731 down, 1 more to go

wh39kRedTerror (1)With 842 models painted, I only have one more left before I can dip my Tyranids again and finally be “finished” for the last time painting my army (for the third time).

You may have noticed that the title says “731 down” and the first sentence says “842 down,” and perhaps you’re wondering why that is.  Well, that’s because I don’t have a tally of all of the models I’ve painted, but I do know it’s a bunch.  Practically speaking, I’m guessing it’s less than 700.  Off the top of my head, I have about 100 genestealers, 100 spore mines, 100 termagants, 50 hormagaunts… well, now that I’m going through it, maybe those numbers aren’t so far fetched.

But the important part of that statement is the “1 more to go” portion.

wh39kRedTerror (3)The Red Terror was absent from the previous Tyranid codex, so I never bothered to paint him up.  I guess I never bothered to make an Old One Eye either (for that one, I figured I could just use a carnifex model with crushing claws).

Well, about a year ago, a local gaming buddy, Dan wound up giving me an almost complete metal Red Terror model (missing one of his arm spikes).  That was shortly after the last time I’d “finished” dipping my force, so I didn’t think I was going to go back and paint him.  Plus there was the pesky issue with him being incomplete.  Well, I’ve been watching ebay trying to find a spare scything talon to match, but have come up short consistently, so I wound up buying a metal ravener and converting him to have the Red Terror’s head and tail.

wh39kRedTerror (2)At this point, he still needs putty work (especially because I had somewhere in the realm of 16 pairs of Ravener scything talon arms, but apparently zero of the little ones on the bottom–so I had to butch up a larger pair to fit.

The head looks out of place from a model’s eye point of view, but I’m hoping that with the scything talons all flayed out, he won’t look so goofy.  Surprisingly, I couldn’t find any conversions online of someone doing this sort of thing, so if you have any pointers, please let me know.

More progress on this guy to come…

2 comments on “731 down, 1 more to go

  1. A buddy of mine made a Flying Tyrant out of the red terror and plastic Balrog wings. I’ll see if he has any pics and email them to you.

    • Really? How’s it look? That seems like it’d be awful small for a Tyrant. I’d love to see some pics if you have ’em, John.

      On Wed, May 14, 2014 at 9:08 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

