Battle Reports for 6th Edition: A Summary

To herald the coming of 6th edition back in 2012, I did a summary of all of the games I’d played in the previous edition. I found that a cathartic exercise and thought I’d rehash that for the demise of 6th edition as well.

As I discussed in that earlier post, part of the reason why I started a blog in the first place was to keep track of my wins and losses to see if there were any patterns (particularly if I won as much as people seemed to think). In 5th Edition, I won about 58% of my games, and lost 28% of them. My initial thoughts are that my win percentage was higher in 6th edition—based upon the massive win streak I had to start.

  1. 1888 point Kill Points Game between my Tyranids and Brandon’s Chaos (Win)
  2. 2013 point Objectives Game between my Tyranids and Simon’s Chaos (Win)
  3. 1212 point Big Guns Never Tire Game between my Tyranids and Simon’s Chaos (Win)
  4. 1000 point ??? Game between my Tyranids and Alex’s Chaos (Win)
  5. 1000 point Kill Points Game between my Tyranids and Dan’s Chaos (Win)
  6. 1500 point Objectives Game between my Tyranids and Kurt’s Eldar (Win)
  7. 1500 point Objectives Game between my Tyranids and Kurt’s Eldar (Loss)
  8. 2000 point Kill Points Game between my Tyranids and Danny’s Eldar (Unfinished)
  9. 1000 point The Relic Game between my Tyranids and Tim’s Eldar (Win)
  10. 1122 point Kill Points? Game between my Tyranids and Derek’s Grey Knights (Win)
  11. 2000 point The Relic Game between my Tyranids and Cole’s Necrons (Loss)
  12. 1000 point Big Guns Never Tire Game between my Tyranids and Moe’s Necrons (Win)
  13. 1500 point Kill Points Game between my Tyranids and Brandon’s Salamanders (Win)
  14. 2000 point Big Guns Never Tire Game between my Tyranids and Randall’s Space Wolves (Win)
  15. 2000 point The Relic Game between my Tyranids and Randall’s Space Wolves (Win)
  16. 2000 point Objectives Game between my Tyranids and Jeff’s Tau (Loss)
  17. 2094 point The Relic Game between my Tyranids and Simon’s Tyranids (Win)
  18. 2000 point Objectives Game between my Tyranids and Tony, Cole, & George’s Tyranids, Necrons, & Necrons (Unfinished)
  19. 2000 point Chaos – Agents of the Gods Game between my Ultramarines and Simon’s Chaos (Win)
  20. 3000 point Apoc Game between my Ultramarines and Misc’s Misc (Win)
  21. 2000 point Team Game between my Ultramarines and Brandon, Cole, & Derek’s Tau, GK, & Eldar (Win)
  22. 1500 point Objectives Game between my Ultramarines and Dave’s Tyranids (Win)

And to put it in a pretty chart so it’s a little easier to read, it looks like this:

6thWinLossByOpp

Things that immediately jump out at me from looking at this include:

  • I didn’t tie a single game in 6th. This really comes down to the fact that GW put in tie-breakers in the form of secondary mission objectives.
  • My win/loss ratio is drastically different in this edition. I’m not sure if my lists just became more competitive, I got lucky, or what, but that’s too high of a win/loss ratio. Whereas I used to win about 58% of my games (and lose 28%), I’m now winning about 77% and losing only 9%.  It’s also possible that some of the close games that previously ended in ties came down to me winning based upon secondary objectives?
  • My opponent base hasn’t shrunk. This I find surprising because the regular gaming group has lost its place to play, so now I only play in my garage with those I specifically invite over. Of course, most of the variety is still lingering from when the old gaming group existed. I still managed to play 14 different people over the course of 22 games, which is a higher ratio of diversity than I had in the previous edition.
  • The only losses I suffered were at the hands of Cole (not surprising, as he’s quite good—despite not playing much anymore), and to Jeff—which is great because I went undefeated against him in 5th edition, so it’s nice that he was able to return the favor in 6th.

Then I decided to break down the wins/loss by army type, just like I did before:

6thWinLossByArmy

Interesting take-aways from this include:

  • My Win/Loss/Unfinished ratio for each army was:
    • Tyranids: 13:3:2
    • Ultramarines: 4:0:0
  • I really haven’t played much at all with my marines. Of the 22 games I played in this edition, only a measly 4 were with my marines. They were undefeated for two years though!
  • Removing the anomaly of my marines being undefeated helps normalize what I’d really want my win/loss ratio to be with my Tyranids, but it’s still quite high (71%:18%:11%).
  • If you count only the Tyranid games since the 6th Edition codex was released, my ratio for Nids falls even farther. There’ve only been 5 games with a record of 2:2:1. I know I’ve been complaining about that codex, but maybe the series of nerfs was exactly what I needed to balance my win/loss ratio?

Lastly, a breakdown by mission type:

6thWinLossbyMission

The results here are all over the map, so I’m not sure what I can really discern from it, but here goes:

  • I only played 1 Apocalypse game in two years. I used to try to hold three a year for myself, and attend the ones over at the local gaming group (which still exist). I haven’t been prudent about holding my own anymore, and the gaming group ones always seem to come up with conflicts (the most recent two I can think of were my Mom’s birthday and the Heart Run). I do have a bunch of Apoc only kind of models though, and I do enjoy that style of game, so I need to do better about attending/hosting these.
  • I did really well in the “Big Guns Never Tire” scenario.
  • Most of my losses came in “objectives” based games. I know one was where Cole tabled me, but I wonder if the others simply weren’t because I didn’t have enough troops?

There’s probably more to learn from these numbers, so if you see any patterns that I’m not, please let me know. I’m really glad that I have a blog with such history that I can go back and see exactly what’s happened over the course of an entire edition.

 

 

5 comments on “Battle Reports for 6th Edition: A Summary

  1. That’s really interesting, although as you won so much, there don’t seem to be many ‘odd’ trends to talk about or comment on!

    One thing I will say though is how impressed I am that you had 14 opponents. For non-tournament or regular game-store gamers that sounds very good to me.

    Do you have an impression as to how diverse your opponents’ opponents were? i.e., is it just you that’s good at organising games with different people, or is your whole group good at mixing it up and regularly changing opponents?

    • Well, as I said, most of that variety came from the local gaming club when it was still in operation. I’d say that–as a percentage of games–I’m likely high in the diversity of my opponents. I made an effort to play a bunch of different people when I went, though there were always “the regular crowd” who often played against each other. Since moving it to my garage, I try to invite a good spread of folks, but my number of opponents has certainly dwindled. I know that I’ve played 7 different people during that time–against a couple of those twice, but only one that I see more than that.

      On Wed, May 21, 2014 at 3:28 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  2. I have a stack of all the army lists I used for 6th along with only a few quick notes. I was unfortunately too inconsistent on my record keeping. I didn’t note who my opponent was on all of them, though I suffered 100% losses CSM vs Eldar.

    • 100% losses vs. Eldar? That actually sounds promising to me because it means that you might have won a game vs. another army. Can that be accurate?!?

      If you’re serious about starting a blog and want some pointers on how to get started, let me know. I’m happy to help out.

      On Fri, May 23, 2014 at 7:06 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

