates with bandwidth caps for about the same price.

        Realistically, the only way to really cut the cord is to pay approximately the same price per month as we are paying and lose features. 😦

        On Mon, Jun 9, 2014 at 9:10 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

      • Damn. They have you over a barrel. For us it’s $60 a month just for internet where our cable package, with internet, was $160 a month. They charge us more for internet without a bundle but it’s still $100 a month savings.

        In your situation I’d probably do the same but it’s still ridiculous.

      • Yeah, it blows goats. Welcome to Alaska!

        If I lived in “the big city” (which is just 12 miles away), there’s a different phone company that will provide reasonable speed internet with no caps for about $100 per month, so there’s a $50 savings there, but alas–not available in all areas.

        On Mon, Jun 9, 2014 at 9:32 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

Have something to add?

