Be Wary of Any Man Who Keeps a Pig Farm – Dipping 2014

wh39kDipping2014 (1)Ok, so the title of this post really has nothing to do with the actual content (except the last section, which I included so I could figure out just what this post was about when I look back upon it).

So, as you’ve surely glimpsed by now, this is a post about finally getting around to dipping my ‘nids.  It’s a bit of a chore to do, and involves covering a good section of my garage off in visqueen (that sheer plastic stuff you see).  That’s because it’s a really messy ordeal that requires me to dip the model (And often much of my hand) into polyurethane and then violently flick the excess off.  While I don’t believe it’s toxic (though I wouldn’t recommend ingesting it), it’s super sticky and a pain to clean off of anything.

As I was prepping the garage–taping up those clear tarps everywhere–I was reminded of the scene from “Snatch” where they spoke of (and then eventually implemented) methods of disposing bodies involving starving pigs.  If you haven’t seen that movie, I’d recommend it–but as this isn’t a movie review blog, we’ll leave it at that.

wh39kDipping2014 (5)Anywho, preparations involved more than just the visqueen.  I also crafted another stand using the better part of two 2x4s and some leftover nails (to hang/dry the various magnetized bits on), acquiring a few leftover boxes from work (this was actually done months ago, and these boxes have just been taking up space in the garage all winter–so I’m glad to finally be rid of them), and finding suitable clothes that can be thrown out once I was finished (which included a pair of plaid golf shorts, a stocking cap from one of my employer’s competitors, and a long sleeve t-shirt which had been “altered” to fit as part of my Halloween costume from last year (I went as RG3, for those that are wondering).

Once all of the necessary precautions had been taken, I got straight to dipping.  I won’t go into too much detail, as I’ve talked about the particulars in previous posts.  One thing worth mentioning is that I figured out what went wrong when I last dipped Tyranids (or at least I think I’ve figured it out).  After dipping, the last batch just didn’t quite look right.  They looked too glossy, and the seal never quite hardened, so even after a few days they were tacky to the touch.  My resolution for that was to seal them with a matt finish, but they looked entirely too flat–so I went back and hit them with a gloss finish, and that didn’t look right either.

Minwax (2)What I believe happened is that I used the wrong stain.  In my posts, I never really clearly stated what the product I use is–I thought I did, but apparently I didn’t.  The product that I actually use is “Minwax Polyshades Stain & Polyurethane in 1 Step – Antique Walnut Satin 340.”  I’ve always referred to it as Antique Walnut, but didn’t know that they actually make two different finishes.  There’s also a silver can that is a high gloss finish–which is apparently what I used last time.  I must’ve thought that they just had new packaging, and mistakenly bought the wrong type.  I’m happy to say that this turned out just as I’d expected, and after these models dried, I went back to the store and bought a can of clear satin spraypaint and resealed the old bugs.  They don’t look perfect, but they’re a much better match now.

Anywho, in the dipping process, I managed to do the following models:

  • 3x Hauraspex/Exocrines
  • 20x Termagants
  • 2x Harpies/Hive Crones
  • 3x Pyrovores
  • 2x Biovores
  • 1x Ravener (Red Terror)

I also worked in a bunch of spare bits.  I don’t think this will be an exhaustive list, but here goes:

  • wh39kDipping2014 (3)All of the bits for the above kits (interchangeable heads/arms/etc)
  • 1x Pair of Hive Tyrant Wings
  • 3x Pairs of Scything Talons
  • 9x Pairs of Rending Claws
  • 6x Devourers
  • 3x Pairs of Crushing Claws (Hive Guard)
  • 3x Pairs of Rending Claws (Hive Guard)

So, I left these out to dry over night, and went back and checked on them the next day.  But I’ll save that information for another post.

As always, the pictures here are just thumbnails, so feel free to click on any of them to enlarge them.

 

wh39kDipping2014 (2)      wh39kDipping2014 (6)  wh39kDipping2014 (7)  wh39kDipping2014 (8)  wh39kDipping2014 (9)

11 comments on “Be Wary of Any Man Who Keeps a Pig Farm – Dipping 2014

  1. Once again, it’s amazing just how good these models look once dipped.

    Although what I was really hoping to see was you wearing plaid shorts, cap and costume t-shirt, all covered in paint!

    • I have such photos, but I reserve such embarrassment for close family friends.

      Yeah, dipping is huge. This round wasn’t without it’s blemishes, but they turned out pretty well.

      On Mon, May 26, 2014 at 8:26 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • At first glance, I assumed your account had been compromised and was suddenly sending me spam–but I took a second to figure out what you were saying. Great conveyance of accent through horrible typing–though I would’ve preferred to see the word “caravan” somewhere in the exchange.

      On Mon, May 26, 2014 at 2:29 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Brilliant. Despite knowing what to look for, it always takes a while. I wonder if it takes longer for me to decipher these or for you to write them in the first place?

        On Wed, May 28, 2014 at 4:22 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

    • Forgive me, but does “garden” mean something else in England? Is that where you grow flowers and food that you eat, or are you referring to your yard (the lawn, grass, etc.)? I can’t see myself doing that anywhere outside though. Even if you discount the environmental issue, it’s so messy and sticky that I wouldn’t want the kids/dogs playing in it either. I guess once it dries, that might be different though.

      I can’t watch the clip at the moment, but I’ll check it out later. Which character gets Brad Pitt’s voice?

      On Wed, May 28, 2014 at 5:35 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • My way of thinking, and likely most UK understanding would be, a yard for us is usually an area at the the back of the house that is paved/flagged. A garden would usually be lawned area, potentially with flowers and/or trees. That’s what most average houses have, some would have a vegetable garden and some may consider theirs to be a flower garden but I think most folk wouldn’t differentiate between a garden that does/does not have flowers.

        My garden is mainly weeds and moss with a smattering of grass. It regularly floods and it doesn’t matter what I do I just can’t get a nice manicured lawn that I can be proud of. There are more Daisies and Dandelions [ba$tard$] in my garden than the entire sports field behind my garden fence!

        So I would have not hesitation about brutalising the so-called grass that masquerades as my lawn with dip. Additionally my kids cannot pry themselves away from PS4s or Nintendo devices so it would have no negative effect on their enjoyment of the great outdoors. My life must sound like Paradise? ha, ha!

    • I seem to remember it being more of an ordeal in past attempts, but this one seemed to go relatively smoothly. I didn’t track my exact times, so these are just rough estimates. It probably took me a couple hours to do it all–maybe 2.5? That includes going out and setting up the tarps and the actual process of dipping. Then, you have to go back periodically and clean up excess drips so that they don’t pool on the lower areas for a few hours. Though, I honestly didn’t do that this time: I just cleaned them up while I was dipping others, and I surprisingly didn’t have too many defects.

      On Fri, May 30, 2014 at 11:00 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

